Select the Big Fish  

265 members have voted

Posted

All speculation and hearsay so far Wiseblood.

This is a footy forum and if we didn't report or discuss the snippets of information that has been heard in the media at this time of year then what would we talk about.

I know you get frustrated by information other than cold hard facts, so maybe you should wait till the trade period is over before you comment , to save your self an ulcer or something.

We are allowed to dream about positive outcomes on this site even if they may not occur.

If you think we are no chance at all of landing a Prestia or a Parker then fair enough, but no need to lambaste others for hoping.

Fair enough.

Jeez I hope we can land Nat Fyfe guys. Imagine that? How good would our trade period be if we could land Fyfe, Pendlebury, both Josh Kennedy's, Dan Hannebery and Dion Prestia?

GET IT DONE DEMONS!!

Posted

Fair enough.

Jeez I hope we can land Nat Fyfe guys. Imagine that? How good would our trade period be if we could land Fyfe, Pendlebury, both Josh Kennedy's, Dan Hannebery and Dion Prestia?

GET IT DONE DEMONS!!

We'll push for the top eight with those blokes on board.

Posted

Dion Prestia is still the most gettable big fish, huge MFC connections, right age bracket, and his injury and unwillingness to commit long term forces the suns to consider any offer we might through up, I think the no could turn into a yes very quickly when trade week starts if the club plays it's cards right.

I don't buy the Luke Parker rumours at all, he's a rising star of the competition playing at a team that has some good young talent and is consistently playing finals, the only real lure we have for him is we are a Vic side, Roosy is here for one more year and we can offer a bit more money coz they stupidly signed buddy on 3/4 of their salary cap.

Posted

Fair enough.

GET IT DONE DEMONS!!

This is where you point of view is lacking.

No where has it been been speculated or rumoured that we are after Nat Fyfe, Pendelbury or Hannebury.

But in the case of Prestia and Parker, they have been mentioned in various media outlets.

But I see what you are trying to do, by trying to make the posters that say get it done, and Imagine if we land a big fish or two look silly, by posting outrageous trades.

Where you go wrong is using made up stuff like Fyfe etc...in comparison to genuine players posters are discussing because they have been mentioned in the media.

Posted

Fair enough.

GET IT DONE DEMONS!!

Good thing we can trade future picks this year!
Posted

Good thing we can trade future picks this year!

We'll need to trade future picks for the next 10 years to get all of that!

This is where you point of view is lacking.

No where has it been been speculated or rumoured that we are after Nat Fyfe, Pendelbury or Hannebury.

But in the case of Prestia and Parker, they have been mentioned in various media outlets.

But I see what you are trying to do, by trying to make the posters that say get it done, and Imagine if we land a big fish or two look silly, by posting outrageous trades.

Where you go wrong is using made up stuff like Fyfe etc...in comparison to genuine players posters are discussing because they have been mentioned in the media.

Do you have a sense of humour? Clearly I was taking the [censored] with that post. Lighten up mate.

Posted

We'll need to trade future picks for the next 10 years to get all of that!

Do you have a sense of humour? Clearly I was taking the [censored] with that post. Lighten up mate.

Ok mate sorry, thought you were havin a dig. All good

Posted

Following a footy club like ours is all about hope.

So we can dare to dream even if the dream is unrealized, as dreams are often symbolic of our hopes.

None of us would be following our beloved old demons without continuing to hope for future success and a flag,

Perhaps we are hoping for a miracle but miracles are sometimes realized.

I enjoy the speculation because of what it represents. I have greater joy when the speculation is based on reality.

Posted

All this thread does is flatten the battery on the phone.

Posted

Prestia has not knocked us back forever, all he has said is he will complete his current contract which expires next year. He has no intentions of extending his contract at the Suns in the interim either, so he's clearly a player waiting to see what happens over the next 12 months. And I know for a fact he faces a lot of family pressure to come home. Yes his family are big time Melbourne supporters but I reckon they just want him living close by regardless of which club after this year's drug headlines up there. That is why speculation on Prestia has not died down. In fact, I G'tee the Suns lose either 1 or both of Prestia & O'Meara next year unless they have a truly stupendous turnaround this year, and even then I reckon those 2 boys are as good as gone anyway. And as we've seen with Danger, Buddy, Scully etc, these deals are often organized 12 months in advance..... Plus there's the reports of Clayton & Viney catching up a few times which only adds to the intrigue (although most assumed at the time it was regarding Howe).

I'm glad we are being so active & hope like hell we can land one or 2 this year & next.

Posted

All this thread does is flatten the battery on the phone.

Then stop reading it & just wait for the real announcements.

Posted (edited)

There are a few on here who constantly bring him up. If a new player is mentioned they'll respond with "If we could land this player and Prestia that would be an amazeballs trade period!"

It's frustrating, as while there is no doubt we are keen, our overtures have already been knocked back for this year at least. But they will continually make up reasons why we can still land him.

so why not let the people write, what they want to-need to write, without your constant negativeness on hope. All you do is carp on about other people. But you still think your writings are somehow more important, in your eyes anyway... each to there own. i guess.

...... but if there is one thing we could do with less of; is the negative & judge-mental types people, who judge fellow postors, who do no attacking of other postors, but just want some fun... then the negative & serious 'Fun Police' come out, and attack them.

.... attacking people/postors, is negative.

All speculation and hearsay so far Wiseblood.

This is a footy forum and if we didn't report or discuss the snippets of information that has been heard in the media at this time of year then what would we talk about.

I know you get frustrated by information other than cold hard facts, so maybe you should wait till the trade period is over before you comment , to save your self an ulcer or something.

We are allowed to dream about positive outcomes on this site even if they may not occur.

If you think we are no chance at all of landing a Prestia or a Parker then fair enough, but no need to lambaste others for hoping.

yes DeeZee, exactly.

Posted

Then stop reading it & just wait for the real announcements.

You know what the forum needs? A dedicated area with that has threads on certain players that are updated only when there is legit news. A twitter post from a journo, something mentioned on Trade Radio etc. It can only be updated by the mods, or you can only post news - there is no discussion, just news. You can discuss it all here though.

It would make it easier to log in and see if there was something REALLY happening, rather than sifting through page after page to find there is no news at all.

Just a suggestion...

Posted

You know what the forum needs? A dedicated area with that has threads on certain players that are updated only when there is legit news. A twitter post from a journo, something mentioned on Trade Radio etc. It can only be updated by the mods, or you can only post news - there is no discussion, just news. You can discuss it all here though.

It would make it easier to log in and see if there was something REALLY happening, rather than sifting through page after page to find there is no news at all.

Just a suggestion...

I second this motion.

Posted (edited)

Prestia has not knocked us back forever, all he has said is he will complete his current contract which expires next year. He has no intentions of extending his contract at the Suns in the interim either, so he's clearly a player waiting to see what happens over the next 12 months. And I know for a fact he faces a lot of family pressure to come home. Yes his family are big time Melbourne supporters but I reckon they just want him living close by regardless of which club after this year's drug headlines up there. That is why speculation on Prestia has not died down. In fact, I G'tee the Suns lose either 1 or both of Prestia & O'Meara next year unless they have a truly stupendous turnaround this year, and even then I reckon those 2 boys are as good as gone anyway. And as we've seen with Danger, Buddy, Scully etc, these deals are often organized 12 months in advance..... Plus there's the reports of Clayton & Viney catching up a few times which only adds to the intrigue (although most assumed at the time it was regarding Howe).

I'm glad we are being so active & hope like hell we can land one or 2 this year & next.

He hasn't said anything this year. Tellingly, his manager spoke for him.

Edited by AdamFarr

Posted

We'll push for the top eight with those blokes on board.

The 8 will get a shake up next year.

North, Swans and Tigers could drop out for the Cats, Giants and Port who I think will finish top 4.

Posted

The 8 will get a shake up next year.

North, Swans and Tigers could drop out for the Cats, Giants and Port who I think will finish top 4.

With the Mighty Dees in the 8 just like Port 2013 and doggies 2015 :rolleyes:

Posted

With the Mighty Dees in the 8 just like Port 2013 and doggies 2015 :rolleyes:

I should remind you I said we were capable of winning our last seven games and....

We again will be on the end of an easy draw. Anything is possible but next year I'll be taking it one week at s time.

Posted

As it stands at present, the poll connected with this thread shows that 56.81% of Demonlanders favour Dion Prestia or Jaeger O’Meara as their “big fish” for recruitment in the forthcoming trade/free agency period which starts at the end of next week.

With that in mind, I followed up on some information I received a month or so ago about these players, both of who have been missing with injury for a while.

My information remains the same. You would not want to recruit either without a thorough medical assessment (which goes without saying but on the basis of how that information was provided, don’t hold your breath for either at this stage).

As they say in racing parlance - "prefer others" (currently standing at 23.08%).

Posted

As it stands at present, the poll connected with this thread shows that 56.81% of Demonlanders favour Dion Prestia or Jaeger O’Meara as their “big fish” for recruitment in the forthcoming trade/free agency period which starts at the end of next week.

With that in mind, I followed up on some information I received a month or so ago about these players, both of who have been missing with injury for a while.

My information remains the same. You would not want to recruit either without a thorough medical assessment (which goes without saying but on the basis of how that information was provided, don’t hold your breath for either at this stage).

As they say in racing parlance - "prefer others" (currently standing at 23.08%).

I think this has been lost on many of us over the last month - in the hoopla some have created about getting him, or adding him in to every new thread with "gee I hope we can land Prestia and Parker" etc, it's been forgotten that he is fighting back from a pretty serious injury and may not actually be worth recruiting at all.

My gut feeling, and it's nothing more than that, is that by holding off for 12 months it gives us and Dion the opportunity to see how he comes back from injury. If it's good then I could certainly see us getting him next year, but if he struggles again you would think the club would stay away from him. I don't care if he and his family are Melbourne supporters - we shouldn't recruit anyone who is going to struggle to get on the park, no matter how good they are.

Thanks for the timely follow up WJ.