Lay off Jack Watts...

Posted
It's high time to debunk one of the most popular myths in footy – that the game was tougher back in the so-called "good old days". That's a lot of rot.

Players today have more courage than ever before and some of us retired folk, short memories. The fact is that compared to football in the 1980s and '90s, every single second, of every minute, of every game, is now scrutinised, analysed and dissected … and players therefore have nowhere to hide.

If they make a mistake, no matter how slight, it can haunt them wherever they look – whether it be on the back pages of newspapers, on television or online.

read on McDuff...

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/melbourne-demons/weve-all-felt-fear-on-the-footy-field-so-lay-off-jack-watts-20150424-1mrjhl.html

Didn't read the article, got bored with every "expert" under the sun getting stuck in to Watts, but can I just say one thing on this topic;

I won't have the luxury of going to the MCG tonight to watch the beautiful way in which our diggers will be remembered through the pregame ceremony, and I won't be able to see the Melbourne Football Club play as a team and demolish the Richmond Football Club, in a gentle reminder to the football community that we are relevant again.

However, regardless of what you think of the bloke, Watts is a Melbourne player, he will be one of 22 running out there tonight, and he will be one of 22 that will hopefully get us over the line. Regardless of your thoughts of him, if he, or any of the other 22 players have a bad night, for Christ's sake, don't "boo" him. I couldn't give a toss if one of their supporters gets in to him, but our own "flesh and blood", it makes me cringe when I hear of such things.

There's always going to be players that we love, that we hate, that we love to hate, and that we wished we didn't hate. Watts is definitely one of those players that cops more than most - I'm not going to get in to the argument if that's rightly or wrongly. We're asking for unity at our club, both on and off the field. How about we show unity ourselves by supporting all of our 22?

Go Dees.

It's beyond moronic that anyone will turn on Jack his output as a so called soft ( crap in my opinion ) player is above average in the league . Jack has a unique way of seeing the game and would rather be in position to get another meaningfull possession . I reckon I'd almost turn on you tonite if I see you booing our own . Hand in ya membership and [censored] of to the pies .

Bottom line is that Jack must hold uncontested marks

Take your eyes of the ball and they don't always stick....

Bottom line is that Jack must hold uncontested marks

Take your eyes of the ball and they don't always stick....

Maybe you should tell that to Dawes

It's beyond moronic that anyone will turn on Jack his output as a so called soft ( crap in my opinion ) player is above average in the league . Jack has a unique way of seeing the game and would rather be in position to get another meaningfull possession . I reckon I'd almost turn on you tonite if I see you booing our own . Hand in ya membership and [censored] of to the pies .

Booing your own player is an out and out disgrace and if you're one of those d!ckheads you should be ashamed!

Funny coming from Duck....he 'owned' the footy field. So arrogant that just didn't care. On the field. .amazing player...off...:rolleyes:

Sorry Duck...you're quackers mate if you cant see Jacks shortcomings

Maybe you should tell that to Dawes

Would love to Boss

First rule of footy. Eyes on the ball.

Would love to Boss

First rule of footy. Eyes on the ball.

2nd rule dont take them off (eyes on ball )

We've done this to death, resuscitated it, then done it to death again.

Here's hoping Jack has a good game tonight. Him kicking 2 or 3 will go a long way towards a win.

If people got stuck into every other player like they do Watts when he makes a skill error then we'd have no players left.

Funny coming from Duck....he 'owned' the footy field. So arrogant that just didn't care. On the field. .amazing player...off...:rolleyes:

Your posts have long been some of the most moronic and difficult to read. Carey knows Watts shortcomings. He just knows how ridiculous it is to continue to lambast him over every incident. You could do well to unplug your keyboard and and just type your quackery to yourself for awhile. Your readership will only drop by 3 or 4 and it will save us all from scrolling past your countless posts

just put me on ignore simple.. Like I'd care.

Watts often shirks. He's not aggressive in the game. He's talented but not nearly as effective as those talents would suggest.

He's not lambasted over every incident...just mainly the ones that cost us.

Watts often shirks. He's not aggressive in the game. He's talented but not nearly as effective as those talents would suggest.

What about when his non-aggressive play results in us getting a goal?

That goal assist of his against Adelaide, it was because of Watts' lack of smashing a pack that resulted in us getting a goal.

Picking a moment that "cost a team" is too black and white, when there are more than 50 shades of grey around individual plays. Very. very rarely can you say an "incident" cost a team, be it a goal or a game.

The article was an opinion piece about a Melbourne player, which is why Hardtack posted it. My initial response was directed at "those" Melbourne supporters, who, if Jack doesn't have a decent game, will no doubt carrying on like two-bob watches.

if you go at the footy harder than anyone else you won't get hurt, commandment #1

Fiog glassed his girlfriend in the face, asks for people to be compassionate.

Yeah nah.

What about when his non-aggressive play results in us getting a goal?

That goal assist of his against Adelaide, it was because of Watts' lack of smashing a pack that resulted in us getting a goal.

Picking a moment that "cost a team" is too black and white, when there are more than 50 shades of grey around individual plays. Very. very rarely can you say an "incident" cost a team, be it a goal or a game.

The article was an opinion piece about a Melbourne player, which is why Hardtack posted it. My initial response was directed at "those" Melbourne supporters, who, if Jack doesn't have a decent game, will no doubt carrying on like two-bob watches.

if it were but one moment. Alas there are dozens to select from.

There are aspects to Jacks game i really like. He has a beautiful kick. He knows to to put them too but there a lot remiss also.

What has brought focus on some events is that it goes to the heart of whats looked upon as a non negotiable in the game, that is when its your turn to go...you go. You dont duck, shirk or loiter....you GO. He seldom does at these pivotal moments and this brings the microscope upon himself.

if it were but one moment. Alas there are dozens to select from.

There are aspects to Jacks game i really like. He has a beautiful kick. He knows to to put them too but there a lot remiss also.

What has brought focus on some events is that it goes to the heart of whats looked upon as a non negotiable in the game, that is when its your turn to go...you go. You dont duck, shirk or loiter....you GO. He seldom does at these pivotal moments and this brings the microscope upon himself.

Point to me the dozens that we can select from. Then while you're going through your highlights tapes, make sure you watch all our players.

In previous years we have had the worst score against from a turnover. Very few were from a Watts error.

I'm feeling that you would be one of the "boo-ers", B59?

beelzebub, on 24 Apr 2015 - 1:42 PM, said:

Yes he is.......Nev Jetta made 2 mistakes that lead to the crows goals......Nothing mentioned here

dawes missed marks he should have taken.....a couple of mentions.

Tyson made a critical error but nothing mentioned

Every player makes mistakes in every game.......Most goals come from turnovers ie. player mistakes

But every mistake or bit of play jack is involved in is jumped on by posters here and the media

Other No 1 picks do not get the scrutiny Jack does....Scully has a bad game....No one says a thing(Media)

Swallow......Good player but inconsistent in a fledging side

Patton........Did his knee but showed not a great deal beforehand

Whitfield....Some good form and probably will be good.

We should be looking at what the side does as a whole.....Not pointing the finger a ONE player

Didn't read the article, got bored with every "expert" under the sun getting stuck in to Watts, but can I just say one thing on this topic;

I won't have the luxury of going to the MCG tonight to watch the beautiful way in which our diggers will be remembered through the pregame ceremony, and I won't be able to see the Melbourne Football Club play as a team and demolish the Richmond Football Club, in a gentle reminder to the football community that we are relevant again.

However, regardless of what you think of the bloke, Watts is a Melbourne player, he will be one of 22 running out there tonight, and he will be one of 22 that will hopefully get us over the line. Regardless of your thoughts of him, if he, or any of the other 22 players have a bad night, for Christ's sake, don't "boo" him. I couldn't give a toss if one of their supporters gets in to him, but our own "flesh and blood", it makes me cringe when I hear of such things.

There's always going to be players that we love, that we hate, that we love to hate, and that we wished we didn't hate. Watts is definitely one of those players that cops more than most - I'm not going to get in to the argument if that's rightly or wrongly. We're asking for unity at our club, both on and off the field. How about we show unity ourselves by supporting all of our 22?

Go Dees.

Agreed.

On the topic of booing our own players, I think it is poor form.

As a young tacker in the 80s I remember our own supporters yelling out at S Smith with jeers and insults.

i accidentally sat near the Collingwood cheer squad one week and tbh, for all the crap we give them, they were the most supportive of their own players I'd ever heard of any supporters.

BB I agree with you on most posts but I think that the reverse is true if you cannot see that Jack's positive traits far outway his (so-called) negatives. He is a major contributor to the team, both in his own goals and his many goal assists.

Agreed.

On the topic of booing our own players, I think it is poor form.

As a young tacker in the 80s I remember our own supporters yelling out at S Smith with jeers and insults.

i accidentally sat near the Collingwood cheer squad one week and tbh, for all the crap we give them, they were the most supportive of their own players I'd ever heard of any supporters.

Not just poor form, downright disgraceful. I have more time for the enemy than I do for supporters who boo or deride their own players. Should be excommunicated or put in the bull ring with a few live bulls.

Soft or footy genius? As usual the truth lies somewhere in between. He is a handy half forward who is clever and skilful who often plays with questionable intent.