Geelong at Geelong - why the injustice?

• Author

Get over it guys good teams win wherever they play poor ones don't.

If we are good enough we will beat them at Geelong, the MCG or the dome of death.

what an absurd attitude. Hey everyone don't worry about our opponent having an unfair advantage just beat them anyway

we don't we just play with 17 then, I'm sure the cats would be in favour of that too

FMD

When has the AFL ever been fair with its fixturing?

It's a FIXture, not a draw, after all Toady.

• 2 months later...

Can someone please explain to me why our game vs Geelong will be the 6th time in the last 7 meetings we have had to go down to that shithole?

What is the justification for such a blatant imbalance and obvious disadvantage?

It never gets mentioned, I actually do not know the reasoning for it.

its because Kadinia park doesn't have the capacity to host quality teams, so they send the rejects there.

• Author

The horse is dead C and B

yeah just accept it and move on huh

we might as well just play our home games there, nobody seems to care

you of all people should be outraged

Can someone please explain to me why our game vs Geelong will be the 6th time in the last 7 meetings we have had to go down to that shithole?

What is the justification for such a blatant imbalance and obvious disadvantage?

It's called a the AFL were we play in a even competition with a true home & away season!

Until the afl decide on playing each other twice or have 2 groups of 8 to play each other twice you will have tv rights inc ratings dictating when,who & were games are played!

yeah just accept it and move on huh

we might as well just play our home games there, nobody seems to care

you of all people should be outraged

As budge suggested the poor teams get sent there because it cannot cope with a large crowd.

We have been crap for a decade so we are sent there

Start winning games and we will not be there as often.

Honestly Over the last decade it would not have mattered where we palyed the Cats.

We played them last year at the G with the same result.

The Draw is full of unfair matches this is just one of them.

It does not worry me, we will beat the Cats at Geelong when our side improves.

It's called a the AFL were we play in a even competition with a true home & away season!

Until the afl decide on playing each other twice or have 2 groups of 8 to play each other twice you will have tv rights inc ratings dictating when,who & were games are played!

Reckon they should just have everyone play eachother once and bring back that rivalry round so there's one team everyone plays a 2nd time makes 18 rounds.

Increase the finals to 6 weeks and you've got a pretty good season of matches if you ask me.

It is rubbish we play thte every year. Do an exspenive fact finding trip to the us to work out equalisation strategies and send a lowly club to a ground where all away clubs struggle to win (and whose fans can't get in). Go figure.

And od please visualise a wattcha talking willis about gif. We go there because it can't cope with a large crowd?

It is rubbish we play thte every year. Do an exspenive fact finding trip to the us to work out equalisation strategies and send a lowly club to a ground where all away clubs struggle to win (and whose fans can't get in). Go figure.

And od please visualise a wattcha talking willis about gif. We go there because it can't cope with a large crowd?

The point I was making was there are no games there against good sides because they would draw too big of a crowd.

They send us the dogs and interstate sides because they are poor crowd drawers in Victoria.

The general public could not care less about teams like us going there so no problems for the AFL.

What people do not seem to under stand is that Collingwood and the likes don't go there because their large numbers would raise hell for the AfL . Why is it people do not understand that the draw is full of unfairness we just cop it more because we are weak.

We are irrelevant at present become relevant and our visits will drop.

• Author

As budge suggested the poor teams get sent there because it cannot cope with a large crowd.

We have been crap for a decade so we are sent there

Start winning games and we will not be there as often.

Honestly Over the last decade it would not have mattered where we palyed the Cats.

We played them last year at the G with the same result.

The Draw is full of unfair matches this is just one of them.

It does not worry me, we will beat the Cats at Geelong when our side improves.

It DOES matter though, old mate. I know we have not an encounter in recent years where we even looked like beating them BUT who is to say that THIS sunday we won't get done by a kick. It simply isn't fair. You are correct in your assessment in the reason we are sent there is because of our own carpness BUT that does not make it any less unfair. If anything, it makes it MORE unfair. So the Hawks are looking at 3 flags and they get the cats at the G every year, meanwhile we are struggling for survival and we get sent down there every year to get our asses handed to us. The dimensions of the ground, the weather conditions, the travel, and the crowd all add up to constitute an UNFAIR advantage to the opposition. We should not accept this as supporters!

The point I was making was there are no games there against good sides because they would draw too big of a crowd.

They send us the dogs and interstate sides because they are poor crowd drawers in Victoria.

The general public could not care less about teams like us going there so no problems for the AFL.

What people do not seem to under stand is that Collingwood and the likes don't go there because their large numbers would raise hell for the AfL . Why is it people do not understand that the draw is full of unfairness we just cop it more because we are weak.

We are irrelevant at present become relevant and our visits will drop.

That doesn't mean we have to play there every single year! Granted we didn't play there last year but I think it was 2007 before that when we didn't play there?

We will always be cellar dwellers until we learn to win any time, anywhere. If we want to be a decent team we need to play to our full potential at Geelong, interstate and most particularly at Etihad. There is no point sooking about having no crowd support, or having to travel, or the shape and size of various grounds. We just need to get on with the business of playing decent football and winning football matches.

Teams like Hawthorn used to play at Geelong regularly, but since they started playing good football and drawing big crowds, they haven't been back. We will be in the same position if we start performing.

We will always be cellar dwellers until we learn to win any time, anywhere. If we want to be a decent team we need to play to our full potential at Geelong, interstate and most particularly at Etihad. There is no point sooking about having no crowd support, or having to travel, or the shape and size of various grounds. We just need to get on with the business of playing decent football and winning football matches.

Teams like Hawthorn used to play at Geelong regularly, but since they started playing good football and drawing big crowds, they haven't been back. We will be in the same position if we start performing.

Spot on poita

MFC supporters need to concentrate on winning more games that fixes everything.

Don't be so sure about that. When was the last time Carlton played there, early or mid 90's I think it was. They have been crap, with average crowds for more than a decade and still don't play there. What makes you think it will change? The power brokers have spoken and it is how it is. Who is the chairman of the commission linked to again? Oh that's right, the cellar dweller with 7 Friday night games! Says it all really

Sook

It's just down the highway, not that much further than the 2s going down to Casey every second weekend.

If we were any good we would win regardless of whether it was at the MCG or in Geelong.

We also get Queens Bday as a home game every year. It ain't a conspiracy, get over it.

This is the only answer.

FFS stop feeling sorry for ourselves

Kardinia Park has grass on it with 4 goal posts at each end

4 points are up for grabs

Win and get the fcuk out of there.

Don't be so sure about that. When was the last time Carlton played there, early or mid 90's I think it was. They have been crap, with average crowds for more than a decade and still don't play there. What makes you think it will change? The power brokers have spoken and it is how it is. Who is the chairman of the commission linked to again? Oh that's right, the cellar dweller with 7 Friday night games! Says it all really

Carlton have played finals two of the last three years!

We have a big advantage on a lot of teams. We have an easy draw overall. How would you like Hawthorns draw? play the top teams twice?

they are giving a easy draw year after year in the hope we will improve but we never come to the party.

If the AFL ever move to a 17 round comp, the different between Hawks/Swans and us will be even more stark.

This is the only answer.

FFS stop feeling sorry for ourselves

Kardinia Park has grass on it with 4 goal posts at each end

4 points are up for grabs

Win and get the fcuk out of there.

That covers it SWYL