Posted

As he does in every year, WJ looks for a draft prospect from left field ...

A BIG POINT ON THE COMPASS by Whispering Jack

Legend has it that back in the 1840s, South Australian Governor Gawler lost his compass in a spot south of Adelaide on the Fleurieu Peninsula and as a result the town that was established nearby came to be known as Mount Compass. The small community of less than a thousand people is known for little more than market gardens and dairy farms but all that may change with the AFL drafts later in the year.

Mount Compass is the town where 23-year-old Norwood ruckman Sam Baulderstone was plying his trade as a lumbering country footballer three years ago. The former North Adelaide reserves player weighed in at around 150kg during 2011 but a year later and 10kg lighter, "Bauldy" was contacted by Essendon recruiting officer Merv Keane and found himself at Windy Hill trying out for a possible rookie spot but nothing eventuated on that score.

Undeterred, the 200cm Baulderstone knuckled down, eschewed his favourite fast foods, changed his diet, lost 28kg and made his SANFL debut for the Norwood Redlegs against Central Districts in Round 3, 2013. Although he spent much of the early part of the season in the reserves, by year's end, he was the SA feel good story, gaining elevation to the seniors to become the 2013 premiership ruckman. Among his teammates in the grand final victory was current Melbourne rookie lister Alexis Georgiou and former Demon Jace Bode.

Rated an outside chance of being drafted at the end of last year, Bauldy missed out again but put in a good preparation for 2014 with running and weight work to the point where his body shape now stands up to AFL comparison. Early this month he polled 15 votes to finish equal fourth in the Magarey Medal and last week, he played in his second consecutive premiership for the Redlegs and is widely regarded as the competition's leading ruckman.

Left footer, Baulderstone has been acclaimed by many good judges in South Australia who believe this late bloomer, whose tale of huge weight loss matching great sporting improvement echoes that of GWS Giant ruckman Shane Mumford, is a certainty to be drafted before the end of the year.

The Footy Almanac review of the game, SANFL Grand Final Norwood v Port Adelaide: The Greatest Win of All acclaimed his role in the premiership,

Norwood race out of the blocks with Sam Baulderstone clearly on top in ruck and Liam Davis proving to be a handful for Port Power, err Magpies kicking 2 early goals. These two are fascinating stories plucked from obscurity, Baulderstone from country footy, an overweight big man with raw talent he has got fair dinkum and lost a casual 45 kgs and is a huge chance to be drafted.

435736-sam-baulderstone.jpg

NORTH: Baulderstone at 145kg+

"Bauldy" is likely to be taken with a late draft pick or as a rookie and might be of interest to Melbourne. Regular ruckman Mark Jamar is reaching veteran status, the club appears to have lost troubled big man Mitch Clark who was earmarked for the ruck by Paul Roos earlier in the year. Max Gawn and Jake Spencer both have a lot of development in them but have had injury worries while Max King has a long way to go.

Could big Sam be the answer to the Demons' ruck problems and, at the same time, convert the red and blue success in his home state onto the national football scene in the same colours?

18%20Sam%20Baulderstone.jpg

SOUTH: Baulderstone now

• 2 months later...
Posted

Looks a good option.

I am sure Gawn has the talent (and height) to be 1st choice ruckman - but the durability?

Spencer has the spirit and desire - but the talent?

Jamar has the ability - but the time?

With King already on the RL, I don't think it wise to recruit another teenage ruckman.

Either, get one ready to compete, or don't bother.

Posted

And could go to another level again with the Demon Diet

Baulderstone sounds made for the Paleo diet.

Posted

Would make a lot of sense to pick him up as a rookie. At 23, he's about the same age as Gawn, and wouldn't need years to build up his body.

We'd only have to upgrade him if there was a LTI to one of the ruckmen.

Of course, if he did start killing it at Casey, he could come in after Round 11.

Posted

From the Adelaide Advertiser, November 18th:

"Several clubs have spoken to his management group and he has had a meeting with Melbourne, his keenest suitor."

Posted

Roos likes ready to go...and why wouldnt you

Posted

Yes, Norwood won the flag this year, with Baulderstone and Panos their best....

hmmmm :rolleyes:

ya know if one was being observant about this current trade/draft period , there's one particular reoccurring theme........now what was it ?? :o

:roos:

Posted

How exactly did Essendon give him a trial at 140kgs? Not even all the AOD in the world would've had him ready for AFL until now I would've thought.

200cm is the new small for AFL rucks. He obviously has skill if people believed in him at 140kgs. But I would think he needs either: strength (Mumford, Jamar etc) or a great leap and agility (Nic Nat, Zac Smith, Ryder) to be an effective AFL ruck.

Posted

Jamar is only 198.

Posted (edited)

He looks like he would dominate in a game of footy in Kalgoorlie. And definitely in the pub following it.

Not in the AFL.

Having seen the 'before' shot, I simply can't get my head around the fact that someone could go from that to dominating an AFL game in 2015 and beyond. It's simply so elite now. And these guys have got to run like Kenyans - even the ruckmen, just to get to the contest.

Good luck to him - but I just can't see it. Would be an amazing story if he gets picked up - literally the stuff of movie land.

Edited by Ron Burgundy

Posted

He looks like he would dominate in a game of footy in Kalgoorlie. And definitely in the pub following it.

Not in the AFL.

Having seen the 'before' shot, I simply can't get my head around the fact that someone could go from that to dominating an AFL game in 2015 and beyond. It's simply so elite now. And these guys have got to run like Kenyans - even the ruckmen, just to get to the contest.

Good luck to him - but I just can't see it. Would be an amazing story if he gets picked up - literally the stuff of movie land.

hes currently dominating the SANFL

we dont actually need anyone to dominate, though that would be nice, we just need a servicable and long wearing unit. The question is is that too much of a stretch for bauldy...or not ?

Posted

Not in the AFL.

He has slimmed right down.

It also hasn't stop shane mumford who was incredibly overweight to working hard and becoming a premiership ruckman.

If he is willing to work hard which he has already demonstrated then the sky's the limit for him.

Posted

apparently he can play footy....go figure :rolleyes:

Posted

I think the Rooky draft is the place to take a bit of a punt.

May work out alright.

The other player that comes to mind is Clark Keating -always looked overweight and unfit but was crucial in 2 of the Lions flags.

Posted

2m tall is short?

BS.

If you are 2m tall and 105kg and know how to use that frame - you are a force of nature.

Not when you are coming up against a 211cm Sandilands or a 201cm Nic Nat who can also leap nearly over you.

That second part is important - knowledge of how to use your frame. Jamar has it. Someone like Paul Johnson never did.

I just want to know if people think he has the athleticism or that top quality ability to use his body like Jamar, Mumford and others can. I don't want to recruit an Orren Stephenson type.

Posted

Big men take longer to mature physically - and to coordinate their movements. Anyone who's done what he's done has extraordinary willpower and determination. If he's the no 1 ruckman in the SANFL, he must be able to play.

For the balance of our list I reckon we need to take a punt with a big man and a quick small forward in the rookie draft.

Sounds just like pick no. 2 to me.