View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy

In other news, a shock result in the Giants' B & F when hot favourite Tom Scully missed out on a place :wub:

11th...

What an indictment on this playing group that a reject from the Western Bulldogs lead our Best and Fairest after 8 rounds.

Silly post

Silly post

On what basis?

I completely agree. Love Crossy, but he did get bumped by a team with heaps of young mids coming through. Ours can't keep him out of the team, let alone out of the top 5 in the B&F.

Maia Westrupp

Ah... I was going to say. Forgot about him.

If it were anyone else, Dunn would have let the cat out of the bag there...

On what basis?

I completely agree. Love Crossy, but he did get bumped by a team with heaps of young mids coming through. Ours can't keep him out of the team, let alone out of the top 5 in the B&F.

So what? What the Bulldogs decide to do should take nothing away from Cross.

It's no different to what Chapman's done at the Bombers. Do you think Essendon fans will call patronise and refer to him as a "Geelong reject" when he finishes Top 5 in their B&F?

And over at Adelaide, Daniel Talia takes the Crows' b & f highlighting what I have always considered one of our biggest drafting blunders.

Yep...

Roos is a great speaker! Loved the passion and determination when he talked about the 2015 season. At the end he said something like - if you don't want to be here 'you know where you can go'!!! He knows who those players are!!! My take is he will delist/trade them along with those who can't/won't change their 'here we go again losing attitude'. He won't care how welll they can play because the mental stuff will always hold them (and the team) back.

I already feel better about 2015 to think our list will be made up of only 'positive' attitude types.

Positive attitude guys who can play football?

Nate Jones was known as mini chief

Serves to illustrate how mindless and uncritical much of the Watts bashing here really is.

I will back the judgement of the likes of Roos, Stone, Rawlings and Matthews on player assessments/rankings over an entire season of football over any poster here.

Garland had his season's preparation upended, and we should all know by now how hard it is to play an AFL season without a decent preseason leading up to it.

I have faith in his ability to do much better in 2015, but also think Roos' setup requires less of tall defenders and makes Garland less crucial to the side's success, much like Frawley.

Yeah like that Tyson bloke. His interrupted pre-season ruined his year.

seriously.....

It just makes what Tyson achieved that much more impressive, but Garland missed a big chunk later in the lead up than Tyson.

Not comparing apples with apples.

You might have also missed where I said that Garland's type is less effective in Roos' system... Not like you to gloss over the details, old mate.

Just watched all the speeches on Dee Tv. Liked Roosy getting fired up. Also, thought Dunny's speech was a ripper. His heart beats true for sure.

Edited by leucopogon

Pic of Gawny from B n F with no beard he looks like Joel McHale from "The Soup" and "Community"

Looking at the places in the Bluey again I thank the lord we recruited well last year. The lack of senior players in the top 10 that were here prior to our new recruits (other than Jonesy or Dunn) is an incredible indictment on this football team. We will not improve until the likes of Grimes, Garland, Frawley, Jamar, Dawes, can play consistent quality football. Week in week out,

Is it Leigh Mathews or Kevin Sheedy that is famous for saying that it's not how well they play in a winning side, it's how well they play in a losing side that tells us more about the player?

For many years we've had too many players play poorly in losses (hence many blowouts that have occurred in recent history). Thankfully this appears to be changing.

For the B&F - well done Jonesy, Dom, Bernie. Nothing personal, but I do hope that Cross isn't in the Top 10 next year, but has a similar year onfield...

I don't know if Matthews or Sheedy said it, but Malcolm Blight certainly did.