Bernie - 10th in comp. for metres gained

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-16/the-inquirer-ball-movers-and-metres-gained

amongst fine company

I know its a bit of a nothing stat but I just relish it when our lads appear in these types of things as we have been starved of it for so long

I don't think it's a nothing stat but actually often underrated. He's been a real asset this season, young Bernard.

Not surprising, bombs it 55m off one step all the time but doesn't hit a target, comes straight back

The point is, he gets the bloody pill , and moves it towards our goal. A skill, apart from one N Jones, we have been sadly lacking in.

Vince has had a solid year, but needs to push harder.

I think Bernie could be elite, so I might judge him harder than most.

As a straight swap for Sylvia, we are miles ahead in this trade.

I'd like to see the stat for meters gained sideways... then we'd show em!

Our recruiting this year is going a long way to turning this club around.

Not surprising, bombs it 55m off one step all the time but doesn't hit a target, comes straight back

Has been a bit too much of this in recent weeks.

Started the season on fire. Had a quiet spell before a good week against the crows. Only had moments against the dogs. Needs to find a bit more consistency as the season goes on. More handballs until he's clearly out in space please Bernie.

Bernie has been good, but still leaves me wanting more. He was so good in the first practice match against Richmond that I almost expect that each week, perhaps unreasonably.

Gun

Don't care what anyone says Bernie has been a great pick up for the MFC - silky skills makes good decisions and seems like a great leader

Loving Bernies work - I hear he's a ripper bloke as well

Vince was a fantastic get and really the surprise packet of our trade period last year.

I still don't know the details behind his forced departure but I'd happily put it down to the shortcomings of Brenton Sanderson and co.

Best part of it all being we got him for the Sylvia compo pick.

According to my lady friends, Bernie is ranked number 1 for the moisture levels in Melbourne rising since his arrival.

Bernie has been good, but still leaves me wanting more. He was so good in the first practice match against Richmond that I almost expect that each week, perhaps unreasonably.

Watch the Tigers replay and see just how much work Bernie does and how hard he works.

He sometimes kicks the ball from the centre bounce and I guess that is better than trying to do too much and trying to break through a ring of opposition players, at least it's going our way and we have a 50/50 chance of possession in our forward line. Rather that than watch him get caught and the resulting free to the opposition landing the arms of leading forward.

As he gathered the Gawn tap-out and ran toward 50, I was thinking to myself "He can kick this.."

It's been a long time since I thought that about a Melbourne mid, guys like Stretch and Dyson who could dob a long one on the run from outside-50.

He does a helluva lot of hard running to get to the right spots,if you watch him closely he is very fit and will follow the ball from the back pocket to the forward pocket, to make sure he is an option for a team mate.

Leading the league for kicks.

• Author

Leading the league for kicks.

wow, with Jones 4th in total disposals.. how long has it been since we have had blokes leading the comp in these stats, I remeber Yze being the no.1 kick getter at one point

I think that is a stupid comment. Look at the data. He seemed to hit the target alright when big Max palmed it into his arms 65 meters out and his 60 metre kick sailed through about 4 metres high.

I reckon Bernie is a beauty. Gets the ball on the inside and the outside and is a booming kick, especially for goal.

• Author

I think that is a stupid comments. Look at the data. He seemed to hit the target alright when big Max palmed it into his arms 65 meters out and his 60 metre kick sailed through about 4 metres high.

I reckon Bernie is a beauty. Gets the ball on the inside and the outside and is a booming kick, especially for goal.

it was a clearly stupid comment. He has made a difference worthy of being in our best players on 4 or 5 occasions which is a great return for any player. Probably about 6th or 7th for the bluey at the mo