View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Players to target at the end of the year

We are still the only team in the AFL without a crowd pulling marquee player

Mind you thats no different to the last 40 years

I couldn't care less about pulling crowds, although I would say Jeremy Howe for his marking ability is a crowd puller. We played exciting footy between 2000-06 but never seriously were contenders when the serious hard footy was required.

Richmond and Meth Coast have some great front running players who are great to watch when everything is going there way. But unless they sort themselves out the best they can hope for at the top of their games is a spot in the lower half of the 8 at best

Give me a team of workers all doing their job any day of the week

Here is a very gettable name ... CALLUM SINCLAIR. Starring in WAFL. Squeezed out by Natanui, Kennedy and Darling in Eagles forward line. Ready to go. At 24 (25 next season), he could play the role we had Mitch Clark set for. Recently had 6 goal, 21 possesion, 10 mark game.

We looked at him in 2010 draft but passed up. He is bigget, stronger and better.

Edited by spirit of norm smith

Here is a very gettable name ... CALLUM SINCLAIR. Starring in WAFL. Squeezed out by Natanui, Kennedy and Darling in Eagles forward line. Ready to go. At 24 (25 next season), he could play the role we had Mitch Clark set for. Recently had 6 goal, 21 possesion, 10 mark game. Was very good agst Dees earlier this year.

+1

I'd like Sinclair but I think the Eagles would be unlikely to give him up with Cox's career coming to end.

He played well in the VFL years and was overlooked many times, not sure why but credit to him to move to the WAFL and credit to the Eagles to finally grab him.

Vickey a talented player who i dont believe puts in enough effort. He also appears to have a poor attitude.

He'd be an interesting pickup

Pretty good reasons not to pick him up I would think.

I don't know the status of his negotiations but I would absolutely love Goldsack at the Dees.

agree on goldsack, but he's a free agent - and unless we sign up chip, we don't want to dilute the compo.

Hm, good point.

I wouldn't be against viceroy if we picked him up for next to nothing, treated him as a project player.
Pederson was disgusting last year, look at him this year with roos, he's had an incredible turn around.

I'm starting to think peterson could be a permanent feature of our forward line. he has a very good mark and a pretty good kick, just gotta give him better delivery.
The foreword line is almost right despite how it looks. dawes, pederson, hogan, JKH and kent is not a bad looking line up. we need more depth, but i think once they have played more together and the mids can give them better delivery and get it in there more often, I think we will be right.
I wouldn't mind seeing casboult and pedersen in the same forward line. Both big strong boys with great over head marks. but they're very similar players in many respects, not sure if we could field both? maybe we could.

PR has said we will target mids, they will be smooth mids with good delivery in to the forward line

Roos will get us who we need.

exciting times guys! go dees!

goldsack would be great, but good point on the comp pick

• Author

Fyfe has re-signed. I am not surprised nor upset.

I didnt really think that we would pursue him (due to the tag being too high), nor did i think that he would really leave.

I am more confident Dangerfield will be leaving though

Goldsack is a good player but i reckon it's about as likely as Dunn was to join Collingwood

Shiel's last 5 weeks have been very good. Both of Fairfax and Newscorp have run stories citing Shiel as one who Victorian clubs are actively pursuing with the feeling that he is gettable. Surely we are one of thise clubs.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-greater-western-sydney-giants--dylan-shiel

From what I hear, it seems likely he be playing for a Victorian club next year. No idea which one.

He's definitely worth a very high first round pick too.

Edited by Ron Burgundy

If we lose chip I'd happily cough up pick 5 and a juicy contract for sheil

Petracca, sheil and trengove would be very handy additions to our midfield

If you're looking at Geelong rejects, I'd expect Josh Walker and Jordan Schroder to be available.

I'd probably pass on both though.

Hey machsy, do you reckon young Murdoch is gettable? Really rate his run

His run is great as is his long left foot but I'm not sure about Murdoch. I reckon he lacks real footy smarts, be interesting to watch him when the Cats are not playing well. Maybe a front runner or maybe just young and learning the game.

Geelong as a whole are really struggling with their defensive game, looking like downhill skiers now with some of their champions gone and others on the wane.

I agree rjay, too me seems like the sort of player who would blossom under roos playing a role

His run is great as is his long left foot but I'm not sure about Murdoch. I reckon he lacks real footy smarts, be interesting to watch him when the Cats are not playing well. Maybe a front runner or maybe just young and learning the game.

Geelong as a whole are really struggling with their defensive game, looking like downhill skiers now with some of their champions gone and others on the wane.

he was soft early in his career and I agree he looks a bit dumb. Better longer kick and shot for goal than accurate kick. Got some height but not a great mark. Kent, Salem and JKH should prove far superior and whilst we need more in that pacy and skilled forward role I don't think Murdoch would be a priority. Good drafting should find a similar talent for the price Murdoch would be (which would be pick 20-30 at best if he was available). Oh and some of that developing thing I always read about

He has stagnated (but in his defence has suffered a few niggles) and other young players that were earmarked for a delisting at season's end have started to show something.

Kids like Hartman pushing his way into the side has been a pleasant surprise but created a headache.

Walker has been given heaps of chances, but not done anything.

Surprisingly Cowan has barely played due to a series of injuries, but is highly rated and won't be given up on easily.

Oh wait, I was talking Schroder.

I always get him & Murdoch mixed up.

Murdoch should be safe.