Posted

Is it a degenerative knee problem?

The injury he sustained to his knee a couple of years ago was when it was bent sideways, didn't seem to hamper him before that in the premiership year

If you listen to what Roos and Misson are actually saying is you are dealing with a 100kg+ plus bloke who was probably rushed back last year, which has caused a lot of problems with his soft tissues, they want to get it right, he played in the practice game and looked fine, just a bit of calf soreness, so let's rush him back again....NOT

You'd think medical staff and fitness 'gurus' at an elite level would know not to rush a player back...

Open your mind. All possibilities are there. We the supporters will never really know, and dazzle's comments about Dawes' knee hold just as much merit as yours do.

None of us really know, and none of it would surprise me.

We're just in a very unfortunate position where we have two tall forwards who are, for various reasons, injury prone.

Posted

Time to wake up and smell the roses now Saty.

Cooney and Scully both supposedly have really serious degenerative knee injuries, they are suiting up again this year, there has been one heresay report about Dawes' knee

Can we wait till we actually get facts rather than this speculation.

As far as I know none of the posters on this board are in the medical game specialising in sports injuries and the treatment thereof, so therefore have absolutely no idea about the timerames and the hiccups that can happen along the way.......(apart maybe from personal experience, like myself, I wrecked my shoulder was told I would be fine in 3 months, it took me a year, an infection, an unfortunate accident during rehab etc etc)

I am all for the cautious approach to injuries, besides which we have 40 odd players to pick from, the old cliche about giving somebody the opportunity

Posted

I can tell you with absolute certainty James Frawley has not made a decision on his future at this point in time, that's coming from a very reliable source, anything in the media saying he is gone is purely speculation, i believe he will stay, but if we have a [censored] year, he is going to consider his options very seriously

Of course he is going to consider options, I had a good chat to him at the Family Day, he just wants to be able to taste a bit of success, if he thinks that will be with Melbourne he will stay

Posted

Of course he is going to consider options, I had a good chat to him at the Family Day, he just wants to be able to taste a bit of success, if he thinks that will be with Melbourne he will stay

Yeah and fair enough too, being full back of one of the worst teams of all time can't be fun, i just get abit irked by media types who make things up, saying he has made a decision to leave already and such

Posted

St. Kilda have an average backline anyway.

If we manage to get on top in the midfield and get enough inside 50s, we should be fine.

Who knows, maybe Georgiou will swing forward and kick a bag.

Posted

Why hasn't Dawes retired?

He gets an injury payout substantially more than his yearly contract - why is he, and we, continuing the charade if his body is cactus?

It's all very well to get uppity about these things but the proof of the pudding is in the eating and at the moment Clark and Dawes are not even training with the main group let alone looking like playing any time soon.

From the start of preseason we were told the objective was to get these guys ready for round 1. Dave Misson's reports have always said they are going "well" but the reality is they continue to be "no shows".

I'm starting to think these guys are very marginal conveyances. I hope I'm wrong but the fact is the club has given us great hope over injured players who just continue to be sidelined. Clark, Dawes, Jamar, Gawn, Garland and now perhaps Hogan.

You can't blame people for feeling let down and you can't blame them for questioning what is coming from the club. The reality is over preseason it feels like we've been fed bulldust.

Posted

Look I'm going through recovery from a serious knee injury right now and I'm starting to understand why time frames change on these injury lists. 3 weeks ago I was told I would be getting my brace off in a month, now another 2 weeks has been added on to that and other milestones have been changed. But the irony being the surgeon is saying everything is going well and surgery that was going to happen at the 6 month post-op mark will happen 3 months post-op!

My point is until you hear it straight from the horses mouth, speculation is just that. Speculation.

Posted

I can tell you with absolute certainty James Frawley has not made a decision on his future at this point in time, that's coming from a very reliable source, anything in the media saying he is gone is purely speculation, i believe he will stay, but if we have a [censored] year, he is going to consider his options very seriously

This is going to throw a spanner in the works.. But here goes.

I read an article on Nick Riewoldt the other day about his loyalty to St Kilda and the fact that he's never considered leaving. Now of course people may argue that they've played in finals and Grand finals and he's their captain etc, but one of the things that struck me was when he mentioned that winning a grand final for another club wouldn't have the same effect. He has too many close mates at St Kilda.

Now with Frawley, he keeps banging on about his mates at the club and his veins bleeding red and blue etc etc, yet he's waiting until the end of the season before he decides apparently. This post might be a tad premature but if he leaves, I will be glad. Football clubs and sustained success occurs when you have players who stick by the club, drag it out of the mud, and inspire a climb to the top.

Nathan Jones has never once 'considered his options' and has been on the list longer than Frawley, has endured just as many losses and hardships, and has improved out of sight as an individual and team player. That's a telling sign.

Whilst most seem to accept that Frawley is 'considering his options', in my eyes he knows very well that the club is now on the up. We've hit our lowest point. It's just $ signs that he's seeing. The guy is a beast of a human, the potential to be one of the best full backs. He's just not all there in the head I don't reckon. Completely different mindset to Jones, and I wish he'd take a leaf out of Nath's book.

(Wrong thread, apologies. Just noticed someone talking about Frawley)

Posted

I read an article on Nick Riewoldt the other day about his loyalty to St Kilda and the fact that he's never considered leaving. Now of course people may argue that they've played in finals and Grand finals and he's their captain etc, but one of the things that struck me was when he mentioned that winning a grand final for another club wouldn't have the same effect. He has too many close mates at St Kilda.

Now with Frawley, he keeps banging on about his mates at the club and his veins bleeding red and blue etc etc, yet he's waiting until the end of the season before he decides apparently. This post might be a tad premature but if he leaves, I will be glad. Football clubs and sustained success occurs when you have players who stick by the club, drag it out of the mud, and inspire a climb to the top.

Nathan Jones has never once 'considered his options' and has been on the list longer than Frawley, has endured just as many losses and hardships, and has improved out of sight as an individual and team player. That's a telling sign.

Whilst most seem to accept that Frawley is 'considering his options', in my eyes he knows very well that the club is now on the up. We've hit our lowest point. It's just $ signs that he's seeing. The guy is a beast of a human, the potential to be one of the best full backs. He's just not all there in the head I don't reckon. Completely different mindset to Jones, and I wish he'd take a leaf out of Nath's book.

The difference between Frawley and Rewoldt is roo has played finals, grand finals and so on, Frawley hasn't at all, Nathan Jones is loyal as a dog, Chip is weighing Loyalty vs money vs success and he is absolutely right to do so.

Posted

The difference between Frawley and Rewoldt is roo has played finals, grand finals and so on, Frawley hasn't at all, Nathan Jones is loyal as a dog, Chip is weighing Loyalty vs money vs success and he is absolutely right to do so.

Yes, of course he has the right...

I just wish he had the same mindset as Jones.

We'd have a more valuable team member. Someone who would have more of an influence on the club.

The bloke is a passenger, and we've had far too many of them over the years.

Posted (edited)

Sorry to deflate your balloon old chap but Nathan Jones was considering a black jumper with a red sash before he resigned with MFC a couple of seasons ago.....you have a short memory....he is probably glad in a way he didn't go

Posted

I think you'll find most players say what their managers tell them to say. It's the manager's job to get the best deal for the players and encouraging a club to think a "required" player might be thinking about leaving is surely part of the manager's kitbag.

Posted

Sorry to deflate your balloon old chap but Nathan Jones was considering a black jumper with a red sash before he resigned with MFC a couple of seasons ago.....you have a short memory....he is probably glad in a way he didn't go

correct. And... Frawley has not delayed to "seasons end". He is waiting to see how the season unfolds. My feeling is that if he can see upwards momentum he will sign. I dont think this is all about money.

Posted (edited)

Perhaps, perhaps not.

Look at what he's achieved. Why is he our Captain.

Posted

correct. And... Frawley has not delayed to "seasons end". He is waiting to see how the season unfolds. My feeling is that if he can see upwards momentum he will sign. I dont think this is all about money.

The thing is he is going to get paid well wherever he goes, the only team likely to pay him way overs is GWS, and being a restricted free agent it's highly unlikely anyone will offer him so much that we couldn't match it anyway.

Posted

errrr, yes i do stuie.............................they are just another media centre like all the rest

In the article itself it says the club have confirmed it. MFC have said they will announce about it this arvo.

The denial here is incredible.

Posted

In the article itself it says the club have confirmed it. MFC have said they will announce about it this arvo.

It says the club is doing scans to find out exactly how bad it is so it confirms that yes it happens but the details are just speculation, the 4-6 weeks is a guess, at least that's how i am taking it at the minute, i'm sure they're making a fairly educated guess.

Posted

It says the club is doing scans to find out exactly how bad it is so it confirms that yes it happens but the details are just speculation, the 4-6 weeks is a guess, at least that's how i am taking it at the minute, i'm sure they're making a fairly educated guess.

Totally agree. I'm just having a crack at everyone who thought it was total rubbish and not possible at all just cos they hate Barrett.

Posted

no stuie you are now changing the goal posts

you claimed that the afl media centre represented the official afl position and that the afl approved their content

wrong - no cigar for you

Posted

Our club must be cursed!! Everything that could have conceivably gone wrong over the last 3 years has. When will we get some luck?

Was really looking forward to Hogan's debut, with the injury he has sustained this could be weeks to months away.

Posted

no stuie you are now changing the goal posts

you claimed that the afl media centre represented the official afl position and that the afl approved their content

wrong - no cigar for you

No. No I didn't. I said there would be an approval process, and unless Barrett is the webmaster of the AFL site then there would be.

Posted

No. No I didn't. I said there would be an approval process, and unless Barrett is the webmaster of the AFL site then there would be.

You were clearly implying that you believed the AFL had implicitly more credibility than other media outlets. If that was not your implication then why mention an the approval process at all? There is no doubt also an approval process for articles on the Herald Sun website, but that doesn't stop them from jumping the gun* as well.

*I have no opinion on whether the AFL website or Damo Barrett have actually jumped the gun; talking purely in hypotheticals.