View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Neeld weighing up footy comeback

That's the gig he deserves.

Good luck and best wishes to him.

He did his best.

He'd have to be one of the first head coaches to not get a job immediately after. I simply cannot believe we failed ruined his stocks, I still maintain we mucked it up at the hire when we just wanted a Malthouse clone.

It's not his fault he wasn't good enough, and he was obviously trying; but he'd have to be close to the worst senior coach in this century.

He has indicated to the school board that Carey will be the toughest school to play whether that be football or public speaking.

He'd have to be one of the first head coaches to not get a job immediately after. I simply cannot believe we failed ruined his stocks, I still maintain we mucked it up at the hire when we just wanted a Malthouse clone.

It's not his fault he wasn't good enough, and he was obviously trying; but he'd have to be close to the worst senior coach in this century.

So how bad does that make the selection committee?

You cant really have a go at someone who accepts a challenge in the work force that hind sight tells us was not the right fit/achievable.

When standing next to Mick Malthouse and telling the MFC representative on the phone that they need to confirm his appointment because he has another offer, I cant really blame him.

...on the same topic...

SCHOOL REPORT CARD: Johny Couldabeen

Dear Parent,

This year Johny has shown great progess, he laughs a lot more at his own jokes, he is good at kicking people when they are down, I realise now I am dealing with someone who is perfect and never made a mistake in their life, his opinion is the only opinion worth having, history seems to be his favourite subject, although expressing with hindsight runs it a close second

Career suggestions: A poster on Demonland

Good luck to the bloke. It obvioulsy didnt work at the Dees but at the end if the day I recon he had the toughest ride of any coach over the last 20 years and managed to end with some dignity and without spitting the dummy.

Good bloke rubbish AFL senior coach

I wont sink the boot into Neeld.

Was he a failure at the MFC ? yes

Should we have got a senior coach ? ( in hindsight yes).

Was he a very well credentialled assistant coach coming out of a very good system. ? yes

Whilst a few here did want an experienced coach, no one suggested he was a poor choice from the assistants available.

...on the same topic...

SCHOOL REPORT CARD: Johny Couldabeen

Dear Parent,

This year Johny has shown great progess, he laughs a lot more at his own jokes, he is good at kicking people omwhen they are down, I realise now I am dealing with someone who is perfect and never made a mistake in their life, his opinion is the only opinion worth having, history seems to be his favourite subject, although expressing with hindsight runs it a close second

Career suggestions: A poster on Demonland

Sat, without being rude, what are you talking about?

i understood what he was talking about

now youve got me worried rtg

Dont do it mate...

No need to kick a man when he is down.

Good luck Mark, hope you make a good fist of the job.

You may need to work on your smile mate.

Good luck to the bloke. It obvioulsy didnt work at the Dees but at the end if the day I recon he had the toughest ride of any coach over the last 20 years and managed to end with some dignity and without spitting the dummy.

Good bloke rubbish AFL senior coach

Good Bloke? All reports were that he was absolute pr1ck.

His report card on our former CEO was a classic as well, has to be a High School Teacher.

Isn't David King coach of Carey? How will that work. Also APS schools paying former AFL players/coaches to coach the team is a bit of a [censored]. Just get one of the PE teachers who was a decent local footy and involved in local footy to do it. These AFL guys bring in all their terminology and training methods that should be kept away from kids who should focus on schooling. The elite ones can get footy knowledge from their TAC teams.

my nephew has a bit to do with him

says that mn is a top bloke

has no idea what went wrong at dees

first thought was that he had lost a below average group of players very quickly,and NEVER righted the ship

but pr1ck,i dunno

Dont begrudge the guy life after coaching Melbourne. He didnt hire himself to MFC we are complicit in his appointment and his management - he doesnt get all the blame.

It says more about our government funding of private schools that they can afford ex AFL coaches - your taxes at work - meanwhile public schools cant get basic building maintenance.

Where did you get that from?

my nephew has a bit to do with him

says that mn is a top bloke

has no idea what went wrong at dees

first thought was that he had lost a below average group of players very quickly,and NEVER righted the ship

but pr1ck,i dunno

I reckon your second last line is probably closer to the truth than him being an absolute pr####