Posted

to bad there was no elders, to steer Liam in the right direction... When he needed them too...

If I recall at one time it was said as part of his "story" when he arrived that he himself was (despite his age) an elder.

I wish him well. I would love it if he were able to get back in the R&B fully fit, physically and mentally. I doubt if it is possible. That is all.

Posted

If I recall at one time it was said as part of his "story" when he arrived that he himself was (despite his age) an elder.

I wish him well. I would love it if he were able to get back in the R&B fully fit, physically and mentally. I doubt if it is possible. That is all.

I believe Jurrah is initiated into his tribe but has never claimed to be an elder. I've read a number of press articles stating that he is an elder, but, hey, that's press accountability for you.

Posted

In response to Daisycutter's reply.

I don't want an argument. I got angry at all these big shot lawyers etc, who pulled out all stops to get him off (for their own aggrandisement ) then left him high and dry so that he could step on the next turd in his path. It was a cynical cause célèbre case of the lowest order. He should have been tried with his co-accused and justice metered out fairly and evenly. The same goes for the plaintiffs in the case. They were made to look like a bunch of blithering idiots further debasing the community. The whole saga has ruined any attempt to reconciliation with his community and made it a virtual impossibility.

i understand that, and that may be true or not

but....i was only making the one point about whether your example of not being racist being a valid argument

that was all....it was not an accusation

Posted

I wouldn't visit my mate in prison if he belted a woman, that's just me.

Out of all you've said, this is the one thing I disagree with. I might find a close mates actions vile and reprehensible, but when they made their biggest mistake, or needed me most I'd like to think I'd be supportive. And my support would in no way condone their actions.

Posted

Out of all you've said, this is the one thing I disagree with. I might find a close mates actions vile and reprehensible, but when they made their biggest mistake, or needed me most I'd like to think I'd be supportive. And my support would in no way condone their actions.

I suspect most would feel that way, and I thought for a minute before posting it.

As I said it's just me, it's just a weak act and I have a low tolerance for moronic Neanderthals. I'm loyal to a point.

Posted

Yes. I used to attend church regularly, in a past life. A bloke there who I had barely ever spoken to shot his wife after she really got under his skin. Gave himself up, and went to trial - all covered in the papers. Pretty messy story about what had been going on, out of which he got 18 months minimum security. Two years later I was at a different church, and there he was suddenly in front of me. Recognition and hesitation arrived on his face at once, but his eyes never moved away. No time to think, I stepped up and shook him by the hand and said g'day. "Good to see you," I said, calling him by his name - that was about all, but I have never forgotten it and for all I know perhaps he hasn't either. Well, anyway the more I've thought about it the surer it feels that I did the absolutely right thing.

Fellow feeling - we are programmed for this. We recognise a fellow human being's need and hurts. Weighing it all up and passing judgment is not our business, thank goodness - we just recognise and reach out a hand. I did, and I'm not sorry at all. Learned something, that day, it seems to me. And I hope the poor fella has moved on and doesn't feel crushed by his past any more.

Posted

You know he was probably just back at church looking for his next victim right?

He may have been doing that if you live in a cartoon world.

He was also probably thinking of adding a gimmick to his criminal career i.e. 'If I wear a top hat and tails and carry around an umbrella that shoots poison gas, maybe I can be the Penguin!'

:rolleyes:

P.S. I'm not trying to make light of a serious situation, but this was clearly a crime where someone lost control in a domestic and did something hideous. I don't think this should be trivialized into 'He is going to church to pick his next victim' (though one may argue I have just done that).

Posted

He may have been doing that if you live in a cartoon world.

He was also probably thinking of adding a gimmick to his criminal career i.e. 'If I wear a top hat and tails and carry around an umbrella that shoots poison gas, maybe I can be the Penguin!'

:rolleyes:

P.S. I'm not trying to make light of a serious situation, but this was clearly a crime where someone lost control in a domestic and did something hideous. I don't think this should be trivialized into 'He is going to church to pick his next victim' (though one may argue I have just done that).

I wasn't making light of it Colin, I was actually being realistic.

Posted

I wasn't making light of it Colin, I was actually being realistic.

I'm glad I don't share your reality.

Posted

A guy murdered his wife and now he is back at church.

It's not unreasonable to think that he could be scoping out a potential victim.

I seriously doubt that the guy is there to find god, so then you have to ask yourself, what is he there for?

...what? How are you in any position to be making that judgement? You don't even know the individual he's talking about.

You seem to want to categorise people into neat little boxes. Life is rarely that simple.

Posted

Delisted GC Suns player Liam Patrick (a cousin of Jurrah) is playing for Wanderers and was just penalised for grabbing his cousin around the neck. KIck went into the man on the mark (no suggestion of any fueding here tho :lol:)

Aussie is getting touches but not influential and the Tiwis have fallen four goals behind at the 22 minute mark of the second term.

Posted

I seriously doubt that the guy is there to find god, so then you have to ask yourself, what is he there for?

He shot his wife, he's not Ted Bundy.

Posted

maybe he was there for people, not to kill them, but to be accepted back into the human race.

Meantime it sounds like Liam is tipping the scales as best he can.

How can you be so offensively, ignorantly, presumptuously superior? Or condemning? Better informed, and presumably better qualified, the judge listened to the facts and weighed it up and gave him 18 months minimum security. So you have the wit and wisdom to add your "reasonable" and "serious" speculations.

You should seriously be ashamed.

Posted

Are you watching or listening WJ? If watching how do the boys look? Fit and healthy?

Posted

Are you watching or listening WJ? If watching how do the boys look? Fit and healthy?

Wish I was there but you can follow the game (not vision) on the Northern Territory News website - www.ntnews.com.au. Get on to sports -> AFL then click onto NTFL Live.

You get a bit of a description from their reporter and can log on and ask questions.

Here's a comment from Grey Morris, the commentator at Bathurst Island

Jurrah seems to have been accepted by the people over here as well. They obviously know all about his exploits at Melbourne with the footy.

Posted

Liam finishes with five goals but his team loses by 10 points.

Wanderers 18.16.124 to Tiwi Bombers 17.12.114

Wonder if there were any AFL scouts watching. Not too shabby given his lack of match practice and condition.