Eli Templeton

MadAsHell

Given I've jus posted some potential 1st & 2nd round draft selections I figured I should keep going into the 3rd round. I've heard a bit of Eli Templeton and found the following info on him.

Height 182cm, Weight 67kg, from Burnie Dockers.

Templeton is a high motor midfielder with the versatility to also play forward or back. Has a very light body but despite this has a very advanced game and having dominated throughout his junior footy with his form in the u16s particularly dominant. Templeton stands out with his ability to accumulate the ball in hand he can do some real damage with the penetrating kick he has on him allowing him to hit the scoreboard wasily as a midfielder. Templeton can win some of his own ball but given his light frame likely finds a role as an outside player.

Reckon he could be a handy small utility as an upgrade on Neville Jetta in that he can play in all parts of the ground but has a better ability at finding the ball. Any of our Tassie Demons have anymore info on him that what I've found, and if so would our 3rd round pick be to high for him?

• 3 months later...

I think we should go for him with pick 40.

Been compared to Chris Masten.

Although if Gartlett was to fall down to 40, i would pick him.

• 4 weeks later...

Quigley's Phantom Draft

Eli Templeton

DOB 19/8/95 Ht 181 Wt 73

It is my usual practice to put a Div 2 player in my top 10 each year and for once that was easy and I could legitimately slot Kolodjashnij in there. Usually it is not that easy and I have to reach for someone and, if KK had not been there, this year Templeton would have been the guy. If I am honest he would not have been as much of a reach as some of the other guys I have included.

Templeton is a good footballer whose superior athleticism makes you think he will transition well to the AFL once he puts a little weight on. He has put on about 6kgs over the season and, although still light, if he could put on another 3 or 4 over the preseason he would be a chance of getting games early. Despite the extra weight he still managed to test exceptionally well, going over 15 in the beep and finishing in the top 10 in the 3km as well. He was also in the top 25% in the repeat sprint and the agility test. In the 20m sprint he was a little slower than I expected going a little over 3 secs but most of that was lost in the first 5m and I get the feeling he might not have been as prepared for that test as he might have been. In game situations he plays with really good speed and whilst he might not be an absolute burner he has very good functional speed.

He is primarily an outside in midfielder but he can get back and help out in defense. He covers a lot of ground in game situations and always seems to be around the ball helping out or linking up. He finds space very well and uses his superior tank effectively. His inside game I think is a bit underestimated and I think he will develop into a good all round midfielder at the next level. He has very quick hands which is a very good start but he is not the cleanest player with the ball on the ground. He is not bad though and when the ball comes his way he controls the ball well and if he doesnt grab it first time he still usually manages to come away with the ball. It is a similar story with his awareness in tight. His awareness of what is around him is not top shelf but he still manages to find his teammates pretty well. His quick hands helps him there a fair bit.

In contested situations he is pretty elusive and he is a huge fan of the spin move. Sometimes it is effective and sometimes not. He does get buffeted around at bit at the moment given he is a bit of a lightweight but as he gets stronger more of his moves are going to come off. He does need to balance up a little better when he is getting quick kicks away.

His kicking generally is a bit of a mixed bag and I would liken it to Tom Rockliffs kicking. In space he seems to have very good vision and he takes really good options. Most of those options are short to intermediate though as he does not have a very penetrating kick. On the longer kicks the ball tends to not spin correctly and is loses distance as a result. He weights his short to intermediate kicks really well and he hits his targets nicely. Like Rockliff he tends to chip rather than punch these kicks and this could invite a little trouble at the next level. Overall though his kicking is very solid and should be fine at the next level and with a little work it could be a lot better than that especially when you take his good decision making into account.

Templeton, although not a specialist, will go to stoppages and he wins his fair share of clearances. When the opposition gets the ball in those situations he is a willing tackler and he gets a reasonable number of tackles per game. For example. he averaged 4.5 tackles per game at the Champs. Whilst those numbers are good they are a little misleading and I think his defensive work could definitely use some improvement. He is a bit of a one way player at the moment and that will need to change. He does have the tools to be an effective defensive presence at the next level. Another concern I had was I noticed a few times that he did not do the team thing when it was called for. He is not a big blocker or shepherder.

In contrast I did really like how he went up to his teammate who had to go off with concussion in the NT game. The rest of his team mates left the poor bloke to his own devices but Templeton went over to make sure he was okay. Good team mate action I thought.

Templeton is an excellent accumulator of the ball. At the Champs he averaged 23 disposals per game and in the two TAC games he played this year he averaged 24.5 disposals per game. He gets to space and links up really well. He is also a proponent of the Gary Ablett duck around behind the guy with the ball to receive a cheapie move.

Templeton is a very confident player and seems to have an aura about him. He seems to know he is good and his teammates and opposition believe it. I think confidence is often an underestimated trait and Templeton seems to have that and is a leader on the park. I made the comparison earlier to Rockliff and I think that is a good one. He is a superior athlete to Rockliff but as far as how he will play at AFL level I think they will be very similar.

#2 in the Rookie draft belongs to him, Hourigan, Cavarra, or Battersby, wouldn't mind Tsitas

Thought most of those blokes would have been 2nd round picks.

He is very skinny which might see him fall down the order a bit. Very talented though.

Does BP or CAC have any involvement in footy anywhere anymore? Sounds their ideal "gun pickup"! Cale, Gysberts #2 anyone??

PS: haven't seen anything of him, just concerned re our history and the highlighted words. Still, we aren't exactly expending high picks, are we?

Hope we pick this kid up in the rookie draft. Lock him in the gym to add 10kgs and he'd become a valuable addition to our midfield rotation. Can provide run on the outside, and has the skill to win his own ball. Better prospect than a fair few on our list IMO.