WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - DANIEL CROSS

Great work Melbourne. Our midfield next year may have just gone from third world to developing country.

I think I read on here that Misson has little sports science qualifications, just footy experience. Not sure. But if so, i would have thought he'd be better off working under more highly qualified pros.

I'm not sure where this comes from, but it seems to come up every so often. He had already done a lot before joining the Swans:

David Misson is the Physical Performance Manager of the Sydney Swans. Prior to that he was Fitness Advisor for the Australian Cricket Team and he is a former nationally-ranked track and field athlete and former NSW 400m Hurdles Champion. David has also worked with the Wallabies, Tennis Australia, NSW Institute of Sport, Sydney Swifts Netball Team, the Brumbies and the Waratahs.
His father is Frank Misson, who played cricket for NSW and 5 tests for Australia in the early 60's.

If the signing is true that I am more excited about this pick up then Vince or Tyson! why?

Crazy talk.

Tyson could be in the top 5 mids in the game in 3-4 years.

Gun.

Great news. Was hoping we'd get him, as much as anything because of his professionalism and attitude to training. What must Nathan Jones be feeling with these additions to the midfield ... he no longer has to carry the entire load.

Crazy talk.

Tyson could be in the top 5 mids in the game in 3-4 years.

Gun.

Not crazy talk.

Cross will make him into that top 5 mid.

i've always wondered what barracking for a team with a midfield must be like?

Next year i get to actually find out.

hooray!

colbert-o.gif

Is that liberace's son?

Now to watch Taggert, Evans, Toumpas and Trengove develop properly.

Great news

THis isnt some stupid useless senior citizen pickup like David Rodan and Shannon Byrnes last year

Cross is a gun, an All Australian and can still play averaging 21 possies last season

He will show the boys what real training is all about

And you guys reckon McKenzie can turn the ball over! Cross is a butcher. But he's still a good pick up. Hoping by the end of next year we are in the same position the dogs are now and that a lot of our guys have learnt what it takes to succeed in this league. MCG compared to Etihad should suit Cross though, more space to run all day which is his primary strength.

Cross and Vince will ease some of the burden on Jonesy and allow Viney and Toumpas to develop properly without placing undue pressure on them to be overnight superstars. Fantastic stuff.

And you guys reckon McKenzie can turn the ball over! Cross is a butcher. But he's still a good pick up. Hoping by the end of next year we are in the same position the dogs are now and that a lot of our guys have learnt what it takes to succeed in this league. MCG compared to Etihad should suit Cross though, more space to run all day which is his primary strength.

mate we beat the dogs this year and we are bloody rubbish.

End of next year i want to be in a better position than them- club, ladder, culture, and off-field wise!

Master, I love your work but you've got to set aside this emotional attachment you have for Jordie. Jordie has zero decision making skills and his awareness to find free team mates when under even the smallest bit of pressure is absolutely shocking.

Cross hasn't got a great kick but his decision making and awareness are light years beyond Jordies.

Anyway, very exciting news.

Clearly there has been an emphasis on bigger bodied mids.

Vince 186cm

Michie 185cm

Tyson 187cm

Cross 187cm

Damian Barrett @barrettdamian 18h

I fear the scattergun has been produced. For the second year in a row

Damian Barrett ‏@barrettdamian 18h

I fear the scattergun has been produced. For the second year in a row

i just gave him a serve on twitter as many others did

I think you need to look at the overall picture. Our forward and back halfs are significantly better than the Dogs and I believe we have a significantly better coach. Our midfield in a year's time will also be better, and Gawn is bigger and more mobile than Minson, at least he will be in a year's time. The dogs have a very significant problem in attack - the opposite of us.

We will be well ahead of them this year.

I think you need to take the rose coloured glasses off. We are ahead of them with forwards and backs.

Our midfield is nowhere near as good as theirs. Griffen is a star. Libba has had an amazing year and if continues on will be a star. Boyd is a solid A grader, Cooney showed this year that he can still turn it on and the injury hasnt slowed him down too much. Add their list of young mids coming through who have already shown a lot more than just promise.

Compare it to our list which has Jones B+ (almost A) and then some good young potential. Vince will replace Sylvia's out put and then a little bit more. Cross is a great pick up. Tyson has played 13 games and hasnt had a good run yet. Michie has played 1 AFL game and has had a truckload of injuries.

Gawn will have to double his output from last season to be anywhere near Minson. I remeber the game we played against the dogs this year where Gawn was doing a decent job of staying even with Minson. Then in the last quarter it looked like Gawn could have fallen over from exhaustion. Minson powered through, won the rucks with ease competing agaisnt both Fitzy and Gawn single handed, gave their midfield the easiest run I have seen from a ruck. They had a massive comeback and nearly pinched it. This is Minson strength, I have seen him lift multiple times in the last quarter while the other rucks tire.