Posted

Anybody got any idea about livestreams of the game??? Please don't tell me the 5AA boys are doing the game... ;)

Follow up o fthis questoin - anyone know of coverage or if there will be a replay posted??

Posted

Am happy to see Jetta back in the side

Still a few bestt 22 out IMO

Clark

Trenners

Dawes

T Mac

Blease

Bail

Looking foward to this game a little - I reckon Kent is a chance rd 1 as well.

Realistically I hope for no injuries and the injured boys can get back asap

I have one objection UH

Bail

you are jesting right?

Posted

I have one objection UH

Bail

you are jesting right?

I knew that name would raise eyebrows

I think his run & spread is really important - i feel he could develop in to a handy player (maybe not best 22 at the moment)

Posted

I knew that name would raise eyebrows

I think his run & spread is really important - i feel he could develop in to a handy player (maybe not best 22 at the moment)

But he cannot kick or tackle without giving away a free UH

Posted

But he cannot kick or tackle without giving away a free UH

Not sure if you saw last weeks game v the Saints OD but half our list did exactly that

Time will tell OD, but i don't think we are playing a super strong side v the Saints. I feel a few blokes are fighting for positions. I just hope we can keep and get players fit

Posted

Not sure if you saw last weeks game v the Saints OD but half our list did exactly that

Time will tell OD, but i don't think we are playing a super strong side v the Saints. I feel a few blokes are fighting for positions. I just hope we can keep and get players fit

No I didn't UH I am over watching the Dees lose.

I have watched enough in real time the last few years.

Watching after the event when I know we lost again is too sad.

I go to games and watch on tv live.

That is generally enough pain in one season.

Posted

Follow up o fthis questoin - anyone know of coverage or if there will be a replay posted??

Follow up follow up question: Anyone know if the players not selected (but available) will be playing for Casey Scorpions this weekend (practice match as well)?

Posted

Phuong,

I will be flying down in the car from Brisbane after work, fingers crossed i'll get there at qtr time. What is the parking like at the Southport Sharks? as mentioned above, will tickets be available at the gate?. I cannot wait to see Toumpas and Hulk running around in the red and the blue!

Carn Melbourne!

There is plenty of Parking however this Saturday we are hosting an event at the same time the matches are on which we are expecting 550 people. Saturday lunch is generally packed and I expect this Saturday will be no different. So my suggestion is to park along the street if your going to get here around qtr time as I would expect the 800+ cars pace will be full by then. Botanical drive is a street I would suggest to park. Its across the road from the ground. In terms of tickets and pricing ill have to ask tomorrow as Im not 100% sure how that works. The match was only confirmed to go ahead today after the AFL flew some officials up here to inspect the ground and gave it the go ahead at 3pm this afternoon. Ill let you know about tickets tomorrow . Hope that helps.

Posted

Also interested to hear about parking. I'll be driving down from Brisbane and need to make a swift getaway after the game. Any info would be appreciated.

Also planning on taking the two kids (very young) to their first game, so hoping there is a nice hill or other grassed area to chuck a rug down.

Heard from the Club that MFC memberships will get you into this game. I would however check with the Club first. (Don't know why when they wouldnt allow entry at Casey- a major stuff up by the AFL)

Posted

I checked with Southport Sharks and they advised me that our Membership card will get us free entry.

Also no seating around the ground so bring chairs or rugs etc.

As for food said there is going to be a pie van there!!!! YUM!!!!! Nothing like a bout of gastro to start the week off!!

Posted

I made the point elsewhere that although the focus this week is on Southport where the Demons take on the Gold Coast Suns, if you've developed a fondness for Casey Fields after last Saturday's NAB Cup game against the Saints, why not come back again this week for the Scorpions' first practice match v Frankston?

The neighbouring Dolphins have recruited well, it promises to be a big day at Cranbourne East and the parking won't be anywhere near as bad as last week. I can't promise which of the Demons will be on show this week as the MFC will probably take up a decent squad and rest a few as well.

SATURDAY MARCH 16

Casey Scorpions vs Frankston at Casey Fields DL 11am VFL 2pm

However, it looks likely that some big guns will be on hand at the same venue following week (March 23) when the Scorps take on VFL heavyweights Port Melbourne and they could have a couple of handy inclusions in Mitch Clark and Jack Trengove.

Demons look to VFL.

Casey will round off its practice match series at home against Box Hill Hawks on 30 March.

After being packed off to the outer wing last week, I don't feel like going back down there again. couldn't see a bloody thing and a total waste of effort going.

Definately won't go to another NAB Cup game ever again.

Posted

So as far as we know there won't be any coverage?

That's right no diff to the last couple of games which is unfortunate

Posted

I guess it's the live chat on the website then. :(

Have fun with that!!!!

It's not often they come up to qld so would be nice to see a win for a change.

Posted

I guess it's the live chat on the website then. :(

Which means if we don't play well we'll only hear about half the game once the "internet problems" kick in the same time as the opposition get a run on...

Posted

Gold Coast forecast for today - 27 degrees, clear skies and light winds. Sounds great, wish I could be there

Thanks in advance to any of those who attend and post updates here

Posted

Not a cloud in the sky here this morning. After four weeks of rain, today promises to be the best (and hottest!) day on the Coast in more than a month. A perfect day for pretty much anything EXCEPT playing footy! I am still gobsmacked at the brilliant specimens who scheduled this match for the middle of the day here on the Gold Coast at this time of year. It utterly defies anything resembling common sense.

Still, I'll trot along and enjoy the spectacle, and then run home for a nice dip in the pool (the first in more than a month!)

Go Dees!

Posted

Not a cloud in the sky here this morning. After four weeks of rain, today promises to be the best (and hottest!) day on the Coast in more than a month. A perfect day for pretty much anything EXCEPT playing footy! I am still gobsmacked at the brilliant specimens who scheduled this match for the middle of the day here on the Gold Coast at this time of year. It utterly defies anything resembling common sense.

Still, I'll trot along and enjoy the spectacle, and then run home for a nice dip in the pool (the first in more than a month!)

Go Dees!

G'day Vagg - and in between, perhaps a report on the players and the game?

Just to clarify ... 11.30AM means 12.30PM in the civilized parts of the country like Melbourne, right? :lol:

Posted

seconds always kicked off at 11:30 :)

I played about 210 games total. Most of them were kicking off the dew !

Go Dees Give 'em HELL !!!

The "seconds" were always played in Victoria, in winter. A big difference.

Only a moron would schedule a midday game in Queensland: presumably DimWitriou was involved.

Posted

Jack we may be less civilized but you should see the quality of our curtains. No sign of fading!

... which is just as one might expect from a backwards state that has one less hour of sunlight every day of the summer and part of spring & autumn as a result of refusing to do the right thing by adopting daylight savings.

... and going by that signature of yours, I don't think it helps to weave your curtains out of banana skins. Have you been visiting the no T$ thread lately?

:wub: