Posted

Lutz

You seem to me to be an angry person who likes to attack ppl and personalise things. I will correct my mistake.

Just wanted to know who it was, cos I couldn't figure it out.

Not angry at all, but you can read into things however you like.

As rumpole pointed out, we're all capable of making mistakes.

No shame in that.

Posted

I'm not usually a nitpicker but for you, I'll make an exception.

We never had a Cam Johnstone.

Sure it wasn't Cameron Johnston you were thinking of?

Ta, he's the one whose surname I wasn't sure about re: spelling.

Posted
Sorry - who? The only blokes I can think of... Travis Johnstone Chris Johnson Paul Johnson Cam Johnstone All gone now. Sure it wasn't McKenzie? (ranga looking like Cam Johntsone?)

slow day at the office E25? That’s unnecessary pedantic nit picking at its finest

Posted

slow day at the office E25? That’s unnecessary pedantic nit picking at its finest

No it's not - it's clarifying who the hell he was talking about.

(not back at work til Monday)

Posted

So Lutz is confirmed as E25. Dammit I loved not having him

Posted (edited)

Hi All,

My 7 year old and I went to our first training session today (managed to dodge the downpour expertly) The following are a few observations but please understand that as my first session it is hard to compare. So in no particular order:

• Jack Watts looks significantly bigger than last year and more importantly is developing a bit of confidence about himself
  • Col Sylvia was training with the main group, I don't know if it is a first for the year but he looked totally switched on in the skills session
  • I love Jeremy Howe, he must be the pick up of last year for us, he has a touch of class about him with whatever he is doing
  • Chin looked huge up close
  • Stef Martin has a totally wacky hairdo at the moment (he was also looking good in the ruckwork i saw)
  • Tom McDonald seemed a little off pace today - was given push ups at the end of oner of the sessions
  • No LJ; apparently he was inside on the bike
  • Jacks T & G were in the rehab group, according to one of the trainers they are managing their load. JT then proceeded to do a heap of laps at a good lick.
  • Mitch Clark has great touch below his knees
  • Kelvin Lawrence looked extremely keen
  • No sign of Morts
  • Cook is a beanpole
  • We timed it till 35 minutes into the session before anyone kicked a footy - not a complaint, just an observation, all of the skills training to start the session was fast movement of the ball through traffic via hand. I was impressed how slick they looked but do take that with a pinch of first timer salt.
  • Sam Blease was excellent in the close in work, extremely fast and accurate with his disposal.
  • Nathan Jones is a training machine

We left after about an hour and they looked to be moving into a game simulation but maybe someone else will have further insight.

By the way there was heaps of parking on Swan Street east of Punt for anyone interested in heading down

Go Dees.

GHDB I think we spoke briefly at today’s session before you took a phone call and left before the heavens opened. I only stayed for the first hour (until the hail) and would agree with most of your thoughts. Just some general bits to add:

Bail and Jetta did about half the session

Bartram, Davey, Gawn (obviously), Grimes, Jurrah, McKenzie, Morton, Petterd, Spencer, Evans did not train at all.

Jamar, MacDonald, Strauss, Tapscott, Trengove, Magner, Williams did fitness work separate from the main group.

All other players did all the work I saw with the standouts being Clark, Howe and Sylvia for mine.

Tynan and Taggert did not look out of place in the drills and were crisp by hand and foot. It was also good to see Cook involved in the main session.

Focus was on decision making by hand through traffic and readiness for the next contest. There was also a fair amount of work on short kicks to space both on the lead and over the player to run into space.

Not once did Neeld speak to a player in my time there, he observed and occasionally mentioned something to an assistant. It is good see the assistants stop a drill immediately when something goes wrong to educate on the spot rather than continuing and then discussing it at the end.

That’s about it. Not much more you could read into what I saw but happy to field queries.

Edited by big_red_fire_engine

Posted

Read the articles on the MFC web site, is quickly highlights the difference between Bailey and Neeld, last year it was all about Liam getting people through the gate the excitement, this year Liam has a role and is expected to do it no tyre pumping going on.

Ah beautiful, excellent, thats what I want to here.

Posted

Big skills session today. I arrived 10 am, and it was solid ball work for 80 minutes. Skills were very good considering the conditions. I think we're developing a forward line that can take a contested mark. Jack Watts is just a beautiful ball handler, end of story, and as his maturity and strength improve, he will sit on top like cream. Completely agree with previous post re: Howe....he is a standout, in all areas. Mitch Clark is also a serious athlete : agile, strong, skilled. Expect another big year from Steph Martin, also very skilled. A smokey may just come in the form of Jack Fitzpatrick. He has a very nice pair of hands, and again extremely agile for his size. Cannot agree about Luke Tapscott's legs......they are big, just not as big as his neck! He may have had a little testosterone overload as a toddler I suspect. The list as a whole is just noticeably bigger, due to another year of physical development, and that we have very obviously drafted size. Magner is Moloney like, and Couch is very solid. Sellar is a very big unit, and Clark is just a tad meatier than Scully! The reality is they are all serious athletes......not one of them had a physique that wasn't cut to the bone, and their foot and hand speed and reaction times are something to behold. We will not be unique as a team in this regard obviously, but I would urge anybody who has the chance, to get to a training session and see the elite level these guys are at. When you're sitting in the outer about to give someone a spray for a perceived lack of ability, it might just make you think twice. In the midfield, I have to mention Nathan Jones again, he is a training beast, and with Brent Moloney and Colin Sylvia, pretty much everything they touch on the training track turns to gold. They set a dynamic example for the youngers......

For anyone out there who worries about the effort that goes into their conditioning, or whether they are trained to a peak, both physiologically and skill wise, worry not. That WILL NOT be the issue. Their ability as a TEAM, and that team's ability to work together with confidence to a plan against an opposition with the same idea, THAT will be the issue, and we're not going to know anything about that til round 1 rolls around.......ain't it exciting?

Posted

So Lutz is confirmed as E25. Dammit I loved not having him

No confirmation, just no arguing over nom de plumes.

People will believe what they want to believe.

Posted

I know that posters have gone through the topic of physical preparation for the upcoming season - I understand, however that the use of sports psychology is quite extensive in AFL - does MFC utilise a sports psych for its players?

Posted

Big skills session today. I arrived 10 am, and it was solid ball work for 80 minutes. Skills were very good considering the conditions. I think we're developing a forward line that can take a contested mark. Jack Watts is just a beautiful ball handler, end of story, and as his maturity and strength improve, he will sit on top like cream. Completely agree with previous post re: Howe....he is a standout, in all areas. Mitch Clark is also a serious athlete : agile, strong, skilled. Expect another big year from Steph Martin, also very skilled. A smokey may just come in the form of Jack Fitzpatrick. He has a very nice pair of hands, and again extremely agile for his size. Cannot agree about Luke Tapscott's legs......they are big, just not as big as his neck! He may have had a little testosterone overload as a toddler I suspect. The list as a whole is just noticeably bigger, due to another year of physical development, and that we have very obviously drafted size. Magner is Moloney like, and Couch is very solid. Sellar is a very big unit, and Clark is just a tad meatier than Scully! The reality is they are all serious athletes......not one of them had a physique that wasn't cut to the bone, and their foot and hand speed and reaction times are something to behold. We will not be unique as a team in this regard obviously, but I would urge anybody who has the chance, to get to a training session and see the elite level these guys are at. When you're sitting in the outer about to give someone a spray for a perceived lack of ability, it might just make you think twice. In the midfield, I have to mention Nathan Jones again, he is a training beast, and with Brent Moloney and Colin Sylvia, pretty much everything they touch on the training track turns to gold. They set a dynamic example for the youngers......

For anyone out there who worries about the effort that goes into their conditioning, or whether they are trained to a peak, both physiologically and skill wise, worry not. That WILL NOT be the issue. Their ability as a TEAM, and that team's ability to work together with confidence to a plan against an opposition with the same idea, THAT will be the issue, and we're not going to know anything about that til round 1 rolls around.......ain't it exciting?

Webber - your post mentions many many big and bigger bodies this year as compared to earlier times.

Was Morton an oversight or was he just hidden behind the bigger bodies so that you could not see him?

If he hasn't built up when the others had, it can't be good news for him as he must currently be "marginal" at best.

Posted

Hi All,

My 7 year old and I went to our first training session today (managed to dodge the downpour expertly) The following are a few observations but please understand that as my first session it is hard to compare. So in no particular order:

• Jack Watts looks significantly bigger than last year and more importantly is developing a bit of confidence about himself
  • Col Sylvia was training with the main group, I don't know if it is a first for the year but he looked totally switched on in the skills session
  • I love Jeremy Howe, he must be the pick up of last year for us, he has a touch of class about him with whatever he is doing
  • Chin looked huge up close
  • Stef Martin has a totally wacky hairdo at the moment (he was also looking good in the ruckwork i saw)
  • Tom McDonald seemed a little off pace today - was given push ups at the end of oner of the sessions
  • No LJ; apparently he was inside on the bike
  • Jacks T & G were in the rehab group, according to one of the trainers they are managing their load. JT then proceeded to do a heap of laps at a good lick.
  • Mitch Clark has great touch below his knees
  • Kelvin Lawrence looked extremely keen
  • No sign of Morts
  • Cook is a beanpole
  • We timed it till 35 minutes into the session before anyone kicked a footy - not a complaint, just an observation, all of the skills training to start the session was fast movement of the ball through traffic via hand. I was impressed how slick they looked but do take that with a pinch of first timer salt.
  • Sam Blease was excellent in the close in work, extremely fast and accurate with his disposal.
  • Nathan Jones is a training machine

We left after about an hour and they looked to be moving into a game simulation but maybe someone else will have further insight.

By the way there was heaps of parking on Swan Street east of Punt for anyone interested in heading down

Go Dees.

Thanks for the reports, GHdb, Dem'strtve, & BRFE. It's great to hear how it's all working out. Exciting.

Posted

No confirmation, just no arguing over nom de plumes.

People will believe what they want to believe.

I'm only stirring. Be it the illustrious beast or not, was always the most fun for a heated discussion!

Guest djdemons
Posted

Hi all. First post on Demonland and wanted to say thank you to everyone who has posted training updates and reviews. As a Queensland base supporter I cannot get to training and wont be able to go to the G this season for our home games. Geez I missed Melbourne and the footy. Anyways looking forward to reading everyones post throughout the season....

Posted

Hi all. First post on Demonland and wanted to say thank you to everyone who has posted training updates and reviews. As a Queensland base supporter I cannot get to training and wont be able to go to the G this season for our home games. Geez I missed Melbourne and the footy. Anyways looking forward to reading everyones post throughout the season....

Welcome mate but beware. Once you start posting on here you find yourself on the computer each and every day reading and talking the same tripe as the day before :)

Posted

How is this nitpicking? Weird. I didn't know who he meant either.

Posted

Sorry - who?

The only blokes I can think of...

Travis Johnstone

Chris Johnson

Paul Johnson

Cam Johnstone

All gone now.

Sure it wasn't McKenzie? (ranga looking like Cam Johntsone?)

Nasher, are you for real?

Nit picking - Looking for small or unimportant errors or faults, esp. in order to criticize unnecessarily.

IMO the part of the training report wasnt critical to begin with, so even bothing to post about the error is nit picking. And taking it further, E25 could have just said, "who did you mean by this?" or "we dont have a Johnston on the list". However he chose to list out every person with the name similar to Johnston who have played in the last 5 or so years, to make the error seem all the more silly.

i'll stand by my comment

Posted

Morton was not present today

Just bumped into him in Gippsland. Said he left the house to go to training this morning when a gust of wind got up his shorts and he took off, landed in a paddock, but it wasn't Gosch's.

For the nit pickers out there, this didn't really happen.

Posted

Just bumped into him in Gippsland. Said he left the house to go to training this morning when a gust of wind got up his shorts and he took off, landed in a paddock, but it wasn't Gosch's.

For the nit pickers out there, this didn't really happen.

Was about to say that this didn't happen on my watch!

Gippy

Posted

Morton was not present today

WorkSafe was worried about him and the high winds.