Preferred available coach  

224 members have voted

Posted

So let's assume the people that say they are not interested or available are exactly that.

Therefore eliminating the pipe dreams on the 'potential coaches' thread.

If it came to these choices, what's your preference?

Let the flood gates open!

Posted

Disagree. I still don't think Malthouse is out of reach. Of course he won't say he's interested in coaching a different club next year while trying to win a premiership with Collingwood now.

Posted

Disagree. I still don't think Malthouse is out of reach. Of course he won't say he's interested in coaching a different club next year while trying to win a premiership with Collingwood now.

+1

Of the list that was provided I said Laidley as I think he's a very smart and initiative coach who got some good results with an ordinary North list. Also wont be affraid to give the players a good rev when needed.

But I still think Malthouse is more then possible.

Posted

I would love to see Melbourne have a real look at Brenton Sanderson. Coming from Geelong he knows success and has been close to a senior job a couple of times. We have seen how both Scotts have brought youth and excitement to their respective clubs. Melbourne need new blood with new ideas.

Posted

Understood. But I think it would be a pretty boring poll if I included Malthouse.

Posted (edited)

Id be ok with Matthews, if hes still got it.......Malthouse maybe, he may give it away if he wins back to back flags. If however the pies lose the flag would be very interesting.....He may just want to have another crack.

Edited by Wadda We Sing
Posted

I'd love Mathews to do it but he won't therefore either Choco or Laidley preferably Choco.

Posted (edited)

Laidley has unfinished business at the top of the AFL ladder... But i also like the look of Gary Ayres Port Melbounre's coach, he had some great results there.

Edited by tatu
Posted

If, we can't get Matthews to agree to Coach, maybe he would be Director to Brenton Sanderson, or a 'Harley' type. Or, maybe Harley would also assist?

Brenton Sanderson:

2009_BS_246px_v1.jpg

Playing Career

Adelaide: 6 games, 4 goals

Collingwood: 4 games, 1 goal

Geelong: 199 games, 29 goals

Coaching Career

Geelong: Asst Coach 2007- Premiership Year

Port Adel: Asst Coach 2006

Posted

I thought this was meant to be realistic?

How then have 10 idiots voted for Matthews??

And Malthouse isn't even an option!

Posted

I'm throwing in with Viney. Outside of Clarkson and Malthouse the alternatives don't get me excited at all.

I'd be happy with two years of Todd teaching these kids the meaning of hard, contested 'bleed-for-the-jumper' footy.

Posted

As mentioned, I am assuming those that aren't available, really aren't available.ie Malthouse

Matthews was being tossed around quite a bit and ther'e no contracts/agreements preventing him from doing the job.

Posted

I'm throwing in with Viney. Outside of Clarkson and Malthouse the alternatives don't get me excited at all.

I'd be happy with two years of Todd teaching these kids the meaning of hard, contested 'bleed-for-the-jumper' footy.

however he does not want the job RR

Posted

He didn't really say that, because it hasn't been offered to him. He merely talked about his 'tenure' for the 5 weeks. Have a watch of his press conference again from last week. His unwillingness to coach next year is hugely unconvincing for mine. My preferred coach.....TODD VINEY. Experienced coach talk aside, he's just what we need.

Posted

Voted Lethal, mainly because I didn't like the others, especially Laidley.

My view on it is that we need someone who is respected from the moment they walk through the door. I have no doubt our senior players will go to a different level if this were the case. This would be someone who, while the players may feel slightly intimidated by, has a decent coaching record and a hostory of getting every ounce of goodness out of his team. Laidley DOES NOT meet this criteria. It's about creating a culture, or perhaps more accurately, changing the culture (and attitudes of some players).

There are a select few that would be able to walk in to a Club, and have the players busting their gut to earn the respect of the coach. That's what this team need to go forward. A "rookie" coach (Sanderson, Neeld, etc) would spend the first 12 months trying to earn the respect of the players, which is not where we need to be for the next few seasons.

Posted

Yeah how ridiculous to vote for a four time premiership coach who is one of the hardest blokes to have played / coached. Why would we possibly want someone like that ?

Posted (edited)

I'm not sure about that OldDee.

Get Brett Kirk down there as well and perhaps a very smart footy brain like Brendan Mcartney from Geelong (who I think Tweed Pig suggested).

Viney/Kirk/Mcartney

This club needs a change of culture and it needs tough, inspirational men to instill it.

Edited by Range Rover
Posted

Dean Wallis.

Get him back as head coach.

Bloke will coach premierships.

You mean Sean Wellman?

Wallis went from Freo to Ess.

You seem rather certain of a Premiership coach you don't know the name of...

Funny...

Posted

I'm not sure about that OldDee.

Get Brett Kirk down there as well and perhaps a very smart footy brain like Brendan Mcartney from Geelong (who I think Tweed Pig suggested).

Viney/Kirk/Mcartney

This club needs a change of culture and it needs tough, inspirational men to instill it.

I know nothing is cast in concrete RR.

But the guy has said on National TV "He is not interested beyond his caretaker roll till the end of this season"

In the last week I have seen nothing to change that view.

Posted

Only a fool would rule out our best candidate without even asking him.

Posted (edited)

Whomever the coach turns out to be I can only hope a somewhat more no nonsense , less holistic approach is taken. I cant help but feel some players have had too long a leash and far to much largesse . It became all too cosy and predicatable. Im happy for anyone who can knock a real sense of purpose with urgency into this team

It doesnt have to be frire and brimstone....just very fair dinkum ;)

Edited by belzebub59
Posted

Scott Watters name is one i reckon could get mentioned . Did very well with Subiaco and in his second year at Collingwood as an assistant . Seems to have big wraps...

Posted

I know nothing is cast in concrete RR.

But the guy has said on National TV "He is not interested beyond his caretaker roll till the end of this season"

In the last week I have seen nothing to change that view.

If that is what he said word for word old dee, he has left the door ajar.