Scully a chance to play this weekend

Tommys Back!!! Whoooo Hoooo :)

Scully said at the aftermatch function at the Wharf Hotel that he was a pretty good chance to play in the VFL this weekend.

So I assume that'd be the plan if he's right to go..

Stuff the VFL.

Play him as the sub on Friday night. If we don't see him Friday night I can't wait for the following week our midfield will be Scully, Trengove, Gysberts, McKenzie, Evans plus a few older boys Moloney, Sylvia, Jones.

Would love to be there to hear the roar of the members when he runs on to the MCG for the first time this year. Be it against Carlton, Essendon or Collingwood (did mention a few weeks ago that I didn't expect his return to be this match, it may well be), that roar will be our way of saying "You are a true Demon, and will be forever".

Sadly I wont be there, but would like to think the other 35,000+ members will make up for me. You wont get that sh!t out at Rooty Hill.

This is the best news in ages, maybe give him a game in the VFL, couldnt stand him being pushed to hard, in saying this 9 weeks is a decent rest

• Author

Would love to be there to hear the roar of the members when he runs on to the MCG for the first time this year. Be it against Carlton, Essendon or Collingwood (did mention a few weeks ago that I didn't expect his return to be this match, it may well be), that roar will be our way of saying "You are a true Demon, and will be forever".

Sadly I wont be there, but would like to think the other 35,000+ members will make up for me. You wont get that sh!t out at Rooty Hill.

I would love that too.

Personally, I hope we can get 65,000 because we're playing Carlton. We got a shade under 50 last year on a Sat arvo, but with the form the Blues are in...

This is the best news in ages, maybe give him a game in the VFL, couldnt stand him being pushed to hard, in saying this 9 weeks is a decent rest

The problem with Scully is the club will never push him too hard, he pushes himself so whether he plays at Casey or Melbourne this guy can't help but work hard. At least having him as a sub we can limit his game time.

One spark can start a prarie fire! While I don't expect an immediate impact from Scully I can only hope his return (whether this week or the next) can trigger a turnaround in a fortunes this year ...

You can't limit the time a sub spends as you can't control if and when an injury may occur (i.e. last week tappy in the first brought Bate on for most of the game).

Tom should play VFL if he can't go a whole game.

It will a big ask for him to come back straight to the AFL after a chronic knee injury and having 12 weeks off. I reckon they will play him in the VFL.

The problem with Scully is the club will never push him too hard, he pushes himself so whether he plays at Casey or Melbourne this guy can't help but work hard. At least having him as a sub we can limit his game time.

Cause we're soft, we are choir boys and we give up....Its not a problem with Scully. :rolleyes:

More so because as said he pushes himself, and the problem is with him pushing himself to hard, but yes a nice dig at the club

Stuff the VFL, play him as the sub on Friday night. If we don't see him Friday night I can't wait for the following week our midfield will be Scully, Trengove, Gysberts, McKenzie, Evans plus a few older boys Moloney, Sylvia, Jones.

Im starting to get excited again!

Hopefully after Davey serves his time in the VFL he comes back flying! Hopefully...

Great news. Put him in the VFL and then hopefully he does enough to get through.

Scully and Trengove both due to return should put the pressure on a few of our midfielders. Especially up against Carlton I'll be looking forward to seeing what Jones, Moloney, Sylvia, Evans, McKenzie, Gysberts and Jetta can produce.

Im starting to get excited again!

Hopefully after Davey serves his time in the VFL he comes back flying! Hopefully...

Davey has to play. His last game at the G was a ripper against Adelaide. Only 2 weeks ago. Scully should play if he thinks he is up to it.

Surely youd run him in the magoos . Blow some cobwebs, get some matchfitness.

As seductive an idea as Scully playing in Red and Blue is logic suggests easing him back to the fray.

I can't wait to see the top 4 from the '09 draft play in the one team

Edited by NC MFC

I hope he plays. No VFL.

I'm in the "play him at Casey" match, he's still very young and as much as he is a quality young player, I'm sure he will be rusty and I'd rather ease him into it and get him some math fitness.

Has never played for Casey... and if he is to play would have loved the club to name him at the last minute, just for the whole Scully factor, Carlton wouldnt be prepared for it etc, create some buzz

To a lesser degree would maybe help us hit a high 55-60K+ at the G this friday, not that this is a reason for playing him

If the Kid is truly Fit & ready to go, play him off the Bench Friday night.

Some players do not need a run in the Magoo's. I feel Tom maybe one of those.