Posted

I just watched this kids video clip for the 10th time

The new version on the MFC site is better quality and seems longer

Boy, this has to be the best highlights video for a draftee ever

This kid has got everything, kicking, marking, recovery, second efforts, lateral movement, pace, judgement,you name it

Yeah, I know its just highlights, but I'm getting really excited

Lets hope his form translates to the big league and he's picked for round 1

Imagine him and Jurrah tearing it up - I can't wait

• Replies 76

Posted

Aaron davey talking to him on the phone for ten minutes? is there a chance thats cause hes the new skipper?

Petterd had lunch with Howe and also has been spending alot of time with Jack Viney.

Who says we dont have any leaders?

Posted

Aaron davey talking to him on the phone for ten minutes? is there a chance thats cause hes the new skipper?

He did that because he is a leader, not because of some duty related to captaincy.

He may get it, and things like that is the reason why.

Posted

He did that because he is a leader, not because of some duty related to captaincy.

He may get it, and things like that is the reason why.

Agree (of course). These are the sorts of things good leaders do, it's not some task assigned to the guy with the title of 'captain'.

On Davey, whenever I think 'Davey as captain', I start thinking "arguing with the umpire and giving away a 50m and certain goal", which happened more than once in 2010. He's one of our best players and is obviously respected at the club, so he probably deserves a better assessment than that, but that's all that springs to mind. If I were choosing captains, he'd not be in the running for this reason.

Posted

Agree (of course). These are the sorts of things good leaders do, it's not some task assigned to the guy with the title of 'captain'.

On Davey, whenever I think 'Davey as captain', I start thinking "arguing with the umpire and giving away a 50m and certain goal", which happened more than once in 2010. He's one of our best players and is obviously respected at the club, so he probably deserves a better assessment than that, but that's all that springs to mind. If I were choosing captains, he'd not be in the running for this reason.

I agree Nasher, he has had plenty of time to rub this part of his game out but hasn't. Numerous times I have sworn his name when this happens. A very good player and probably a very good leader, but I can't see him as captain of the MFC and mainly for this reason.

Posted

I agree Nasher, he has had plenty of time to rub this part of his game out but hasn't. Numerous times I have sworn his name when this happens. A very good player and probably a very good leader, but I can't see him as captain of the MFC and mainly for this reason.

Totally agree. It's a real shame.

Posted

I have another reason. In my opinion a captain needs a certain degree of toughness and I don't see it with flash. It would be soul destroying for a team, seeing their captain getting roughed up by the opposition and I could see that happening to flash, as it has in the past.

Posted

According to TV we were thinking about taking Howe at 53 because many didn't know about him, but we got wind of Collingwood's intentions to take him.

They thought they'd pulled a swifty, bringing him over from tassie for a secret testing.

After the draft a couple of other teams said they were onto him too, & were waiting to pounce.

I think we should be pretty happy with this pick.

Posted

According to TV we were thinking about taking Howe at 53 because many didn't know about him, but we got wind of Collingwood's intentions to take him.

They thought they'd pulled a swifty, bringing him over from tassie for a secret testing.

After the draft a couple of other teams said they were onto him too, & were waiting to pounce. I think we should be pretty happy with this pick.

I suspect that's probably right, though given that there was a 5 page thread on him over on the Richmond board at Bigfooty, you wonder just how much of a smokey he actually was!

There's certainly some gamesmanship at play.

Posted

I have another reason. In my opinion a captain needs a certain degree of toughness and I don't see it with flash. It would be soul destroying for a team, seeing their captain getting roughed up by the opposition and I could see that happening to flash, as it has in the past.

Indeed, and that probably boils down to the same point about his temperament. Players who are "roughed up" would usually be the ones who react negatively.

Posted

I reckon Jeremy Howe will become a real Cult Hero at the MCG. Other Clubs are quietly very dark we got him.

Always good to have a "sparky" on the list anyway. Never know when the power goes off!! B)

Posted

If we're basing the captaincy on temperament and not giving away silly free kicks, well then Green wins hands down by a country mile out of the four nominees.

Out of the four nominees - Moloney & Rivers are the ones who can handle a stoush and not be roughed up. I've seen Green go to ground once too often.

Posted

If we're basing the captaincy on temperament and not giving away silly free kicks, well then Green wins hands down by a country mile out of the four nominees.

Out of the four nominees - Moloney & Rivers are the ones who can handle a stoush and not be roughed up. I've seen Green go to ground once too often.

I think Rivers talks back and gets involved in the trash talk a bit too much. Gave away a couple of goals last year by talking back to umpires.

Posted

Howe thought Collingwood was going to take him. Melbourne were late to the party, but made a great choice. Howe is still growing, which means he could hit the KP 193-194 mark.

Coleman Medal Winners

Lloyd 192

Fevola 191

Lockett 191

Modra 188

Dunstall 188

Hudson 188

Jakovich 187

Ablett Snr 185

Jesaulenko 182

Posted

I think Rivers talks back and gets involved in the trash talk a bit too much. Gave away a couple of goals last year by talking back to umpires.

you get sacked at the Filth if you dont pass TrashTalk101

Posted

Seems like a good kid from the interview on the MFC site, even if he was a collingwood supporter.

Won't take long for his nickname to settle in either.

Posted

where did you get your display pic from?

Posted

Seems like a good kid from the interview on the MFC site, even if he was a collingwood supporter.

Won't take long for his nickname to settle in either.

His nickname is Bucks. That will change fast!