View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Players at the cross-roads

Posted

With the new draftees coming in who do you think has to have a good season?

Name 3

1. Maric: With tapscott being picked up as well as wonaeamirri hopefully coming back from injury he must consolidate a place in this team.

2. Garland: Dramatically losing value. Appeared to be very good but Frawley has over taken him, martin will keep his spot and warnock and rivers will always play competitive footy. Garland must stay fit.

3. Dunn: Will get delisted unless they put him forward and he shows his worth.

How long is a piece of string ?

To me, I cannot name 3. Well the truth be known I could, but I would be leaving out at least 15 others.

Every player on the list must try and achieve their best in 2010. The club would be of the opinion there are no free passengers, everyone should contribute one way or another.

For example, you mention Maric - but I would include Wonaeamirri alongside him. There is no free ride for those who have been out injured as far as I am concerned.

I'd say the same for Garland & Rivers. No hesitation.

• Author

this is by no means a 'how long is a piece of string' question. Bruce and Green etc could play horribly all season and most likely still not face delisting. All of the new draftees are the same as they have time on their side. So therefore there are some people in between that due risk delisting, UNLIKE others, if they put in a poor season.

Bell

Dunn

Batram

With the new draftees coming in who do you think has to have a good season?

Name 3

1. Maric: With tapscott being picked up as well as wonaeamirri hopefully coming back from injury he must consolidate a place in this team.

2. Garland: Dramatically losing value. Appeared to be very good but Frawley has over taken him, martin will keep his spot and warnock and rivers will always play competitive footy. Garland must stay fit.

3. Dunn: Will get delisted unless they put him forward and he shows his worth.

Players that should be worried

Bartrum

Bell

Miller

Mcdonald

Bruce

Johnson

Bail

Meesen

Newton

Healey

Spencer

Hughes

The Dirty Dozon

these are the players, i'd be happy to part with next year,,,,,,,, to bring in the NEW.

How long was Bartram's contract extended by?

1. Bell.

Although I don't really think he is at a "Crossroads." He has walked passed the crossroads and has been heading south for a long time now.

2. Miller.

Writing is on the door with only a one year extension on his contract.

3. PJ

Has not shown enough in previous years to warrant him staying on if he doesn't stand up in 2010.

This is my top 3, clearly Newton and Meeson are not required past 2010.

Bail will have to at least show something. Not bagging the guy out, because he could be up to it. But his contract will be out and he won't get the advantage that higher draft picks get of staying on the list for potential.

I disagree with Freak on Maric. While he has not shown much at the highest level yet, there would still be about 5 people delisted next year ahead of him.

Maric will be safe at the end of 2010. However I really hope to see a lot more from him this year. Because he hasn't shown anything to justify why he was rated highly as a junior.

Edited by Davis333

Players that should be worried

Bartrum

Bell

Miller

Mcdonald

Bruce

Johnson

Bail

Meesen

Newton

Healey

Spencer

Hughes

The Dirty Dozon

these are the players, i'd be happy to part with next year,,,,,,,, to bring in the NEW.

Very good list except for bruce. he is star and there is no way he should be sent packing

Hey Ingo, do you have a baby too? Or just insomnia?

I agree, it's been weeks since Garland has played AFL

Given the stage we are at, you would think that younger players (Maric, Bail, and Spencer) would get another contract purely out of potential. The real worry for the other bunch is that they have had enough time to prove their worth, and if they do not have a solid 2010....well we know what happens.

Bartram- Should be here in 2011, one of the few taggers we have that can run with and will be needed on a matchup basis to shutdown ball magnets.

Bell- Injuries have destroyed his career, is one more injury off being cut. Has the heart to win back fans, but the odds are against him with new backline competition emerging (Fetta, Grimes)

Miller- Miller is warming a seat for the next gen of forwards. If Watts, Jurrah and co can get a concrete spot in the front 6, you would think frosty might be in trouble. If not Miller will ger another year, he works hard and is a marking option so he would be retained.

Mcdonald- Heart and soul of the club! Also no longer Junior. May hang up the boots, but if he has the desire to play he may go around one more time.

Bruce- Will be here in 2011. No argument.

Johnson- If Spencer/Gawn/Fitzy can cut in some mins in the ruck...things look bleak for Johnno.

Bail- Has had a tough run with injuries, would think the club would perceiver beyond 2010 regardless just to see what they have (or havent) got.

Meesen- In Big trouble, is behind Paul Johnson which is not a good place to be. Gone in 2011.

Newton- Last chance......really, 2010 is it unless he can put it together. Gone in 2011

Healey- Won't get a game, gone in 2011.

Spencer- Needs plenty of work, can push for a spot on the list if good in 2010, or if he takes a step back he could be sent packing with the dees taking 2 ruck prospects.

Hughes- Has had plenty of chances, cut down by many injuries which will end his AFL dream. Gone in 2011.

Garland, so long as he can get himself right with the injury, is nowhere near the cross-roads.

In fact, he is in my top 5 most important players at the club.

Garland, so long as he can get himself right with the injury, is nowhere near the cross-roads.

In fact, he is in my top 5 most important players at the club.

Agreed

Garland along with Frawley and Warnock are the chassis of our backline

At the end of 2010, I reckon Junior will retire. PJ, Bell, Bail, Bartram, Miller, TMac and Cheney are out of contract with no certainty of renewal.

Meesen and Newton are already on the "rookie" list and should be careful planning their 2011 season. Barring a miracle, they wont be at MFC once their contracts expiry.

Unless Garland's injury is deemed terminal to his career, he wont be cut at the end of 2010.

If you look beyond the contracts, if a player is not best 22, fit or in their first season in 2010 then they are at the "cross roads" because I would like to think there will be no easy positions and every spot will be heavily contested each week.

Your inclusion of Garland in your list is an abomination.

I have it from a very reliable source that Garland is over his injury and is running again, he will play this year.

May not be playing in the back line though.

I have it from a very reliable source that Garland is over his injury and is running again, he will play this year.

May not be playing in the back line though.

iv been to training 3 to 4 times now RF and i havnt seen Garland running at all, im going again nxt week so i will keep my eye on him and give you a update mate.

Hughes- Has had plenty of chances, cut down by many injuries which will end his AFL dream. Gone in 2011.

Hughes has had no chances. He's never played a senior game. However most of the coaching staff have said at different stages that he is a part of their future plans. Given that there is now talk of using next years draft to elevate rookies, I would think he's going to find himself on the senior list in 2011.

My 3:

Bell

Bartram

Miller

Maric: Will find it hard get gametime with the return of Wona and the new recruits. Needs to become more than a smart forward.

Rivers: The return of Garland, entry of McDonald and maturing of TMac will put pressure on him in the back 6.

Petterd: Although provided some good cameo forward roles in 09 needs have more consistent impact and add more strings to his bow to remain in our starting 22.

Edited by big_red_fire_engine

I cant believe people are mentioning Rivers and especially Garland. It makes no sense really.

I would say Dunn, Johnson, Miller & Bartram.

Edited by deestroyers

iv been to training 3 to 4 times now RF and i havnt seen Garland running at all, im going again nxt week so i will keep my eye on him and give you a update mate.

Look forward to that.

The whole club's at the crossroads. Fail from here and we're in the Poo big time. :o

Cheney - has to play a few good games OR improve speed OR skills otherwise will be too far down the order to persist with

Bartram - has to play a few good games AND show an improved skill level to persist with

Bell - has to play some good games AND show improved skill and decision making

Miller - has to show improvement, particularly getting more possessions and kicking more goals

Mcdonald - body will be in trouble, he'll need to stay fit and play 12 or more decent games

Johnson - Alot depends on other ruck prospects, but at the very least will need to play 12 AFL games. 08 form will probably be adequate

Bail - needs to show something, consisted footy for Casey and possibly at least a couple of AFL games might be needed

Rookies

Meesen - will need to recover from injury, a lot depends on other ruck prospects

Spencer - once again depends on other ruck prospects, but will need to regularly play good VFL footy and show more at AFL

Newton - needs a miracle

Healey - needs to be playing Casey seniors and rivaling more highly rated midfield prospects who will be playing for Casey (ie. Gysberts, Jetta, McKenzie, Strauss)

Hughes - anything short of an AFL debut will not do enough

Virtually everyone who is born before 1989 and is not in our best 25.

Hughes has had no chances. He's never played a senior game. However most of the coaching staff have said at different stages that he is a part of their future plans. Given that there is now talk of using next years draft to elevate rookies, I would think he's going to find himself on the senior list in 2011.

Dude, seriously he has been rookie listed in 2007 then after a year off was re-rookie listed again. Every rookie has had a chance given the amount of injuries and rebuilding that has taken place. Shane Valenti got a run, along with Spencer and McKenzie. If Hughes was fit he still would have not been up to it given his VFL form. Valenti is already gone, and Spencer is a big unknown.

I like the guy, but be realistic, injuries have curtailed his career and nothing short of a miracle is going to keep him on this list beyond 2010.

I truly hope he can get his body right, however his track record indicates that he will not be able to get his body/form right to the level required to squeeze into an emerging demons side.