Jared Rivers - season over

Posted

Melbourne defender Jared Rivers' year is over

Melbourne listed Rivers as a four-to-six-week absentee this week, but Demons coach Dean Bailey yesterday conceded his season was over.

"Unless there is a magical cure for him, I don't think he will be back playing football this year," Bailey said.

Back in cotton wool and hopefully an injury free remainder of his career from 2009 onwards.

Why do I know his career is over? I thought ages ago if he could not get through 75% of this season he will prob never will or leave, go tot he crows and be fine ala scott thompson.

If there are footy gods, we are their most hated.

Why do I know his career is over? I thought ages ago if he could not get through 75% of this season he will prob never will or leave, go tot he crows and be fine ala scott thompson.

If there are footy gods, we are their most hated.

Obviously you're not an optimist like Demon Head who wrote the match preview for the game v Lions. :wub:

Not when it comes to certain players. Seen too many of our good players cut down, ie tingay, schwartz

He's almost now an unknown quantity.

Think about it when Martin, Warnock and Garland have secured the 3 kpp back posts. Next year we will have this newcomer who can come in pick up the 3rd tall and peel off whenever he wants.

His career is NOT over.

You're allowed to miss 2 years with injury at his age. He'll be back and we need to send out some positive vibes!!!

The fact they've added him to the leadership group is a testimony to his importance to our club. We are not giving up on him by any stretch of the imagination and neither should supporters.

And thank god common sense has prevailed and Yze is gone from the leadership group. Great inclusions too with Green, Davey, Moloney and Rivers. Oh and course, Brock McLean back in his rightful place!

We seriously need someone down at the club who knows how to deal with groin injuries and the dreaded OP. Sure rest is the best medicine, but there has to be someone out there who can help fix the curse of OP at the MFC.

His career is NOT over.

You're allowed to miss 2 years with injury at his age.

While his career is indeed not over, his future is indeed not certain and the recovery from OP is not clear.

As AFL is getting quicker, game styles changing and is more demanding of players, I dont think there is any age that you can miss 1 year let alone 2 years of AFL.

He would not want to blighted by OP for a 3rd year.

We seriously need someone down at the club who knows how to deal with groin injuries and the dreaded OP. Sure rest is the best medicine, but there has to be someone out there who can help fix the curse of OP at the MFC.

post-2058-1214526796_thumb.jpg

I'll happily swing a chicken if it gets Jared fit again!

According to Bailey, it's his stomach muscles NOT his groin. This guy just can't take a trick, why is it that when we get a real GENUINE talent he always gets cut down by injury. Can he please just be allowed to play!

PS good to see they've reviewed the leadership group, Green, Davey, Beamer, Rivers, and Brocky are all great additions.

Trade him for a top 10 pick.

Whilst I hope he recovers..as do I Beamer.... I would certainly entertain any serious offers.

Ssometimes you have to cut you losses. You can do business on sentiment...I'll do it on the percentages !!

Whilst I hope he recovers..as do I Beamer.... I would certainly entertain any serious offers.

Ssometimes you have to cut you losses. You can do business on sentiment...I'll do it on the percentages !!

You are right in principle.

But what and at what level are serious offers likely to be given for player whose last 2 years have been wrecked by OP and is uncertain in recovery? I doubt anyone would offer good picks for him. If his injury means he would only get a 3rd round or less (if any) then I reckon its a line ball whether you would be better off retaining Rivers, getting him fit and seeing what he can deliver.

Its a hard one. And he would not want to miss another year.

Ahh..well now you do really hit to the core ..lol. This is something most wont likel..You will need to temper lofty expectatins with the reality that if youre( as a club ) are a bit uss ) then quite rationally others will be too.

Again we come back to the 'weighting 'of all things. We have to weigh his value ( and others ) we have to weigh teh offer..and we have to weigh teh 'loading " any offer has in view of the reality this is the last fair and open draft for some years. Without doubt some serious cranial crunching of variables. None of which I could see satisfying teh most ardent of Rivers supporter.

Its whats best for the club, not whats best for him...its a cruel world as Flaco would say !!

A third round pick on its own probably wont hold sway... If hes part of somethigmore complex...well....we'd have to look....at least look !!

may the tirades begin !! :rolleyes:

His career is NOT over.

You're allowed to miss 2 years with injury at his age. He'll be back and we need to send out some positive vibes!!!

The fact they've added him to the leadership group is a testimony to his importance to our club. We are not giving up on him by any stretch of the imagination and neither should supporters.

And thank god common sense has prevailed and Yze is gone from the leadership group. Great inclusions too with Green, Davey, Moloney and Rivers. Oh and course, Brock McLean back in his rightful place!

Rivers has one more shot.... next year he will be either traded or delisted, i would think if he cant keep himself fit....

why should we not give up on him.... he is suppose to be one of the most imporant players on the field for us

yet hes missed how many games. if he is not doin wat he is payed for (playing footy) his future should be considered.

Trade him for a top 10 pick.

Would if we could mate lol

Think Rivers' career is pretty much over. He's barely played since 2005, was in average form then anyway, and the game has changed since them. It's faster, more taxing on the body, and he's going to struggle to keep up even if he is fully fit. Sad to see such a talented player cut down. We've had a few of them in our time havent we :unsure: