View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Teams vs St Kilda - Round 10

I have a feeling we're going to get thumped this week...

Correct. Nothing worse than a Melbourne team coming off an honourable loss. Especially when the oppostion have been slammed by the media all week.

Is it just me that thinks that Morton is being rested this week (no Sandy game), and the bit about the flu is just a ruse to avert any stigma with him actually being dropped.

I think Valenti would have matched up well to St mid-field.

I was thinking that, considering they're not too quick.

Probably good for Morton to have a rest - I'd prefer it this game rather than next!

St.Kildas rich history

I think Valenti would have matched up well to St mid-field. I don't see Bode or Johnson doing that.

Not happy with Valenti's omission. :angry:

Agree. Unless Grimes has returned from injury. Anyone know the Sandy sides?

I have a feeling we're going to get thumped this week...

Don't be so sure. This is what used to happen with Melbourne, an honourable loss followed by massive one. But this group under Bailey...there is a definitive drive to constanly improve.

Well on cales facebook his status says sick with a sad face so i guess he is.....sick. Wont hurt to have a week off anyway. I was really hoping Maric could of been given a go this week because of Daveys absence. I am not sure if we are going to get to see Maric all season ...?

Lame.

Hey, he's getting you first-hand information, don't complain :lol:

But yes, people should really stop stalking footballers on Facebook... bit creepy!

Well on cales facebook his status says sick with a sad face so i guess he is.....sick. Wont hurt to have a week off anyway. I was really hoping Maric could of been given a go this week because of Daveys absence. I am not sure if we are going to get to see Maric all season ...?

I too had this thought until I remembered in the pre-season there was talk that we wouldn't play him this year due to him being in Year 12 and completing his VCE.

Don't like seeing Bode, CJ and Bell all getting named over Valenti, against a slow midfield too. No mention of Robbo's injury last night on the footy show and he seemed to walk alright.

Hey, he's getting you first-hand information, don't complain :lol:

But yes, people should really stop stalking footballers on Facebook... bit creepy!

Yes, it is a bit freaky.

As for the flu skeptics...there is definately a nasty one going around. I'm normally resistant to them but got laid very low with this one and it turned into a pericardial effussion.

So take care Cale and get well soon.

West Coast were pretty upfront with the omission of their main young gun, Chris Masten, leaving him out because of 'general soreness'. Theres no shame in simply saying you're giving a young kid a rest.

I think Valenti would have matched up well to St mid-field. I don't see Bode or Johnson doing that.

Not happy with Valenti's omission. :angry:

Bode and Johnson will be the outside replacements for Morton and Davey, a role that Valenti can't play. I'm not happy to see him dropped either, but it's obviously a team balance issue.

But if Bode and Johnson are the replacements for Davey and Morton, then why would Valenti be dropped for balance? That doesn't make sense

B: Matthew Warnock, Colin Garland, Daniel Bell

HB: James Frawley, Ben Holland, Cameron Bruce

C: Clint Bartram, Brock McLean, Matthew Bate

HF: Brad Green, Russell Robertson, Brent Moloney

F: Simon Buckley, Brad Miller, Austin Wonaeamirri

Foll: Jeff White, James McDonald, Nathan Jones

I/C (from): Jace Bode, Lynden Dunn, Chris Johnson,Colin Sylvia, Paul Wheatley, Paul Johnson, Adem Yze

Assuming the 18 stays as is.

My bench would be:

PJ (need the backup ruckman)

Sylvia (is best 22)

CJ (Sandy form deserving)

Yze (Sandy form deserving, plus forward livewire replacement for Davey)

I would love Wheatley to play but unfortunately I reckon Bails will do his usual game at Sandy before playing thing.

Dunn needs to do something at Sandy, he is def AFL standard, just out of form.

Go away Bode.

Strangely confident this week.

If Bode plays I'll be a very angry man. CJ I don't rate but he's shown good form in the VFL and that should always be rewarded.

Bode and Johnson will be the outside replacements for Morton and Davey, a role that Valenti can't play. I'm not happy to see him dropped either, but it's obviously a team balance issue.

...except Valenti was already in the side - it's not that he wasn't selected, it was that he's dropped.

If you want to argue that it's team balance, you need to argue that we were unbalanced last week. If so, mono would probably be of the opinion that since St. Kilda's relatively slow in the midfield, Valenti probably matches up as well as, if not better than, against other teams.

Bode and CJ replacing Davey and Morton? That doesn't fill me with confidence. There's a huge drop in ability there.

Davey out is a massive blow probably the reason why Valenti is out. With Davey out we are probably as slow as them now. I think Frawley is very lucky to still be in the team he is becoming the new Carroll getting belted every week and still keeping his spot. I think the bench will be : Yze, C.Johnson(both players form over the last month unfortunately warrant a return), Sylvia(form was good enough last week), P.Johnson. Wheatley should be rested to make sure his calf is 100% right. Bode(has been more consistant) to come in if we have a late withdrawal, Dunn to come in if we have 2.

If CJ plays, he has no choice but tp produce. This is his last chance at AFL level.

Last game he played (Round 3 or 4) he was like a deer in headlights, which is abysmal for someone whose been in the league for 4 years.

Speaking of not seeing Maric, when are we ever going to see Juice?

good to see my mate mcevoy get a call up! he trained with us last year when we went to wang.

hope he plays [censored] though

interesting, Ben Holland has been dropped, named emergency with Bode and C. Johnson... this suggests that Dunn will play forward...

final side...

Melbourne Team

Backs: M.Warnock, C.Garland, D.Bell

Half backs: J. Frawley, P.Wheatley, C.Bruce

Centreline: C.Bartram, B.McLean, M.Bate

Half forwards: B.Green, R.Robertson, B.Moloney

Forwards: S.Buckley, B.Miller, A.Wonaeamirri

Followers: J.Whie, J.McDonald, N.Jones

Interchange: L.Dunn, C.Sylvia, , P Johnson, A.Yze

Emergencies: J.Bode, C.Johnson, Holland

Team Changes

In: Yze, White, Sylvia, Wheatley, Dunn

Out: Holland, Davey Valenti, Jamar, Morton

After last week's performance, Holland is unlucky to be dropped, if he has and as mentioned above not a late change for Robbo who looked an unlikely starter.

He has a good record v Saints as a forward - may well be a ruse.