Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 05 vs Essendon

3 minutes ago, Sideshow Bob said:

Steve Irwin Danger GIF

Official Danger game. Any hint of complacency and we will get done. Bring out out all the cliches. Keep the [censored] lid on, no drinking any bathwater of any kind least of all your own. https://demonland.com/forums/topic/67214-pregame-rd-05-vs-essendon/?do=findComment&comment=2767825

Obviously they didn't heed my warning 5 days ago..

Saw it comming, but honestly thought we were past this kinda [censored]

Looked slow and no energy, pressure way down, not sure why we don’t use another ruck Heath with 5 on the bench which wasn’t the difference, it’s been said by many posters by such a typical MFC loss to a bottom team, it’s only 5 games in for King but the player attitude looked poor, needs to drop a few but the VFL have another bye! The older players looked like a huge cattle train slow

Lmao, Tottenham condemned to 18th this morning against West Ham, a side I hate as much as Essendon and Dees losing and struggling against a side they should beat.

Story of my life.

Why has Petty been moved forward? He takes marks up the ground but can’t mark or kick a goal to save his life. Tmac needs to be dropped and a big fan of Roo but his been quiet the last few weeks and players in the vfl have been playing well. Hard to take players out due to Casey having the second bye this week and makes it hard for players to be consistent in vfl to push a case but I do believe there needs to be some change at selection this week

Can someone tell the club gather round is about playing a game of footy? Not just a leisure travel .

Otherwise we may as well start every season 0-1 (forfeit the damn thing!)

Save our supporters some hard earned money (very expensive to go there to watch this abomination).

6 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Outplayed and outcoached to allow 126 extra uncontested possessions means you are not picking up an opponent and allow them to move the ball at their speed. One only has to look at the Pies, and I know they have not set the world on fire, but when they don't have the ball in hand, they sprint to the opponent even if it's 10 metres away to apply pressure to the ball carrier. Salem's effort on Kaco before halftime showed that it was weak. There are still a lot of faults to fix, and it looked like players going into old-style plays, but King has seen some good and the ugly today. They will learn to adjust; I'm just not sure they can do it with Salem, McDonald, and Lever in the backline. Howes is still learning, and Turner gives his all. Yes, it was disappointing, and one can hope the coaches learn from it and make the adjustments next week, which will tell us that.

Great point about the pies. I think McRae is setting them up for future seasons now to get in front of the way the game is played. They put an absolute premium on shutting down the next possession and you see them handing over oppo players to the next player down the line in order to pressure the ball receiver.

1 minute ago, VNightCityLegend said:

Lmao, Tottenham condemned to 18th this morning against West Ham, a side I hate as much as Essendon and Dees losing and struggling against a side they should beat.

Story of my life.

Tell me, FCB lost the first leg against Atlético Madrid. 😭

4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Age of TMac, Melksham, Salem, Mihocek really Stood out.

Checkers was the best out of all of them. He also did play on 2 to try give Roo space that sometimes goes unnoticed but overall not a good game for many which is disappointing against a space like Essendon

With a bit of perspective, I know I'd still rather be 3 & 2 this season, than 1 & 4 and / or 1 & 17.

Still think we can beat Brisbane at the MCG next week. We lost. Reset, reload and let's keep moving forward towards another premiership.

2 minutes ago, VNightCityLegend said:

Story of my life.

Melbourne & Tottenham

I thought I was alone !!

1 minute ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

With a bit of perspective, I know I'd still rather be 3 & 2 this season, than 1 & 4 and / or 1 & 17.

Still think we can beat Brisbane at the MCG next week. We lost. Reset, reload and let's keep moving forward towards another premiership.

We have a very slim chance.

We could've been 4-1 coming high on confidence and a established way of playing footy.

Hard to see us bringing our best next week. They will be psychologically scarred after today.

I am of the belief everything happens for a reason and hoping this loss gives the boys a reality check as well as shows king what they need to work on. Better it happening early in the season

Just now, Dees051321 said:

I am of the belief everything happens for a reason and hoping this loss gives the boys a reality check as well as shows king what they need to work on. Better it happening early in the season

Wasn't Freo and Carlton a reality check?

Just unacceptable what they dished up today.

13 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Need to do a welfare check on Ghosty.

Assume she is at the casino spending her considerable winnings!

42 minutes ago, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

It's so [censored] infurating how Essendon look like a completely different team every time we play them in Adelaide. Hope we never get them on Gather Round again.

Watch them lose by 10 goals next week to rub some salt in the wound.

Haha this is my thoughts. Every damn year haha.

I wouldnt change our team all that much. Were going to have up and down weeks

1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Wasn't Freo and Carlton a reality check?

Just unacceptable what they dished up today.

You could say so but Essendon having a 17 game losing streak coming into the game and bottom of the ladder you’d expect us to win. Players seemed to have thought it would be a walk in the park which has happened way to often in years gone past heading intro these types of games

9 minutes ago, VNightCityLegend said:

Story of my life.

Personally I was very happy with our 4-0 victory over Wolves. Today however was garbage.

Does Essendon’s coach Scott always looks like he’s about to cry.. just asking for a friend?

In terms of Essendon. This game will be their grand final this year. No player would want to be involved with a record straight losses, so psychology, players are playing for their own ego’s and desperate to win. Watching on tv, they wanted it more. So many times on screen they outnumbered us.

Like most rebuildy teams, there is a large distance between our best and worst.

Onto next week.

11 goals to 2 in the second half about a rubbish young bombers team is inexcusable

Being tired after 4 games is nowhere near an excuse

Mentally soft performance

I struggle a bit with Jai Culley.

He can do some amazing things and look so good, but he has lots of moments in games that just makes it look like he doesn't care or isn't hungry. I reckon he would have run no more than 5km today. Absolute statue.

For a guy who's had to fight for the opportunity so hard, he just shows a very strange lack of desire.

I suppose he could be forgiven for taking a breath after getting a contract and finally off the tight rope, but I've seen it from him before. An enigma of a player.

The instruction from the umpires to The Coach was to play in front. You will be given the free kick or the mark. If you get caught behind do what you like because we will not pay any interference against you

Also you will not be penalised for kicking less than 15 mtrs. And we will make sure of the rest.

When you are on the mark take as long as you like to get set up down field you will be given extra seconds.

Interfere with every player you pass and you will be paid a free kick if it happens to you.

Enjoy your win.

25 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

Probably cos 75% of his hit outs and disposals go to opposition !!

I can’t say I disagree, but in many cases it is because our mids are not imposing themselves on the contest.

21 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Reader, no-one saw this coming from a mile away.

I did, hence why i tipped essendon in my tipping league.

My non dees mates couldnt believe it but i had a feeling we'd drop this one as is this club's habit to drop games like this especially to clubs like essendon.