View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 minutes ago, adonski said:

Very astute comment by Faux Phoenix. I reckon there's every chance we end up with the Giants first pick which is why we've gone so hard with the salary component

image.png

This is the absolute reality. We are not in a salary dump type of dilemma to accept a 3rd rounder coming back for 700k.

Just now, GS_1905 said:

This is the absolute reality. We are not in a salary dump type of dilemma to accept a 3rd rounder coming back for 700k.

Yep

Reckon the conversations would be something like

GWS take the full $, we receive a token late pick
GWS pay 75%, we receive a 2nd rounder
GWS pay 50%, we receive their first pick or something to that effect

I posted previously that Giants would be trading for $3.5m over 5 years rather than for Oliver

We were not winning games with Oliver and Tracc.

Spargs was injured and when fit rarely picked.

Clearly time to move on.

McVee a real loss.

GWS has Kelly with a dodgy hip expected to miss a fair wack of 2026 and Colniglio injury prone. So yep they would be very interested.

I agree with adonski. If we up up to 50% of salary then a 1st should come backto us.

39 minutes ago, mo64 said:

I agree that a handy player is more desirable than a 2nd rd pick, but the machinations of luring a decent GWS player needed to occur before King had the meeting with Clarry.

I don't believe that the decision to shop Clarry was solely King's. He's basically just walked through the door. The $700k pa we're paying would be a List Manager's decision, and something that was probably ratified by Guera and Green. Again, it's not a decision that's made on the spot after King's meeting with Clarry.

I don't have confidence in our List Manager to believe that we'll be adequately compensated for Clarry.

As I imply above, I think it's linked to our Trac trade and our (long) desire to land Humphrey.

37 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

It becomes pretty relevent pretty quickly if he's playing AA footy next year.

we would all need to have a serious think about WTF the MFC is doing so wrong, and why we couldn't help him return to form but someone else could.

I'll watch with interest either way

Question is, is Clarry being shopped around because we can't get the best out of him or is it more of a cultural decision?

I think we probably are gambling on him never returning to AA form, but it feels more like a clearing of the deck.

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Delusional. We are 100% forcing him out.

Was tongue in cheek lol. Of course we are

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Question is, is Clarry being shopped around because we can't get the best out of him or is it more of a cultural decision?

I think we probably are gambling on him never returning to AA form, but it feels more like a clearing of the deck.

I agree, i think we've probably realised we're out of the immediate flag window with Trac gone so it's about embracing a new strategic direction.

Even freeing up 700k of his money a year for example of his money combined with Tracs wage is serious pasos and we could re-shape the list to suit the new game plan.

King is a really aggressive guy, he won't muck around if he thinks big calls need to be made, i just hope this one doesn't come back to bite us.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

And what specifically makes you say that? all the information from the club is that this is simply about his role, and us not having a spot for him in the midfield.

If he's fallen off the wagon again in a big way i get it, but i've not seen any of the most credible posters on Demonland even vaguely hint anything like that has happened.

the optics of this suggest it's a football decision, which makes it a really big gamble

I’d agree we are trading the person. Hes a sap on our resources and a bad influence…. Allegedly

5 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie 2 said:

Taking the club for a ride eh? 4 Blueys, 2 coaches awards, All Australian teams, tries so hard every game he plays. And wants to remain a Demon. I wonder if you cheered when he kicked the third of the 'bang bangs' Or did you just think he is taking the club for a ride. Please show some respect for an absolute champion of our

Double, triple, quadruple agree with this!

12 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I’d say it’s a question of game style and his fit into it so probably more of your first assumption on lack of his -AA form

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

As a slight aside here ...

There's been a lot of mention of mental health in this thread.

Clarry apparently has ADHD. ADHD, like autism, dyslexia, dyspraxia etc. is not a mental health condition. Or any kind of health condition. These are a neurological differences which impact how these people treat information and interact with the world. They're disabilities, though as with all disabilities, support and environment can help reduce how disabling they are.

On the other hand, many people with these neurologies do indeed experience poor mental health because life can be a real struggle, even at the best of times.

So sure, Clarry needs to take responsibility for his actions, but he'll always be banging up against the way his brain is wired, which he can no more undo than anyone with a mobility impairment can get out of a wheelchair and walk.

Good luck to him at GWS, they seem to do OK at supporting players who don't always fit the AFL mould.

Absolutely... And a lot of the things Clarry has struggled with are struggles often experienced by people who have ADHD.

16 minutes ago, Harves said:

I’d agree we are trading the person. Hes a sap on our resources and a bad influence…. Allegedly

Petracca and Oliver are both being cleared for cultural reasons, albeit slightly different ones. Both moves are wholeheartedly supported from the top down to the playing group.

This is absolutely King clearing the deck and resetting the club.

2 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Petracca and Oliver are both being cleared for cultural reasons, albeit slightly different ones. Both moves are wholeheartedly supported from the top down to the playing group.

I’m in although a tad nervous.

1 minute ago, Roost it far said:

I’m in although a tad nervous.

Personally, even if Petracca and Oliver were with us next year, I expect we would’ve been looking at a bottom four finish. With our downward trajectory inside, we may as well shift in bulk and bring in talent while we can.

We got burnt with the introduction of both Gold Coast and GWS. I’m glad we’ve learnt our lesson prior to Tassie. I still think this should’ve happened over the past two seasons, but I’m glad King has the clarity to move now before it’s absolutely too late.

Well either bring in a combination of players + picks this offseason, or take an additional hand into the this years draft and/or next years. We’ll be okay either way, I just suspect some may need to temper their expectations.

7 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Anything doing on Tsatas?

Just now, adonski said:

Anything doing on Tsatas?

I haven’t heard anything further on that front, though it may have been the club doing due diligence on available players.

My opinion is that with the departure of Petracca and Oliver, plus the incoming draft hand, we may look to further invest via the draft and look towards starting 23 talent as opposed to likely depth.

I think there could also be more to play out in the Flanders and Humphries chase too. I still wouldn’t put a line through Flanders entirely (though I would be extremely measured and realistic about it being far more unlikely than likely).

5 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

I haven’t heard anything further on that front, though it may have been the club doing due diligence on available players.

My opinion is that with the departure of Petracca and Oliver, plus the incoming draft hand, we may look to further invest via the draft and look towards starting 23 talent as opposed to likely depth.

I think there could also be more to play out in the Flanders and Humphries chase too. I still wouldn’t put a line through Flanders entirely (though I would be extremely measured and realistic about it being far more unlikely than likely).

Outside of Mitch Clark has there ever been a player nominate one club before back flipping and joining another?

2 hours ago, Adam The God said:

And yet you've had him in 43,567 best 22s you've churned out this year...

So he can get into our side it still doesn't stop the fact he's been ordinary the last 2 years.

13 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Outside of Mitch Clark has there ever been a player nominate one club before back flipping and joining another?

Jeff White

21 hours ago, picket fence said:

I notice u have Clarry listed down as one of your favourite players.... Pity u have turned to the Dark side and denigrated one of our best ever players with your dribbling rubbish of pick 32!

He is one of my favorite players. Every player in the 2021 premiership is my favorite player but it doesn't stop the fact he has issues for the past 2 years and hasn't had a kick for 2 years. I for one am glad King has a no DH policy. He needs to go, GWS are a good fit. I hope he plays better football there just like Jessie Hogan.

Jesus. Are we still arguing the toss about this.

31 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Off the top of my head no other player immediately springs to mind, though of course that’s not to say there hasn’t been. It’s definitely an outlier in the AFL player movement landscape though. I’d go as far to say that even if there are other examples, he might even be the most recent.

Where was all your love for Liam Jurrah?

2 hours ago, Strawberry Fields said:

Don’t take me so seriously Jaded. Life is too short, and in this thread there is an infinite number of reasons and even more possible outcomes.

Are you Rono, or as you also liked, TGR?