View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Why should we care what a journalist says in an opinion piece?

If our job is as attractive as a lot of people are saying it is then have a little faith.

5 minutes ago, layzie said:

Why should we care what a journalist says in an opinion piece?

If our job is as attractive as a lot of people are saying it is then have a little faith.

Why would fans discussing a situation directly relevant to our club, on a fan forum about that club be at all surprising or inappropriate. the thread is about our new coach and the journalist has used more than one entire segment to sell the idea that one of our leading coaching options should ignore our advances and should go to a club that doesn't have an AFL license, doesn't currently have a role advertised to even offer and she fails completely to acknowledge the enormous conflict of interest in having close relationships with several very high ranking people at the Tassie devils.

It would be more odd, by a long long way if that wasn't an active topic of conversation on here.

Imagine if Carlton sacked Voss and Damian Barrett was saying Horse should ignore the Blues and wait for Tassie, the Blues forums would be having the exact same conversations, without the notion of sexism entering into it.

6 hours ago, Adam The God said:

I haven't watched AFL media in a few years. I was surprised to see Riewoldt as host in a clip I saw yesterday.

He has the charisma of a donut.

I don't know what it is. He was okay when he shared a segment on 360 with Whatley, Robbo and a fellow player such as Jordan Lewis. But as much as try to not get annoyed with people on the telly I agree he's just not the right fit on OTC

The only reason you'd take on the job as coach of Tassie is that performance wise it's stress free for 3-5 years. Then you get out with $8-10M in your pocket.

It's a development/list management role.

If Buckley is serious about coaching now it's us or maybe Carlton next year. Then again perhaps he wants less stress. The MFC gig is no bed of roses that's for sure.

No idea what he would pick up in the media but it's not mega bucks

7 hours ago, William said:

I agree with @binman. There is an undercurrent on this forum against CarolIne Wilson’s journalism that is unhealthy and obsessive.

I have detected the same bias against Kellie Underwood, who may not be everyone’s cup of tea but is a pioneer and very knowledgeable.

Both women have carved a path in a shockingly male-dominated sport and environment to their credit.

They also expose the deficiencies of many of the male commentators and journalists in our sport.

[censored] journalists are [censored] journalists - male or female alike

Same goes for good ones

God, the identity nonsense is so tiring

15 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

The only reason you'd take on the job as coach of Tassie is that performance wise it's stress free for 3-5 years. Then you get out with $8-10M in your pocket.

It's a development/list management role.

If Buckley is serious about coaching now it's us or maybe Carlton next year. Then again perhaps he wants less stress. The MFC gig is no bed of roses that's for sure.

No idea what he would pick up in the media but it's not mega bucks

Why wouldn't it be stressful? Surely there would be goals in each of the early years; at least 2 wins in year one, a percentage higher than 50 that year, the first year players not being cooked a lot earlier than other teams, accumulated strength and fitness and skills improvement over the years , not losing the guns after 2 or 3 years...... I'm sure it won't be anything goes. (Oh and most coaches are highly competitive and also theyd know a lot of the early stuff will sow the seeds for what follows.)

Also Buckley would love his current arrangement. I'm sure he's paid quite handsomely for every hour he's seen/heard on Foxtel. If those few hundred hours aren't enough I'm sure he could have speaker engagements and do some stuff with football clubs too. I can't help but think it's all very cushy, and it wouldn't surprise me if Garry Lyon decided long ago that while he misses out on the glory and millions more he'd rather enjoy an easier life away from coaching. Obviously others will be more ambitious.

2 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Ahhh Caro, the opinions piece, owner of "sources". She isn't a journo anymore, she is a parrot. I agree with the sentiment that the AFL would like Nathan at Tassie, so would Gale... they tell her this and tell her to put it forward.

The old saying of don't add fuel to the fire, well she loves to add fuel to fires, and tbh so would I if the fire was.... prob shouldn't finish that

3 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I'd almost agree. But for years experts told him what to eat, how to get fitter, get stronger, had him using or wearing the best technology/equipment etc, improve his strokes and skills, and, yes, even mentally tough. Then suddenly he decided to stop following the experts and start following BS on social media which even had him missing an Australian Open. That sounds kinda weak-minded.

The reality is that there has been a huge void in the ATO since Nadal and Federer retired.

Void of talent that is, except for Alcaraz and Sinner. The rest of the top 10 are underachievers. They are being defeated by a soon to be 38 year old.

Sorry, off topic this is supposed to be an AFL forum.

3 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I've just heard enough criticism of Caro, Underwood, Daisy Pearce, Laura Kane etc to take their criticism with a grain of salt. Things are rarely black or white - someone can be racist without setting houses on fire and someone can be sexist without assaulting women. Some of the criticism levelled at these women is just ridiculous (even if this time it may not be. I don't know. Surely Buckley isn't just obeying the advice of footy commentators so whatever.)

Ok, your feelings are your feelings.

3 hours ago, rpfc said:

Our forward issues are beyond ‘goalkicking’. That’s first world issues. We do not have a functioning forward line (most of the time) and rely on guile (Melksham) or spasmodic genius (Pickett).

I don't think I've ever seen our forward dilemma so succinctly nor so eloquently summarised.

Effectively we score ( at times ) despite our dysfunction.

Edited by beelzebub

10 minutes ago, Golden fist said:

Perhaps. I'm not joining protests or anything. Most of the time it's just a quick observation that I'm not dwelling on. Of course it's opinion but so many times I'll hear/ read commentators that are just as , or more annoying, then the woman ones and there's way less whining. Anyway I'm not fazed. If you were on my Christmas card list you still would be.

16 minutes ago, Golden fist said:

11 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

She's always had these weird campaigns moreso than any other media personality I've seen. North fans will tell you about her push to relocate them before the Gold Coast came in.

Generally her agendas fall in line with what the AFL want which tells you a bit about where her bread is buttered.

She is an AFL mouthpiece, just like Sheahan and Greg Baum.

7 hours ago, VNightCityLegend said:

After watching Djokovic just beat Taylor Fritz, in yet another hostile environment as he isn’t as loved as past champions, rose to the challenge again and won against absolute quality through all the heckling from the crowd. Reaches yet another Slam final.

Whoever the coach is, I really hope they work on the mindset and the psychology. Should be the first port of call. At this level of Aussie Rules, everyone has talent and the top echelon of talent will always have elite skill sets. What sets apart a good and great team is the mindset.

A lot of wallowing and even self loathing from our players over the past few years and wouldn’t it be nice to channel the mindset of Djokovic in 2026. As he himself said, a strong mindset is worked on, it isn’t a natural gift.

The mental side of sport is so underrated as we only get to see the physical and tangible aspect and I hope the new coach can come in and change the mindset of the entire club. I hope this is part of the criteria when selecting the next coach.

I was listening to Jordan Lewis on the Junktime podcast and while it is essentially a comedy pod two comments he made made me take notice

He said that when playing with the Hawks they never really had much time to sit back and think "how good is this" because they never had the mindset that they were better than their opponents. Even in a prematch meeting before playing the Suns in early 2013 Clarkson drummed into them "if you're not on your game they'll take it up to you". Made me wonder about the mindset of our players.

Another comment about choosing to come to Melbourne was about us playing them in 2016 and really beating them up, playing an extremely tough contested brand of footy - "which was unusual for a Melbourne side". I've heard Roughead in the past (2015ish) make similar derogatory comments about us. We all know the "bruise free" comments as well etc Just reiterates the perception of us in the wider footy community as a soft club. This goes to the point of your post, whoever is appointed coach needs to address the teams mental issues.

11 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Perhaps. I'm not joining protests or anything. Most of the time it's just a quick observation that I'm not dwelling on. Of course it's opinion but so many times I'll hear/ read commentators that are just as , or more annoying, then the woman ones and there's way less whining. Anyway I'm not fazed. If you were on my Christmas card list you still would be.

Haha no hard feelings mate. I don't have any ill feelings towards you.

My perspective is that there is no point debating subjective facts.

You feel what you feel and that's fine, it doesn't mean it applies universally though and if you're talking equality then you take the good with the bad and some jobs cop more flak than others.