View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 minutes ago, No10 said:

Seems an awkward idea.

More dumb than awkward imho

2 minutes ago, Demonland said:

To be fair to McQualter he was asked an awkward stupid question. What else was he going to say.

Yeah imagine if he said "ew, no. I only took this job to get away from Simon..." :P

4 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Yeah imagine if he said "ew, no. I only took this job to get away from Simon..." :P

Obviously he wouldn't say that but these journos are throwing out some silly questions wanting an answer like that. Look at how they spun Ed's comments. Love his honesty but even Max admitted he shouldn't have said that. It's not about whether you should lie or not it's about not playing into the media's hand so that they can spin it to harm the club as a whole.

You’d have to imagine a number of teams would see a motivated Simon Goodwin as a pretty good addition. I have a feeling he’s going to the tigers to work with yze

"I really rate 'Goody'. I spent a year with him last year and he helped me a lot to see the game differently, think about it differently. 

"He's a terrific coach, great person, and I've got no doubt he will senior coach a football team again. ‘

Andrew McQualter

28 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

You’d have to imagine a number of teams would see a motivated Simon Goodwin as a pretty good addition. I have a feeling he’s going to the tigers to work with yze

He will be moving to Sydney with his wife I'd imagine. I reckon a role at Sydney or GWS. Or a nice media gig.

On 07/08/2025 at 09:40, BLWNBA said:

Brilliant, that's how you present a professional and unified club.

" I'm a supporter of the team. I'm a lover of the Melbourne Football Club. They've sacked people I've loved before and I've moved on and so have they. ... I'm a lover of the club. I'm excited for what is next ... Football doesn't wait for anybody. Goodwin sacked, I'm like geez my life is over ... I'm down in the dumps Tuesday morning and then we train Tuesday arvo ... and I come here today and I'm like 'I can't wait for the Bulldogs, I can't wait for what we do in the trade period. I'm really excited about what coach we get in'..."

Is Gawn a literary scholar? These words read like the football equivalent of "No Man is an Island" by John Donne. Read on, and think of it being about Goodwin (and ignore the hyperlinks):

No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend's were.
Each man's death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.

On 07/08/2025 at 10:40, At the break of Gawn said:

Saw a tweet about Goodwin's impact on the league and thought I'd share it here:

"Let’s also not forget how he was the catalyst for a complete shift in the way the game is played right now, Melbourne played such a high hurt, contest dominant and defence led style that teams physically couldn’t compete with. So they had to change, and now this high transition, high rebound and turnover footy is so prominent in the league, all to counter what Melbourne were so dominant at".

I thought he was the catalyst for underachievement of a great list.

1 Flag with 2 disastrous years either side of 2021 is a bitter disappointment for supporters.

And the icing on the cake is a humiliating last quarter record in his second last game.

"He'll get another opportunity, he's a brilliant coach".

Troy Chaplin

6 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Or a nice media gig.

A year of image-building in the media then back into it.

11 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

I thought he was the catalyst for underachievement of a great list.

1 Flag with 2 disastrous years either side of 2021 is a bitter disappointment for supporters.

And the icing on the cake is a humiliating last quarter record in his second last game.

And this attitude was the problem. Supporters see 22 and 23 as disastrous years. Forgetting that other coaches who are spoken about very highly here - including McRae and Chris Scott - couldn't even get their team back in the finals the year after their flags.

Noone liked the two straight sets exits but at least we were contending. And I have spoken about the "great list" here before- yes, it was a very good list BUT SO WERE A FEW OTHERS. And in both years we had injuries at the wrong time of the year and also kicked ourselves out of almost all the finals we lost.

Reading what others are saying confirms that Goodwin was an innovator, a strategist, and a motivator although he could never overcome the fact that our great list did not have a truly good key forward, and that our key midfielders were not good kickers. He tried, though, recruiting for key forwards and good field kicks.

Edited by Ollie fan

On 06/08/2025 at 17:40, binman said:

Total bollocks.

But whatever.

its amazing on here we cant even agree as to what's happening in front of our eyes at the same time

We all have goggles on to some degree. Suffice to say, through my glass eyes, in my opinion, we still bomb it too much when under pressure and we have some of the worst up and under kicks in the league at present which hopefully will be addressed at some point in the future

20 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

And this attitude was the problem. Supporters see 22 and 23 as disastrous years. Forgetting that other coaches who are spoken about very highly here - including McRae and Chris Scott - couldn't even get their team back in the finals the year after their flags.

You are forgetting 2019 & 2020 where we should have contended but were both disasters.

And did I mention 2017 ??

6 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

You are forgetting 2019 & 2020 where we should have contended but were both disasters.

And did I mention 2017 ??

Very much in the building phase in those years. Nowhere near where Richmond was at

23 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Very much in the building phase in those years. Nowhere near where Richmond was at

Yeah right.

Had the best defence, midfield & ruck in the comp for 5-6 years & some handy fwds for 1 measly flag - epic fail.

That will always stick in my craw.

25 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Define building phase exactly?

Because 2019 and 2020 was a complete and utter failure from a year where 2018 was going to be the stepping stone for being a contender on a consistent level.

11 hours ago, bing181 said:

"He'll get another opportunity, he's a brilliant coach".

Troy Chaplin

Chappy will say that. But reality is, hes a good coach, not brilliant.

And the worst tactical match day coach ever. Even worse than Dennis Jones.

A smidgin of sensible tagging would have won us round 1 & the 2 St Kilda games & allowing Geelong to have loose defenders was suicide that even rookie coaches avoid.

Good riddance.

4 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Define building phase exactly?

Because 2019 and 2020 was a complete and utter failure from a year where 2018 was going to be the stepping stone for being a contender on a consistent level.

Chappy will say that. But reality is, hes a good coach, not brilliant.

Was a good Couldn't or didn't or wouldn't change with the times. Stuck with an out dated easily countered plan Showed zero innovation post 21.

2 minutes ago, Kent said:

Was a good Couldn't or didn't or wouldn't change with the times. Stuck with an out dated easily countered plan Showed zero innovation post 21.

Agree.

He stuck with the same midfield soldiers that won a flag 4 years when everyone in the comp saw that the game was changing to more transition.

Only took him this year to realise that he actually had to change the game plan to a more running and transition style

He was pretty slow to adapt.

4 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

the more i hear gawn speak the more curious i am as to what his future holds post-playing career

just such a natural leader

I’ve for a long time held the view Gawn is going to be an incredible media performer.