Posted

What are you talking about, that article isn't in that thread...

Posted

I found this quote interesting:

"I have a listen to every stakeholder. I'm interested what the sponsors think, I'm interested what Neale thinks, I'm interested in what the football department thinks … and what the board thinks."

Now call me crazy, but I didn't know that Primus Telecom are experts when it comes to analysing the performance of a senior AFL coach.

Posted

The unfortunate thing about modern footy Clint is that its a business not a sport so consultation about the current state of affairs with the major sponsor of the club is probably the most important thing for us right now because without them or a substitute we'd be stuffed.

To add my 2 cents, I think Gardner's a canny enough bloke to know what needs to be done, as much as some of us would like to see Danners sacked now and a replacement brought in, its not going to do the clubs PR any good, nor can we afford to pay him out. I do think that they should send a directive though from the board that we now start to play some of the young fringe members that are our future (read: CJ, Miller, Dunn, Newton, et al). I'm not sure what the answer is. I reckon meandering to week 22 with the kind of teams we've been fielding (ie. Pickett, Godfrey, Ward, Yze, and the likes) is a waste of good development for players like Newton and CJ.

If ND has any inkling of trying to keep his job he's going to have to do something very drastic for the remainder of the season like dropping his golden boys to Sandy and making each and every player on the list earn his spot in the best 22. The playing favourites game has gone on too long at this club and has bred such a complacent culture that it just seems so obvious that the answer is to get rid of Danners before he completely wrecks the core of young good players we've got here now (read: Brock, Col, Frawley, Bate, Jones, Bell, etc). I just pray that hasn't already happened.

I know this post sounds contradictory and it is. Maybe the board needs to start tying ND's hands, in effect ordering him what to do with the day-to-day coaching of the team, that way perhaps he'll resign due to pride bruising at not being able to run his football dept on his own terms.

Posted
The unfortunate thing about modern footy Clint is that its a business not a sport so consultation about the current state of affairs with the major sponsor of the club is probably the most important thing for us right now because without them or a substitute we'd be stuffed.

The best way to get people through the gates, to buy memberships and to sign up new sponsors is by playing good football.

In order to do this, a team needs a good coach.

Posted

I agree wholeheartedly and I'm sure the sponsors and major stakeholders are telling the board exactly that. I'm sure everyone except the football dept and ND's lovechildren are saying that.

Posted

"taken aim at the club's 'fickle' supporters"

What a disgrace

Posted
"taken aim at the club's 'fickle' supporters"

What a disgrace

Mate, I know this quote has been picked up in other threads and at 'ology but we do have a good number of fickle supporters and the comment is therefore valid. Unfortunately it does reflect on all of us but I personally have no problems with the comment at all because the people I work/socialise with know my commitment to following Melbourne and don't have a go at me at all. I just wish more of our supporters were more committed then there would be a greater sense from the Pres. that the criticisms are not just carping good times fans.

Posted

I think th esentiments of many is that attention ought to be focused on 'fickle' players before any of us spectators. It just smacks of grasping at straws to attack the fans.

Posted
I think th esentiments of many is that attention ought to be focused on 'fickle' players before any of us spectators. It just smacks of grasping at straws to attack the fans.

Totally Agree! As diehard Demon supporters we are entitled to expect the players to put in every week and for the coaches to coach well and also for the MFC Administration to make sure verything is put in place to make this happen. None of these was evident on Friday night!

The first half on Friday night was unacceptable to everyone and it is a total cop out to claim supporters are "fickle"!

Supporters of other clubs would have been demanding heads. If the Tigers had played like our side did some young may have been eaten!

Posted
The best way to get people through the gates, to buy memberships and to sign up new sponsors is by playing good football.

In order to do this, a team needs a good coach.

and players that try week in week out ...

not here and there....

Posted

It is a bit late to fire up now, Mr Gardner!!

Easy kicks in junk-time!!

It was time in early 2003. It was time after the first loss to Carlton last year. It was time at the MCG against the Swans in 2002.

As someone said about globsl warming, it like being run-down by a pack of ravenous snails. Let's all feign surprise.

Posted
you're a genius in hind sight little stevie

take a bow

I was saying this in 2003 when people were saying that 2003 was always meant to be a development year and misrembering the time on the notorious premiership clock. I said this after the 2002 Swans match. and all the other times.

So it wasn't hindsight then but rather foresight. However, I think the lack of self-deluding stupidity hardly rates a "genius".

But perhaps you have moments of genius to share with us. Obviously you remebered your password.

Posted
I was saying this in 2003 when people were saying that 2003 was always meant to be a development year and misrembering the time on the notorious premiership clock. I said this after the 2002 Swans match. and all the other times.

So it wasn't hindsight then but rather foresight. However, I think the lack of self-deluding stupidity hardly rates a "genius".

But perhaps you have moments of genius to share with us. Obviously you remebered your password.

Posted

point me in the directions of these pearls of wisdom.

I was sarcastic, you're getting nasty.

Keep that up and i'll have to come and say hello.

Or feel feel free to drop past my place.

Posted
point me in the directions of these pearls of wisdom.

I was sarcastic, you're getting nasty.

Keep that up and i'll have to come and say hello.

Or feel feel free to drop past my place.

Are you guys seriously bickering or are you doing an impression of the MFC Admin??

There is sufficient division being created by the weekend's efforts (first players and then Chairman) without us adding to it!

We are all getting a bit fed up and frustrated!

The next few weeks - now at least 5 to 6 in view of the announced review - going to really test everyone involved in the MFC. It has the potential to drag on beyond August like the Cats review did last year and hard to see how any of the last 4 days events will help the playing group focus on showing some pride in themselves and the jumper after Friday nights "no show".

Not only are the players' futures and the tenure of ND on the line but also the tenure of the Board and Admin is also. The Board and Admin need to demonstrate they can deal with the hard issues strongly and emphatically. Not exactly the impression the last few days has given.

The next 2 months both on and off field will be critical for MFC's log term survival & it is essential that cool heads and strong leadership becomes evident! I am concerned to say the least. :angry:

Posted

Another misleading headline to a thread. Here was I worrying about whether the Salvos would be rattling their tins at our next match and wondering why such a nice man like Paul Gardner would fire one of them! :huh: