I figured it out @binman the mysterious game plan Goodwin has been trying to drum into our aging stars!

“When in doubt, hospital handball to someone else!!”

If Goodwin is serious about regenerating our midfield. The time is now, stop starting Viney, Tracc & Viney in there at the same time, ever.

He’s having a cracking year an arguably one of our best kicks. Why not put Bowey in the middle? At least he can use it!

What’s chin done in the last 2 months, defensive running aside? He’a having no impact.

I don’t even have a question this week. I can only see us winning 2 more games for the rest of the year. Carlton & WCE.

Thank god there is ample Test Cricket on!

Goody… for the love of god.. take a walk mate. If you care for the club. Please discuss viable options for a new coach, and probably new coaching staff in general… players clearly aren’t interested.. got the same old crew: ie: Viney and Gawn leading the way with not many other players consistently pushing for wins… where’s the love gone?

25 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

If Goodwin is serious about regenerating our midfield. The time is now, stop starting Viney, Tracc & Viney in there at the same time, ever.

He’s having a cracking year an arguably one of our best kicks. Why not put Bowey in the middle? At least he can use it!

What’s chin done in the last 2 months, defensive running aside? He’a having no impact.

I don’t even have a question this week. I can only see us winning 2 more games for the rest of the year. Carlton & WCE.

Thank god there is ample Test Cricket on!

Rather watch F1 and Golf than the NSW Test Team

24 minutes ago, SadDee said:

Goody… for the love of god.. take a walk mate. If you care for the club. Please discuss viable options for a new coach, and probably new coaching staff in general… players clearly aren’t interested.. got the same old crew: ie: Viney and Gawn leading the way with not many other players consistently pushing for wins… where’s the love gone?

Goodwin says he loves the club, if he does love the club he should go and give Longmire, Buckley or a young gun a go, you’ve been they’re a longtime and the players are not listening anymore

37 minutes ago, Dave1711 said:

Rather watch F1 and Golf than the NSW Test Team

The NSW Test team with.

Carey (WA), Head SA, Carey SA, Lyon (SA) Webster (TAS)..

Ok Fair point.

Fitness was the theme today. One side had the A-grade running power that we've come to know from Darren Burgess, the other side had, well, what we've had all season.

An inability to run out games, run out quarters or even carry out the gameplan that we were sticking to with reasonable effect halfway through the second quarter.

Interested to know your thoughts but one of the first things I'd be doing in the off season is looking for the absolute best in class fitness coach we can get. We had a similar issue in 2019 and bringing Burgo in changed everything. We find ourselves in the same place now, this needs to be a high priority.

Where to from here, while the effort seems to be there most weeks (if we forget about the first month) the skills aren’t up to par and haven’t been for serval years now.

It’s my experience that is rare for players to improve there skills to any significant degree over their career double so when they are already senior players. Given that is a big clean out at the end of the year required before we can start the climb back up the ladder, potentially making the next few years a complete right off or do we keep these players round unless we have players that can push them out immediately.

I’m talking players like Oliver, May, Landon, Sparrow, Fritsch and even Trac and not just the fringe players that come and go every off season. The idea being if they weren’t round it would let us fast track the next generation and get more suitable players in exchange as well.

Edited by Garbo

Would love to get the panels thoughts on our tactic of "chipping it around". It seemed to be effective for a quarter and a half. We kept the ball out of the Crows hands and were killing them in uncontested possession but it seemed to fall away after that. Are we simply not fit enough to keep that up?

I really thought that our skills were abysmal this week particularly by hand. So many chains were broken down by these poor skills. Another wasted season.

Great Pod... I look forward to it every week. I just watched Goody's presser. I'd like to get the panel's thoughts. He was very clear about the direction of the club (maybe not to those who don't listen), particularly when he spoke about melding the old with the new. In my opinion I think the older heads are working really hard to wrap their heads and skills around the new gameplan and the kids just need a little time. I'm not a fan on bagging a coach and playing group who worked so hard to give us a flag just because we are in a rough patch.

From reports and observations, Luker Kentfield has some strong qualities that will translate well to AFL. He seems to be developing well, with good recent VFL form.

My questions for the Panel:

1. Has Luker done enough to earn a place ahead of Jeffo for a spot in our forward half? The Jeffo experiment doesn’t seem to be working at present.

2. If Petty needs another week in the Protocols (which seems a possibility given his recent concussion history) is next week too soon to give Luker a taste at the top level?

Love your work guys. Thank you!

Did you all notice the glowing shine of health and fitness emanating from Nibbler? He was always an elite runner, but his condition is testament to the Burgess Brilliance.

It was another reminder of the confluence of happy circumstances that contributed to the 2021 win.

Unfortunately another game where I could foresee fitness would be an issue late in the game.

When the game started inevitably slipping away I took my children down to the park to drive their radio control cars and enjoy the last of the winter sun. It was better for everyone's peace and tranquillity to listen to motors whirring than groans and shouts of frustration.

Sadly we're back to those afternoons of irrelevance and not being realistic contenders. I think that's how the rest of the season will play out and I hope we have new coaching next season.

Thanks for all the work you do with the podcast.

On the podcast you often mention the poor club communications. I was pleased to get the recent opportunity to give feedback from the supporters perspective. Please ask all the listeners to submit their membership survey that they received by email.

I know there is plenty of discussion on the forum about why we can't or won't change the coaching next season due to cost, new CEO etc.

Do the panel know any fellow Demon supporters who want SG and the assistant coaches to remain next year? I haven't met one and am becoming really deeply disillusioned by the prospect of another season of corrosive losses.

The impact on team development and spirit and membership engagement is disastrous. These costs must outweigh the short term penalty of changing coaches.

And to all those who argue it won't help; I ask what's the worst that can happen?

We might have a hellish 1:2 ratio of wins to losses as we currently do? We might have an internal 87% ratio and diabolical kicking skills as we currently do?

Please ask members to raise hell with the club management and submit your angry and frustrated responses.

Hellfire Club Dub

Really love the Podcast guys. Thank you for continuing to front up each week. It really does help me make sense of where the team is at and what we need to do to improve.

Do you genuinely believe that Jefferson is up to AFL standard and will make it. I know the key position players take a little longer to develop but I just can't see any upside to his game. Admittedly I have not watched him play at Casey but from the little I have seen of him in the seniors he lacks upper body strength and 2nd efforts. He was barely in a job when chasing opponents. I think we may have made the wrong call in drafting him.

I thought JVR played his best game for the season yesterday. He still needs another big body helping him in the forward 50. On a side note we got a sad glimpse of how deficient we are in the ruck if Max goes down.

22 minutes ago, Singa said:

I thought JVR played his best game for the season yesterday. He still needs another big body helping him in the forward 50. On a side note we got a sad glimpse of how deficient we are in the ruck if Max goes down.

And JVR career efficiency (goal kicking)has been sitting at around 70%. No doubt one of our best forwards.

And it is not a small sample size, it is close to 100 kicks taken.

@binman i know there are a huge amount of stats, but for me

Failure to hit targets inside 50…Marks inside 50. Dees 8 (crows 17)

Lack of pressure. Tackles inside 50. Dees 5

Lost the Centre clearances 9 (crows 14)

Overhandballing 170. Chronic handballing under pressure to no one.

Pressure was good except across parts of 2nd and 3rd qtr.

Goal conversion in the first was a nightmare. We left at least 5 goals - including bad kicks by Kozzy and Jeffo that went out of bounds on the full Shocking is a mild description of our conversion rate

Interception and our tall backs were very good. May and Turner and even Lever were solid and kept us competitive.

Questions

Do we keep Jeffo in? He was uncompetitive and lacked any physical presence at all. Twice he was exposed for a lack of a chase or second effort. Perhaps Kentfield might get a chance even if he needs more Casey time.

Was Goodwin too slow to move McVee off Rankine? Rankine was their winner and goalscorer but we failed to shut him down. Rivers did a better job in the last quarter.

The umps were ok but the ARC decision to give Keays goal was ridiculous!!! Goal umpire said a behind. No conclusive evidence to overturn. The review failed to see Mcvee touch the footy. Johnno Brown clearly called it a behind. Why do we always cop the bad calls ?

9 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

@binman i know there are a huge amount of stats, but for me

Failure to hit targets inside 50…Marks inside 50. Dees 8 (crows 17)

Lack of pressure. Tackles inside 50. Dees 5

Lost the Centre clearances 9 (crows 14)

Overhandballing 170. Chronic handballing under pressure to no one.

Pressure was good except across parts of 2nd and 3rd qtr.

Goal conversion in the first was a nightmare. We left at least 5 goals - including bad kicks by Kozzy and Jeffo that went out of bounds on the full Shocking is a mild description of our conversion rate

Interception and our tall backs were very good. May and Turner and even Lever were solid and kept us competitive.

Questions

Do we keep Jeffo in? He was uncompetitive and lacked any physical presence at all. Twice he was exposed for a lack of a chase or second effort. Perhaps Kentfield might get a chance even if he needs more Casey time.

Was Goodwin too slow to move McVee off Rankine? Rankine was their winner and goalscorer but we failed to shut him down. Rivers did a better job in the last quarter.

The umps were ok but the ARC decision to give Keays goal was ridiculous!!! Goal umpire said a behind. No conclusive evidence to overturn. The review failed to see Mcvee touch the footy. Johnno Brown clearly called it a behind. Why do we always cop the bad calls ?

We need better analytics, just like how the NBA moved from points scored to FG% then to eFG% and now TS%.

Not sure if there are already some expanded stars that can provide a more meaningful understanding of our performance.

While I've been gloomy about the team and our prospects for weeks, this game has given me some hope. Hear me out.

This year we average a goal from 20.9% of Inside 50s (15th in AFL) and we allow a goal on 27.3% of our opposition's inside 50s (dead last by over 1%).

The Crows are a top 4 side who score a goal on 26.2% of inside 50s (3rd in AFL) and allow a goal on 20.0% of inside 50s (also 3rd).

In the game yesterday we scored a goal on 26.2% of our inside 50s (yes, the same as what the Crows average). This is a huge improvement over a stingy defence and it should not be underestimated.

We allowed a goal on 23.6% of their inside 50s yesterday, which while still not great the exact AFL average and is clearly an improvement against a potent attack.

I think we can avoid too much more cellar-dwelling, but we do need to continue to make improvements. We also clearly need a small/medium defender who can defend players like Rankine who also seem to run riot over us. (What I wouldn't give to have Hibberd back!)

Can we start to see some light at the end of the tunnel?

Can the panel give any rationale explanation why when we had a couple of minutes to play with a long shot chance of winning we kicked backwards and twice to the pocket. It seemed to lack any awareness of the game circumstance but blind adherence to a coaching instruction. Thx for the pod.

Fantastic ‘duo Pod’ last night guys. Constructive, informative and a damn good listen as always! Thank you for keeping us Demon tragics sain during the tough times! ❤️💙

Good pod as always. @binman what was the book you mentioned that had data on coaches not impacting sports performance. I missed the name, so googled “coach impact on team sports performance” and only came up with stuff saying coaches have a big impact. This study stating 20-30% of performance was down to the coach was top of the list.

University of Chicago News
No image preview

How much do coaches impact success in sports?

For pro and college teams, leadership can make a big difference.