5 hours ago, Oxdee said:

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

Time for a little spell on the sidelines Oxdee

1 minute ago, rpfc said:

I was there and considering the virgin lounge has been full of F1 fans we weren’t even on the card for sports fans in the city. 

23k was good and we are way too quiet - that’s my main gripe - we are so nervous and quiet.

We are always quiet. And nervous too. Because we continuously cough up leads and easy goals. Leadership and resolve sadly lacking

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Typical half-hearted effort from a lot of our so called ‘supporters’.

Bad weather? It’s a winter sport.
GP was on? WGAF

What else are you going to do on a Sunday afternoon?

Time for a spell Demon Disciple. See you in 2 weeks.

1 hour ago, Go Ds said:

Exciting? What's exciting is winning lots of games, especially against the best teams, and especially premierships. Doing that gets more short-term supporters and hopefully more long-term ones too. I'm just not sure that that many footy fans choose their team based on recent exciting game plans or almost lose complete interest when their team is too defensive. (Ever wonder why club presidents talk about making finals or winning flags rather than their team being exciting or doing dances on TikTok?)

Do you have teen age kids? You want crowds you need the kids to want to go and watch.  I have no chance of getting my kids to go to games anymore and my nephews who live in Melbourne no longer attend any matches. So yes you need to have an exciting brand of football if you are th MFC and want to attract crowds.  Remember 2021 was only a couple of years ago, clearly winning a GF only has a short half life for crowd numbers. So I would argue an attractive brand is equally as important as playing in finals. 

29 minutes ago, rpfc said:

23k was good and we are way too quiet - that’s my main gripe - we are so nervous and quiet.

We're just old and fragile lol

They shouldn't have a game in Melbourne on F1 race day. Much less, a game vs GWS.

We have a small supporter base, sadly. That's the issue. We need multiple flags over a long period to gain more fans. Maybe the, "kids get in free" should happen more often. Take the financial hit for more spectators.

26 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

Do you have teen age kids? You want crowds you need the kids to want to go and watch.  I have no chance of getting my kids to go to games anymore and my nephews who live in Melbourne no longer attend any matches. So yes you need to have an exciting brand of football if you are th MFC and want to attract crowds.  Remember 2021 was only a couple of years ago, clearly winning a GF only has a short half life for crowd numbers. So I would argue an attractive brand is equally as important as playing in finals. 

No, no kids and maybe teenagers are different these days. I'm disappointed we lost today. If both sides had kicked 8 more goals each today I'd still be disappointed we lost today. You know what would have made me happier or excited? THAT WE WON! Honestly even if we had been 20%worse but won cos the 'Greens' and Taylor were badly injured in the first quarter I'd still be excited that we are 1-0.

What do your young relatives say is why they've stopped following Melbourne? I'm scratching my head cos from being a young kid in a Melbourne jumper all the way up to now Melbourne wins mean joy and excitement and losses the opposite.

1 hour ago, bobby1554 said:

We are always quiet. And nervous too. Because we continuously cough up leads and easy goals. Leadership and resolve sadly lacking

You’re a goose. You want to sit next to me. I’m neither quiet nor nervous. 

Edited by Roost it far

6 minutes ago, Jack Vineys Anger Manager said:

They shouldn't have a game in Melbourne on F1 race day. Much less, a game vs GWS.

We have a small supporter base, sadly. That's the issue. We need multiple flags over a long period to gain more fans. Maybe the, "kids get in free" should happen more often. Take the financial hit for more spectators.

God knows how much damage was done when Melbourne couldn't even make the finals in the years between 1964 and 1987. If a kid was like 8yo in 1968 and STILL 15 years later his/their Demons were still just also-rans it'd be pretty easy to lose interest and find other 'hobbies'. Not only are such fans lost but often their kids and now grandchildren. *Sigh*

12 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

i'm one of 'them' too

the glares i get from the genteel folks in their tweed caps...honestly, yr at the footy! as long as yr not abusive towards players from either sides, get loud

19 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

And after today I can do the Irish jig after every goal……Go Dee’s!

@The Jackson FIX… I see you’ve doled out a couple of 2-week spell suggestions. Got any left?

7 hours ago, Oxdee said:

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

Careful.

We turn up in strength to these threads!

(I know from experience from posting them 🥴

Leadership and resolve sadly lacking

I’m too tired to explain why this is the stupidest thing I’ve read today (and I’ve read parts of the GameDay thread!)

*MASSIVE SIGH*

18 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

@The Jackson FIX… I see you’ve doled out a couple of 2-week spell suggestions. Got any left?

I don't need 2 weeks honey. 2 years maybe

42 minutes ago, bobby1554 said:

I don't need 2 weeks honey. 2 years maybe

That’s fine by me.

Soiya 👋

3 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

They fixtured this game knowing the GP race was on. Think about that for a moment. Whoever played GWS today in Melbourne was going to struggle to beat 30K. The weather itself would have kept another 5K-10K at home. 

In 2 weeks we have the Suns on a Saturday Arvo and no GP. Will we beat today's crowd?

I'm in two minds about this, Demon supporters are champions at making excuses for why we don't go to games. But we also have a smaller fan base playing out of the largest stadium in the country which can make it appear worse than it is. Whether we draw crowds or not shouldn't be on the supporters but unfortunately it is a reality of our sport that failure to draw crowds puts you in the spotlight, either about where games are scheduled (MCG v Docklands) or at the extreme whether you have the support to be viable in a national competition.

6 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

We have a small supporter base which is extremely die hard

We don’t attract theatregoers and certainly not in the rain on a Sunday after a massive heat wave over the previous week, up against the oztrayan f1, playing a franchise with about 2000 total supporters, if that

spot on, some of you are clueless 

I had no voice left after the game today. Don't tell me we're quiet. 😉

I've heard quieter Melbourne games. 

I thought when we got a few out the front clearances that led to scores, the crowd lifted.

5 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

In 2 weeks we have the Suns on a Saturday Arvo and no GP. Will we beat today's crowd?

I'm in two minds about this, Demon supporters are champions at making excuses for why we don't go to games. But we also have a smaller fan base playing out of the largest stadium in the country which can make it appear worse than it is. Whether we draw crowds or not shouldn't be on the supporters but unfortunately it is a reality of our sport that failure to draw crowds puts you in the spotlight, either about where games are scheduled (MCG v Docklands) or at the extreme whether you have the support to be viable in a national competition.

I reckon the whole thing is completely overplayed and I'm not sure we should care about crowd numbers at all.  I know I don't care and any Demon friend or acquaintance I have doesn't care either

It never gets brought up in conversation.  Ever

Yeah sure, from the outside we are often the focus but the whole thing started out as a joke related to the snow and then just grew legs.  It's a perception much like Richmond are known as ferels and the Pies as the filth

Fact is Gonzo is that we are not a big club.  And until we are a big club (if that ever happens?) we're going to continue to draw low crowds against low drawing opposition

You won't guilt people into going to games either.  I'm not an MCC member but I have family who are and I'm forever amazed how quiet our fans are in the MCC as compared to the outer where I usually watch games 

It is what it is

So we're not going to be shipped off to Siberia for being quiet and reserved or if the numbers aren't great

Also, footy fans do gave an obsession with crowd numbers which I've always thought was quite odd.  I mean, why sweat the small stuff?  

To me it's a non story

Honestly, Dees fans get enough of this [censored] on X from opposition supporters, we don't really need it here on Demonland

This fixture last year of Richmond vs Port on the F1 Sunday they only had 25k.

The last time the Blues played an interstate team at the G in 2023 they had 29k.

Both those clubs have massive membership numbers. 23k was decent with that weather.

I'm certainly loud both when attending in person or viewing from my couch in Sydney.  In the first 10 mins of today's game, my sister called my mobile to tell me to shut the f@$k up as I barracked in front of the TV haha

Do we go to the footy or dont we. Is going or not going important? To me as I said last year, the biggest problem at the moment is the AFL looking to get games off the G for hawthorn home games when they exit Tas.

Already we have one home game at soulless city. With the lack of supporters at the G the AFL dont look at reasons only numbers. That is why we should support the players with our attendance.

6 hours ago, Adam The God said:

I had no voice left after the game today. Don't tell me we're quiet. 😉

I've heard quieter Melbourne games. 

I thought when we got a few out the front clearances that led to scores, the crowd lifted.

Yeah, I was pleasantly surprised by the noise we made, and the crowd given the opposition and weather.