View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 minutes ago, doomsday dee said:

Maybe Freo wants him

And West Coast doesn’t? Come on now, West Coast has objectively the worst list in the AFL, and no chance in hell of getting any quality senior players to come to them. They would absolutely love someone like McVee, and McQualter was a big fan when he was at the Dees.

Freo undoubtedly wants him. They love our sloppy seconds.

Just now, GawnOfTheDead said:

Thanks for both explaining, very complex the whole trade and draft system.

When you say 11 is like pick 18, what’s that meaning?

I see what you mean though Ted, hard ball is better. Hopefully pans out.

A lot of players in this years draft are tied to academy picks so basically clubs will bid on them and the host club matches and the next picks are pushed back 1 each time so even the suns pick 6 might end up being pick 8 or 9

it’s also seen as a very shallow draft pool this year so the top end talent drops off quite quickly so even that pick 11 might not be that valuable

3 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Very well put. Apart from 3 or 4 games Judd was mostly poor & rarely attacked or took a risk.

Should have been dropped.

Cost us the Port game when Rankine cut him to pieces.

Good riddance.

Wondering when Rankin played for port

1 hour ago, Lord Travis said:

I wonder what his role was to be? I heard after proving himself he wanted to be a rebounding half back, but was being pigeon holed into a small lockdown type defender. We already have Bowie, Rivers, Salem and others who are superior in that role. Perhaps King or the footy department just don't think he had the chops to be the best option as a rebounder? He was poor when tried up the ground in midfield, so they weren't wrong on evidence of so.

Anyway disappointing as he's in the age bracket we need more talent, not less.

Enjoy WA Judd. Look forward to a rough reception next year.

59 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

That pick 11 will probably end up being 16 ish anyways which I’d say feels not too far off the mark. But agreed it’s not exactly exciting .

I hope we’d at least call up doggas management with a monster long term offer.

That is funny,if you call Doggas management you'll get McVees🤣

1 hour ago, Cranky Franky said:

Agree

That's BS. He wouldn't make any of the top 8 sides on this year's form.

Rankine tore him a new one.

And he cost us the final in 2023 in the last minute. Jumped to spoil, missed everything & left Docherty to kick a goal.

Absolutely dumb play.

yeah, it was serious low footy IQ that play, and I saw him repeat it again this year. All he had to do against the Blues was stand the mark, or spoil...he completely overcommitted on the spoil...and lost his feet and we were gone.

24 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

@doomsday dee your posting history if very unique, and almost exclusively about one player.

🤔

I wonder which parent it is

34 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

A lot of players in this years draft are tied to academy picks so basically clubs will bid on them and the host club matches and the next picks are pushed back 1 each time so even the suns pick 6 might end up being pick 8 or 9

it’s also seen as a very shallow draft pool this year so the top end talent drops off quite quickly so even that pick 11 might not be that valuable

I appreciate you spelling it out for me.

The AFL certainly haven’t made it easy for regular persons to understand.

I’ve watched the game since I was a kid, so nearly 30 years, and I’m confused.. imagine having no background..

I think we’re getting way too involved and concerned around a player not able to admit to a supporter on his contract status…I’m in Bali and kids have there hand out for food, some perspective. @Ghostwriter not dismissing you at all, just think we’ve blown this out way too much.

3 hours ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

I’ll throw Geelong in here as well and it’s not talked about. They have a defacto academy in that they are the only Victorian club that has a Coates League team exclusively in their region in the Geelong Falcons. When draftees from the Falcons get drafted into the system and hit free agency what club do they nominate that they want to go play for. You wonder why they don’t bottom out.

And then also the occasional out of o tract player they get for pocket change

56 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Add that WC & Carlton will get band 1 compensation for Allan and TDK's free agency departures and some chance that Draper nets band 1 as well.

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Will WCE take a proven kid for free in a PSD that is sure to be totally weak given the National Draft is meant to be shallow and compromised, given their lack of talent and McQualter’s intimate knowledge of Judd?

Yeah I reckon that’s a safe bet 😂

Thanks for making my exact point for me.

The laughter face on the end was icing on the cake.

There are push and pull factors operating in any situation like this and all those slating the player and accusing him of all and sundry should reflect a bit on those factors.

First, family and WA = pull.

Second, it might be about the poor internal workings of MFC (push) which have delivered repetitive failure since 2021 that were dominant. I would blame anyone for securing a better working environment if that was the case.

If west coast didn’t I suspect we’d have a PSD selection before freo. Maybe we could re draft him? Haha

egg on a few faces in here... 🙈

Judd leaving has got more than a trace of "made him an offer he could refuse," which suggests we weren't prepared to keep him at all costs.

I will never be childish when it comes to Ghostwriter. LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE.

9 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

funny thing is... is he even in the best back 7 for flagmantle, which already looks seriously good?

all these guys played 17 or more games in 2025 - clark, ryan, cox, chapman, worner, banfield, wagner, and pearce just misses out with 16 times hitting the field

who does mcvee get in ahead of? wagner, who moves onto a defensive wing position?

plays ahead of worner, banfield and wagner, and honestly chapman is a bit eh too but at least doesnt whinge about doing the team thing and locking down, and he was a top 10 pick!

9 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

It actually annoys me how hard Howes had to work to get senior games down back this year, while McVee had such a poor year and was never once dropped.

howes is no better than a vfl plodder, and is going to be gifted games on teh basis that everyone around him is falling away, has nothing going for him that suggests he is afl standard.

I like the cooper simpson shouts, but LJ is the play here, i think we are a massive sniff if we play our cards right

1 hour ago, Trident22 said:

yeah, it was serious low footy IQ that play, and I saw him repeat it again this year. All he had to do against the Blues was stand the mark, or spoil...he completely overcommitted on the spoil...and lost his feet and we were gone.

For a very good defensive player he's not physical, he rarely takes the body when spoiling. But good coaches can teach that. And he does plenty of brave things. He's just a player that favours evasive maneuvers over physicality.

Maybe Melbourne haven't gone all out to keep him as they think that lack of physicality might come back to bite at some stage. But I'd hope now, as the game seemingly only gets more and more spread out and reliant on skills.

36 minutes ago, doomsday dee said:

Neither but a good friend of mine,knows a mate that knows the father

Wow its like your best buddies. Better blindly stick up for him and simp at every turn then.

4 minutes ago, Mouseymoo said:

Wow its like your best buddies. Better blindly stick up for him and simp at every turn then.

11 minutes ago, Mouseymoo said:

Next year will be a interesting watch,there's alot of upside to McVees game,a new team will bring it out,maybe,imagine being Salem 2021 and hitting forwards that lead to the ball

First Jackson, now McVee. Signing players from Western Australia often comes with an inbuilt go-home factor attached.

I am disappointed to lose McVee, but those criticising him personally have to realise that AFL has morphed from a sport into a business in which player movement is likely to become even more common.

When contracts are up, players are free to seek greener pastures elsewhere, and sadly we are hardly a destination club at the moment.

In the circumstances, it may be wise to re-think the plan to move Steven May on.

25 minutes ago, Dee-tonator said:

First Jackson, now McVee. Signing players from Western Australia often comes with an inbuilt go-home factor attached.

I am disappointed to lose McVee, but those criticising him personally have to realise that AFL has morphed from a sport into a business in which player movement is likely to become even more common.

When contracts are up, players are free to seek greener pastures elsewhere, and sadly we are hardly a destination club at the moment.

In the circumstances, it may be wise to re-think the plan to move Steven May on.

Yeah, I agree...

But

I Still have this feeling we have been lead on a merry dance with this bloke. Which I do not appreciate.

Not necessary. either be honest. or keep quiet. I do not care... but feed the faithful [censored]. not ok.

2 minutes ago, red and blue forever said:

Yeah, I agree...

But

I Still have this feeling we have been lead on a merry dance with this bloke. Which I do not appreciate.

Not necessary. either be honest. or keep quiet. I do not care... but feed the faithful [censored]. not ok.

But perhaps I am delusional

1am, forums, magic mushrooms.. probably not a great mix