Posted
1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

45 for Daniel is terrible business.  He’s declining.  Short and slow !!! On far too many $$$ as well !!! 

Won't get too many arguments from me

Posted

I want it because I feel really good about this draft (as always in septmember), but I also want De Koning.

Future picks would be needed to make De Koning happen, I suspect. And given that we'll be wanting some 'burnables' to acquire White (touch wood) some smart future pick trading might also give us a head start on getting 2025 trade/draft organised.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

I want it because I feel really good about this draft (as always in septmember), but I also want De Koning.

Future picks would be needed to make De Koning happen, I suspect. And given that we'll be wanting some 'burnables' to acquire White (touch wood) some smart future pick trading might also give us a head start on getting 2025 trade/draft organised.

What De Koning are you dreaming of getting?

Posted

Glad to hear we’re targeting another first round pick 

And even better that it looks like we’re doing it in a way where we retain our future first rounder 

I’m not against trading our future first, but it could be a valuable pick to target an out of contract player like Callaghan next year 

Posted
36 minutes ago, ANG13 said:

What De Koning are you dreaming of getting?

Apparently Sam De Koning filthy on being left out 2nd final in a row.

Posted
6 hours ago, BLWNBA said:

Melbourne strongly targeting Brisbane’s first round pick, currently Pick 15 (1112 points). 

Sending pick 25 from Adelaide (756 points), Pick 38 received from Sydney (465), and Pick 50 will give the Lions 1,494 points to assist with the acquisition of L. Ashcroft. 

Says who mate?

No disrespect intended but this sounds completely made up.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Apparently Sam De Koning filthy on being left out 2nd final in a row.

Thanks. Apologies to @Little Goffy, I seriously have paid zero attention to team selection and had no idea Sam had been left out. 

Posted
7 hours ago, ANG13 said:

Thanks. Apologies to @Little Goffy, I seriously have paid zero attention to team selection and had no idea Sam had been left out. 

Not paying attention to Geelong team selection is a credit to your reputation.

Posted

I think if we were to pull this off I could see us zoning in on Cooper Hynes with this pick.

Posted
8 minutes ago, FreedFromDesire said:

This makes total sense, and I think we need to perhaps brace ourselves for an underwhelming trade and free agency period in terms of incoming players. I can see us adding a couple of depth types, but I think most of the action for us will be around draft pick trading as we target the top end of the draft. Brisbane an obvious one, but also Gold Coast, Fremantle and potentially Richmond all options for us to deal with as well, for varying reasons.

The cap becomes intriguing for us with our change of circumstance also in my view. We get a 90% discount on Gus' contract next year and you'd think we had the earmarked for Houston, and perhaps the Gawn and Viney re-signings were around rearranging contracts also. So, what happens now? We've likely cleared space there but lost the target that according to reputable journos was an absolute lock for us before the Petracca mess.

We don't seem to be linked to anyone now who would take considerable cap space. So there's potentially things we can do there if we can be creative.

I think you will find it wasn’t Tracc, it was us dropping to pick 5, which we deemed far too much for Houston.

Posted

6 hours ago,  BigMacjnr said:

Appreciate opinions from our resident youth track watchers as the best but realistic sliders we could pick up if we obtain Brisbane's first round pick?

Given Lions have now made to preliminary week, their 1st pick “live” would be 15 (lose prelim ) or 17 (lose GF) or 18 (win premiership). 

in this range, are players like

Jobe Shanahan - Bendigo. key position forward.

Cooper Hynes - Dandenong. Tall mid.

Alix Tauru - Gippsland. tall fwd/back
Bo Allan - WA. Mid 
Joe Berry - Murray. HFF/mid
Tom Gross - Oakleigh. Mid.
Alex Dodson- SA . Ruck

Posted
1 hour ago, FreedFromDesire said:

I don't agree at all. Petracca and Houston share the same agent, and it was mentioned just this week (apologies I can't remember which journalist, think it was Cleary or Edmund) that Houston was an absolute lock to come to Melbourne up until the Petracca situation unfolded.

Also, would have been pretty easy for us to split that pick, or find another way to get the deal done if the club did believe pick 5 was too high - Personally, I think given our trade history we would have swapped it for him.

It was both. We didn't want to pay what they were asking, so CSM through us under the bus and used Trac as the excuse.

Posted
2 minutes ago, FreedFromDesire said:

I still disagree unless you can provide a factual source for this assertion?

Trade period hasn't even started, so I would find it hard to believe we walked away from negotiations before they had even begun. I've not seen the 'we didn't want to pay pick 5' argument anywhere other than from a couple of posters on Demonland, so, no slight on yourself of course, but that makes it even harder to believe.

Even harder to believe is a sports management company, who presumably manage multiple Demons, would do such as a thing as you have accused them of when their relationships with clubs are critical to their business.

That's fine. Believe what you want.

A poster I trust already confirmed what I've said on the same pages of Demonland a few days ago.

Posted
1 hour ago, FreedFromDesire said:

I don't agree at all. Petracca and Houston share the same agent, and it was mentioned just this week (apologies I can't remember which journalist, think it was Cleary or Edmund) that Houston was an absolute lock to come to Melbourne up until the Petracca situation unfolded.

Also, would have been pretty easy for us to split that pick, or find another way to get the deal done if the club did believe pick 5 was too high - Personally, I think given our trade history we would have swapped it for him.

If they have the same agent he would have known Tracc’s gripes, so how would Houston have been an absolute lock?

Also now the Tracc situation has seemingly settled, so why isn’t he still an absolute lock?

It is to do with pick 5 I believe.

Posted
4 minutes ago, adonski said:

We should chase the priority pick Brisvegas may apply for once this games done!

You mean the PP that will go with number 1 in the draft, Levi Ashcroft.

Posted
59 minutes ago, adonski said:

We should chase the priority pick Brisvegas may apply for once this games done!

cars reverse GIF by Top Gear

Posted
On 20/09/2024 at 16:26, BLWNBA said:

Melbourne strongly targeting Brisbane’s first round pick, currently Pick 15 (1112 points). 

Sending pick 25 from Adelaide (756 points), Pick 38 received from Sydney (465), and Pick 50 will give the Lions 1,494 points to assist with the acquisition of L. Ashcroft. 

This will push out to pick 20+ post father sons, free agency compo, NGA, ACDC, etc

Is there much point in doing it

Posted
16 minutes ago, adonski said:

This will push out to pick 20+ post father sons, free agency compo, NGA, ACDC, etc

Is there much point in doing it

It’s often first in best dressed with moving up in the draft but I’d rather actually wait until the draft and see just who is available at the picks before we trade up this year. It’s a deep draft so someone should fall to 30, meanwhile I reckon we got caught out in 20/21 and even last year trading up and not getting our most preferred targets. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

It’s often first in best dressed with moving up in the draft but I’d rather actually wait until the draft and see just who is available at the picks before we trade up this year. It’s a deep draft so someone should fall to 30, meanwhile I reckon we got caught out in 20/21 and even last year trading up and not getting our most preferred targets. 

So who do you think was our preferred target last year?

Posted
7 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I reckon we initially thought windsor may be available at our second, first rounder

Which prompted the late trip to Kolts

Posted
59 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I reckon plan A was to have Windsor sneak through and grab Curtin/Caddy first.

Plan B was Windsor at 7, hope 2 others (Wilson, ?) went and then have one of the talls in Caddy/Curtin/O’Sullivan get through.

Not that I’m unhappy with Kolt or that he wouldn’t have been part of the plan to go up and secure someone higher up. But he wasn’t the optimal result.

It’s obviously better when you have situation like Rivers in 2019 fall to your pick and you get the win of the player without spending more draft capital.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, FreedFromDesire said:

I still disagree unless you can provide a factual source for this assertion?

Trade period hasn't even started, so I would find it hard to believe we walked away from negotiations before they had even begun. I've not seen the 'we didn't want to pay pick 5' argument anywhere other than from a couple of posters on Demonland, so, no slight on yourself of course, but that makes it even harder to believe.

Even harder to believe is a sports management company, who presumably manage multiple Demons, would do such as a thing as you have accused them of when their relationships with clubs are critical to their business.

Hi FFD, just curious but would you happen be the artist formally known as Lord Nev? 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
4 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I think if we were to pull this off I could see us zoning in on Cooper Hynes with this pick.

Hope so. Jagga Smith and Cooper Hynes with Rivers, Kozzy, McVee and Kolt would transform our midfield.