Just now, ElDiablo14 said:

One thing is to have a third party spreading rumours. But to have your own reps to go and offer your services to a rival club while under contract?

I really don't see an issue with it. Playing the field to see his worth. Club can always say no. Waterman is doing the same at the Eagles off the back of our interest.

Club has to pay 95% of the cap and players have to accept less so that all the stars can fit on the list. If the highest paid player goes and we're only recruiting from the draft then that extra money should be spread around the senior players.

4 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

I really don't see an issue with it. Playing the field to see his worth. Club can always say no. Waterman is doing the same at the Eagles off the back of our interest.

Club has to pay 95% of the cap and players have to accept less so that all the stars can fit on the list. If the highest paid player goes and we're only recruiting from the draft then that extra money should be spread around the senior players.

Except is Waterman not out of contract? 
Completely different. 

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Except is Waterman not out of contract? 
Completely different. 

Waterman signed an extension last year. He'd be worth a lot more after this season.

Just now, KozzyCan said:

Waterman signed an extension last year. He'd be worth a lot more after this season.

My mistake. I thought he was OOC. 

Still his manager came out last week and said he was happy. In a time where our club is already under intense scrutiny, why add to it? 

I don’t want to even contemplate the possibility of losing Pickett. It’s actually incomprehensible right now, and goes against everything I’ve heard of him being happy and settled. 

If his manager is doing this for some extra cash, it’s pretty ordinary timing. 

Just now, Jaded No More said:

My mistake. I thought he was OOC. 

Still his manager came out last week and said he was happy. In a time where our club is already under intense scrutiny, why add to it? 

I don’t want to even contemplate the possibility of losing Pickett. It’s actually incomprehensible right now, and goes against everything I’ve heard of him being happy and settled. 

If his manager is doing this for some extra cash, it’s pretty ordinary timing. 

That first bit is why I'm sus that this is a legit trade request.  Could be other things too. Like the club gauging what we could get if we blew the list up and went full rebuild. Kozzy would be a strange choice to trade though. There's a lot of caveats in those tweets especially the bit 'if a trade is too hard, happy to stay at Melbourne' Doesn't seem anywhere near the Petracca situation.

8 hours ago, Nascent said:

What about this guy...

Yep. The one who can kick. Brayshaw and Serong are gun clearance winners in a game where mids need to be good by fit to be truly elite. The difference between them + Fyfe and the three Port boys on Sunday was stark. Similar to why Clarry getting fit won't mean he's back to his best either. The game is moving. 

3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

@Chook in Perth any info on this latest chapter of our never ending drama?

Only that this didn't come to light just this week. Freo and his manager have been talking about what ifs for some time.

The Punt Road stampede complicates things though. 

Just now, Chook in Perth said:

Only that this didn't come to light just this week. Freo and his manager have been talking about what ifs for some time.

What ifs? What if what? He only just signed a new deal. Was he not happy to stay?

What is a contract even worth anymore?

5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Apparently

1000_F_53953908_iZdN0a2ahgKLbCD8EWRpg9mz

Is that a long length one?

12 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

What ifs? What if what? He only just signed a new deal. Was he not happy to stay?

What is a contract even worth anymore?

What if he couldn't overcome the lack of family support with a baby. 

I think we might have to apply the ANB rule here, as much as it hurts.

14 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

Fremantle can't fit in Pickett's and Bolton's salary together which is the sticking point. Fremantle would love both them. 

Fremantle needs a buyer to pay for Switta's contract. Switta may be pushed out to make it happen 

2 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

kramer im out GIF

9 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

well his wife's sister does live in melbourne (both are darwin girls not wa girls)

so he does have some family support here

27 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

Yep. The one who can kick. Brayshaw and Serong are gun clearance winners in a game where mids need to be good by fit to be truly elite. The difference between them + Fyfe and the three Port boys on Sunday was stark. Similar to why Clarry getting fit won't mean he's back to his best either. The game is moving. 

We certainly had our chance to draft him! 

It would be a hilarious turn of events if we got in his ear and he requested a trade. Proper revenge for Jackson

1 hour ago, Chook in Perth said:

Thanks for the insights mate.

Any good news on the horizon?

Is it just me or would people be more upset if Kozzie goes rather than Trac?

And is it possible we just say to Kozzie, "sorry mate, Trac and ANB have already requested trades that we're working on and prioritising in trade week.  First in best dressed. We won't be facilitating a trade for you but we'll do everything we can to support you next year, and we'll allow you frequent trips back home."

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

16 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Is it just me or would people be more upset if Kozzie goes rather than Trac?

And is it possible we just say to Kozzie, "sorry mate, Trac and ANB have already requested trades that we're working on and prioritising in trade week.  First in best dressed. We won't be facilitating a trade for you but we'll do everything we can to support you next year, and we'll allow you frequent trips back home."

1000% if Pickett left I would be absolutely gutted. Much more so than if Trac left. 

I hope we move heaven and earth to do what we can to keep him. 
Whereas with Trac I hope we move heaven and earth to get an amazing trade and move him on. 

Trade him for a couple of firsts to the Dokkahs, he's obviously going home at some stage

3 minutes ago, adonski said:

Trade him for a couple of firsts to the Dokkahs, he's obviously going home at some stage

I hear what you’re saying, but we can’t trade out that much experience and class in one window. We would be fast tracking our way to be in Richmond’s position when Tassie comes in. 

1 minute ago, Colm said:

I hear what you’re saying, but we can’t trade out that much experience and class in one window. We would be fast tracking our way to be in Richmond’s position when Tassie comes in. 

Yes It's a balancing act.

Freo have 3 firsts this year and one next year to trade.

Will we get 2 first rounders for Pickett in a year, if he still goes? As good as he is, most clubs probably arent spending that on a small fwd.

Freo however with their draft hand can throw caution to the wind