Posted
2 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Not a bad idea, but I think the Tiges will target pick 2 from North.

Good call, although they’d still have the capital to go after 2 as well, maybe using 5 or 6. Three picks in the top 6 potentially.

Posted (edited)

Keep 5. Keep 9.  Keep “65”. 

likely draft order is

1-Lalor (tigers) 2- Ashcroft (lions father son ) 3- Tauru (NMFC) 4- O’Sullivan (blues) 5- Draper (crows) 

Dees look at Smith, Smillie or Langford.  Tough decision.  All are very good.
Langford probably is the one to take.  
(Tigers would grab Smith) (Saints would grab Smillie). 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
Y

Posted
On 08/10/2024 at 12:56, Jeremy said:

Tauru anyone ? Could be top 5

Yes yes yes still a good one at 9 for our midfield. 

Posted
On 15/10/2024 at 12:45, Sydee said:

I agree that Tarau looks a bit like a tall Heeney - at first I thought it was just the hair but he certainly does have some similar characteristics - he is so mobile I see no reason why he couldn’t ultimately play multiple positions including midfield. He is also not worried about a bit of physicality which is great. 

Really hoping we can grab him with either pick  

Here here Tauru absolute match winner to add to our mid or forward line. Will be as valuable yo us over the next decade as Shai Bolton or even better. Provides X factor to the max. 
We have a good mix of players on the ball and also up forward and he will provide the difference as any one of our players can be influential in the mix now if we get him. 

Will be great anywhere on ball cameos and dynamite up forward. Absolute match winner. Grab him first pick if still available and if not Langford I think. 

Posted
On 16/10/2024 at 10:55, higgsy75 said:

Would there be any possibility we would split this pick if the price was right? Say to Richmond for 10, 11 and 24. The first pick of the second round is always valuable, we could use it to build points for next year if we are confident in getting White as F/S, or take the pick if someone falls in the order. Still have 3 first rounders in this scenario.

Don’t have the list spots for that sort of split 

Posted
1 hour ago, 58er said:

Yes yes yes still a good one at 9 for our midfield. 

He’s rocketing up the board and def could be in our 9 calculations — I still think Armstrong but I’m personally now leaning towards Tauru thru his diverse position range 

Posted

I think our best option is still Smilie at #5 and Tauru or Armstrong at 9 but Tauru seems likely gone by then which is incredible — If one of Smith or Langford is available at 9 I’d say take em.. exciting times 

Posted
On 15/10/2024 at 09:19, dazzledavey36 said:

I reckon we'll have strong consideration for Smillie with this pick.

On 15/10/2024 at 09:48, spirit of norm smith said:

It will be interesting.  Smillie is now the wildcard pick given he’s slipped down most of the media predictions for top 5.  Was certainly equal 1st with Jagga Smith as the start of the year.  As I put in another thread, he’s defensive side got exposed at the championships and he didn’t show his true capabilities.   But he has very good skills, wins contested footy, kicks goals, kicks it 50-60 easily and has that 5-10 metre burst needed in the midfield. He could be an absolute elite player.  At 194cms, he’s a “Cripps” like type of player.  

Taking into account Langfords ability to play forward,whilst they are both big mid types I wouldn’t say no to both. Windsor potentially spending more time through the middle gives us some leg speed through there with Sharp and Langdon providing repeat endurance run. Kossie, Trac rotating through with Oliver (hopefully fitter and focused), Viney and Rivers it should give us greater depth through the middle which is much needed.

Having said that if North go tall I can’t see Draper getting past the Crows and don’t see Carlton not taking O’Sullivan if he’s there. 
1. Lalor/Langford

2. Tauru???

3. O’Sullivan

4.Draper 

5. Langford/Lalor

At this point I would expect Richmond to take Smith, leaving Smilie and Reid for the Saints. They need midfield depth and I see them taking Smilie 

Either way we get a really good midfielder IMO with 5 and expect it will be one of Lalor, Langford or Smilie 

Posted
3 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Taking into account Langfords ability to play forward,whilst they are both big mid types I wouldn’t say no to both. Windsor potentially spending more time through the middle gives us some leg speed through there with Sharp and Langdon providing repeat endurance run. Kossie, Trac rotating through with Oliver (hopefully fitter and focused), Viney and Rivers it should give us greater depth through the middle which is much needed.

Having said that if North go tall I can’t see Draper getting past the Crows and don’t see Carlton not taking O’Sullivan if he’s there. 
1. Lalor/Langford

2. Tauru???

3. O’Sullivan

4.Draper 

5. Langford/Lalor

At this point I would expect Richmond to take Smith, leaving Smilie and Reid for the Saints. They need midfield depth and I see them taking Smilie 

Either way we get a really good midfielder IMO with 5 and expect it will be one of Lalor, Langford or Smilie 

Why not Smith in the mix? 

Posted
5 minutes ago, 2021 said:

Says bugger all, but a short Melbourne summary:

On November 8, the pick swap window will close again, until draft night, when it will be pried open once more.

MELBOURNE

Current draft hand: 5, 9

List boss Tim Lamb said the Dees would look at how many vacancies they leave before planning a draft strategy.

With just two top-10 picks, they are well placed for top talent, but have nothing else in the cupboard.

The Dees don’t have a future first, after giving that to the Bombers to get pick nine, but have three future thirds to get creative with.

Posted
1 hour ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

Why not Smith in the mix? 

I expect us to have the choice between Lalor and Langford who I have ahead of Smith. Richmond will IMO take one of those 2 at 1 and I expect it to be Lalor.

They get the big bodied mid and IMO will take Smith at 6 who compliments the big body. They may take him at 1 if  they really want Smith, but I think they take Lalor

Posted
9 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I expect us to have the choice between Lalor and Langford who I have ahead of Smith. Richmond will IMO take one of those 2 at 1 and I expect it to be Lalor.

They get the big bodied mid and IMO will take Smith at 6 who compliments the big body. They may take him at 1 if  they really want Smith, but I think they take Lalor

Do you think we'd pass on Smith if he's available at 5? Surely he's just about exactly what we're after?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Do you think we'd pass on Smith if he's available at 5? Surely he's just about exactly what we're after?

Yes I think we will if either of Lalor or Langford are there. Don’t get me wrong I do rate Smith, I just have the other 2 ahead

Posted
17 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Yes I think we will if either of Lalor or Langford are there. Don’t get me wrong I do rate Smith, I just have the other 2 ahead

Who would you take between Lalor and Langford? I've liked Langford for a long time personally, but it's really hard to not be excited by just about all of these guys. 

I also love Draper and feel he'd be a great fit but would be shocked if the Crows didn't snap him up.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

From all reports there seems to be a pretty clear top 4 now. Richmond are keen to take Lalor at 1. Yes the injuries and tank are questionable but he and FOS have the two highest upsides to be top 5 AFL players

Lalor

FOS

Smith

Draper

So we're going to be choosing between Langford and Smilie unfortunately. If Smith dropped to us I would take him in a heartbeat. Perfect complimentary piece to our midfield bulls and has similar traits to Daicos.

Posted
5 hours ago, Ted Lasso said:

Who would you take between Lalor and Langford? I've liked Langford for a long time personally, but it's really hard to not be excited by just about all of these guys. 

I also love Draper and feel he'd be a great fit but would be shocked if the Crows didn't snap him up.

I’d probably take Langford, but it’s marginal.

And I also like Draper

Posted
5 hours ago, Young Blood said:

From all reports there seems to be a pretty clear top 4 now. Richmond are keen to take Lalor at 1. Yes the injuries and tank are questionable but he and FOS have the two highest upsides to be top 5 AFL players

Lalor

FOS

Smith

Draper

So we're going to be choosing between Langford and Smilie unfortunately. If Smith dropped to us I would take him in a heartbeat. Perfect complimentary piece to our midfield bulls and has similar traits to Daicos.

I’m not upset at taking Langford 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I’m not upset at taking Langford 

I just wish he wasn't so slow. I knew he wasn't the fastest and relied more on his strength. But his draft combine was particularly underwhelming.

Posted
14 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

1. Lalor/Langford

2. Tauru???

3. O’Sullivan

4.Draper 

5. Langford/Lalor

Agree with you that Windsor should be in the centre. A natural progression of a superstar in the making. Will rival one of the stars in the Swans trio. His career will possibly as as already been lauded or alluded close to the late great Robbie Flower.

The difference will be we still have our A graders and champs potentially to enjoy as well if they are back to their best. I am backing them to be as good as ever and for us to improve with our youngsters on the improve.

Bring on 2025 let’s show the doubters Dees. 

Posted

Always go with best available with first round picks, particularly top 10.  Good coaches will adjust the game plan to suit. Good clubs will trade in players to fic gaps.

Note premiers often have players traded in to fix gaps i.e. Brisbane with Daniher, Collingwood with Howes, Geelong with Tuohy, Dee's with Brown, Tigers with Lynch.  

The trick is to identify where the gaps are likely to be, before they evolve. Unfortunately Brayshaws early retirement and possibly Smirh's unavailability could not be foreseen (throwing future planning into chaos).

Posted (edited)

Anyone watched Reid closely this year? He doesn’t seem to get talked about as much in that top 3 (in this forum and some other articles I’ve read) as his highlights reel and some of the write-ups I’ve read suggest he should… 

Is he our #5 if he slips? Good user, excellent decision maker, gets heaps of it, goal kicker…

Edited by The Jackson FIX
Posted
1 hour ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Anyone watched Reid closely this year? He doesn’t seem to get talked about as much in that top 3 (in this forum and some other articles I’ve read) as his highlights reel and some of the write-ups I’ve read suggest he should… 

Is he our #5 if he slips? Good user, excellent decision maker, gets heaps of it, goal kicker…

He will likely slip back. He is small and not particularly fast. As a small mid you want something that sets you apart more than just being a good user.

His highlight reels look great but I understand the reservations on him.

Posted
1 hour ago, The Jackson FIX said:

He’s a high IQ footballer and is very clean with his skills in all conditions.  Stood out as one of the best for Metro in wet conditions against the Allies…his cleanliness and quick mind gave him much more time than others.  His creativity in tight is as good as I’ve seen at junior level.

Went on to dominate champs. Can see him being a game breaker, BUT the limitations with his pace had created a perception that he won’t become a true mid at the level (won’t be able to break away on offence, run quick enough defensively on transition). He’s a smart footballer, so maybe he’ll find a way to compensate, he had been compared to Pendles, but SP has around 8cm on him and has always been good overhead. 

Probably sits in a rung just below the first group and it gets very even there. Could go 8, could go 18.

Posted
On 15/10/2024 at 12:33, layzie said:

I keep toying with the idea of reaching for Lindsay at 9 but is it just that, a reach?

This time last year we all would have considered Windsor to be a massive reach, and that's worked out pretty well, so reach away I say. I have no doubt JT will reach for the name of whoever he has highest on his board regardless of media/bigfooty groupthink. Other "reaches" he's made like Oliver, Jackson, Kozzy and Caleb have been great picks. 

It's so good to have faith in our drafting these days. I'd love Lalor or Jagga to fall to us but if they were available and JT read out another name I wouldn't be bothered at all because I'd back in our drafting dept every time.

• Like 15