1 hour ago, BLWNBA said:

Which is why I said he's a (huge) "part of the problem".

Just easier to blame one

1 hour ago, Abyssal said:

Yes it is, and so it should be.

Goodwin has been ‘in charge’ for 9 years. He is at the very top of the blame list, for good reason.

Add to that list many of the senior players together with coaching assistants and some personnel in List Management and Fitness.

Then going to have to get rid of a lot more than him. It’s just scapegoating

29 minutes ago, Macca said:

Let's not forget that Goodwin was relegated to the bench a few years ago and with it, a number of responsibilities were taken away from him

Anyway, at least Goodwin is trying his best

Can't say the same for the Mercenaries & freeloaders sucking money out of the club (certain players)

What are you on about? Goodwin publicly stated he'd be in the box this year. He chose to go back down to the bench during our 0-5 start to the year.

Who on earth has the power to 'relegate' the head coach to the bench? What nonsense.

3 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

who was the last premiership coach sacked within four years since saluting?

Norm Smith?

Question. We supposedly breached the 666 rule but it must have been for a second time otherwise there would have been a ball up

Can anyone direct me to when the first infraction was?

Thanks in advance

3 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

Even Bevo survived longer.

I don't think Goodwin will have a job any time soon once he departs the MFC. Unless he is willing to go back to being an assistant.

Just now, jnrmac said:

Question. We supposedly breached the 666 rule but it must have been for a second time otherwise there would have been a ball up

Thanks in advance

I think Max suggested it was in the second quarter mate, he mentioned it in his interview.

1 minute ago, jnrmac said:

Thanks in advance

I think Max Gawn mentioned this in the morning. Apparently they got a warning during the second quarter.

27 minutes ago, SFebes said:

I find it odd that he persists to coach from the bench, you just cant see the whole picture from down there, at this level of football, you need to be across absolutely everything.

What's different... he can't see it from the box either !!

He's probably a dead man walking, but are we comfortable that we're in a position to make the correct decision around a new head coach?

CEO hasn't started.

New President.

Richardson gone at the end of the season.

Wouldn't be shocked if he's still coaching next year.

2 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Thanks in advance

Im not even sure how Demons can overstep 666 . Seems ironic.

2 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Even Bevo survived longer.

I don't think Goodwin will have a job any time soon once he departs the MFC. Unless he is willing to go back to being an assistant.

i reckon it might've been tony jewell - sacked at the end of 81 after coaching tigs to the premiership in 80

it was robert walls - sacked 18 months by ian collins after the 87 premiership

barney survived 5 seasons after guiding the filth to the 1990 premiership, finishing at the end of 95

Edited by whatwhat say what

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

Off the top of my head maybe Robert Walls

Malthouse got sacked a couple years BEFORE he won the flag haha. Guys like Roos, Thompson and Hardwick all left of their own accord.

Clarkson and Simpson got 6 years each

On 04/08/2024 at 21:40, middleagedemon said:

Along with the obvious disadvantages that all teams face every year, why don't we look at some of the contributing factors that have remained with us as a side for far too long now. And are the reason that all supporters get so frustrated with Goodwin. 

1: Jackson replacement/genuine Gawn support. Why is it that Goodwin defenders cannot seem to handle criticism of the failings in this area? It's been a significant fail given the way we have relied on him and provided next to no support. If dlanders are happy to throw up the injury excuse when he's out or when 'carrying' injury, how do you not point the finger at Goodwin and co for providing no support in a game where injury is bound to happen to anyone at any time? Especially so when part of your game-plan has been built around Max Gawn. 

2: Midfield balance/attribute diversity I've banged on about this for I don't know how many years and it has plagued us in just about every game in which a team brings heat to our midfield. How much longer will it continue? Look no further than the first possession that we had on Friday night against the Dogs. Viney racing for a ball in dispute, gets to it and has two free Melbourne players if he manages to hook a dominant hand handball over his right shoulder. But no, he sees red, handballs blindly forward straight to a doggies player who takes possession. That kind of play is emblematic of our entire midfield unit when any serious heat is applied. And it happened all night. We have a contested heavy, ball winning heavy midfield unit who all lack in the same area when under pressure. Composure and disposal. 

It is that simple. We win the ball in tight and give it up almost immediately when the heat is applied. And every single side that have a half decent midfield know this when they play us. As the game goes on, the more desperate our mids become to win a clearance/contest and the more we swarm to the same ball and man with ball, in part because these mids have been 'ball winning' players since they were kids and desperation kicks in. The commentary around our lack of pace/run and the 'fatigue' comments are actually by-products of what is happening in close. We give the ball up that easily when heat is applied, it makes the opposition look quicker, fitter and like they have more players on the ground. When opposition half-backs could see the standard set by their mids on fri night, they knew they could have a field day by rolling the dice and streaming off their men, getting that call right the majority of the night due to how easily we were giving the ball up in close if we were getting our hands on it. (Which for much of the night we weren't even doing). So then it's two fold. You've got oppo half-backs playing their own game of footy as their mids are just consistently either winning first possession themselves and handballing out of congestion and then to running half backs, or they knew if we were to get first possession, we'd likely cough it up thanks to the the heat their team mates were applying in close and our lack of composure and disposal came to the fore. 

When the dogs bring heat like that, they look a million bucks because they are one of a few clubs who have mids who excel at feeding a ball out of a contest with a quick, smart handball under pressure. Libba and Bont specifically are specialists at this. Even Treloar has better hands in close than most if not all our mids. 

Now, clearance altogether has two parts to it. The one I listed above and the second being our actual setup at both centre bounce and stoppage. Both our positioning and lack of connectedness with Gawn has been wildly inconsistent for too long. Another issue that Binman and his brigade seem to ignore when they say things like, 'oh well, we don't place a premium on clearances anyway'. 

How about nah. Clearance gives you complete ascendency if you get it right. End of the third Q grand final? 

3: Forward setup/personnel. 

Again. How long? Let's go back to last year's finals and those who basically said inaccuracy cost us the flag. That might be so, but that has been in part down to game-plan and personnel. And inaccuracy has cost us in plenty of other games over the last few years. I'm not sure what Goodwin expects when he plays two key defenders as key forwards and one young kid who is still learning how to be a forward at AFL level. (JVR played a lot of defence as an under-aged kid and I don't classify him as a classical key forward).

Our inability to land one has been telling. We have a make-shift forward line that consistently looks like a dogs breakfast with little to no predictability in the way it moves. At the very least, Ben Brown was a straight line ball leader, which created vacuums of space for specialist forwards like Fritsch or Kosi to creep into. Goodwin has seemed happy to continue to play 'competitors' which means our kids are again happy to bomb away into the forward 50 with little to no intentionality. 

This problem also goes hand-in-hand with our midfield issue which I highlighted above. We have average ball user through our midfield when under no pressure and they're poor when under pressure. 

So, what will it take for us to land a specialist forwards assistant coach and perhaps a complete re-think of the type of players we want to have inside 50? Are we prepared to continue to play Fritsch when the ball isn't perfect for him given his complete disinterest in competing defensively? Another factor in why opposition teams waltz the ball out of our defence. Opposition defenders completely exploit that part of Fritsch's game. Do people notice this? When will Goody hold him to account? I won't hold my breath given the myriad of issues we have in our forwardline anyway. 

Ben Brown at full fitness is what this team misses more than supporters give credit for and we need to bring in another player of that type pronto. 

So, whilst I'm not in the 'sack Goody' camp. I certainly think that he's done this team no favours in the last few years and if he is not to blame, who we blaming? The umpires? Injury? Fitness? 

How about no. Those things will be there every year, period. Sure Petracca has been a missive loss. But that's even more telling! If a team is that reliant on one player, there are some serious underlying issues. 

And just so it's clear, I'm no doomsdayer. I believe we can rectify, recalibrate and go again whilst we still have some key pillars. But we need to absolutely nail this off-season and nail the pre-season and actually fix some of these underlying issues that have existed for far too long. 

If not, it will indeed be a wasted era. 

This post is from almost exactly a year ago and remains shockingly relevant, even with Kozzie spending way more time in the middle.

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

i reckon it might've been tony jewell - sacked at the end of 81 after coaching tigs to the premiership in 80

barney survived 5 seasons after guiding the filth to the 1990 premiership, finishing at the end of 95

Think this might be it. Dennis Pagan claims he was pushed out by North in 2002.

Fox Sports
No image preview

Denis Pagan reveals he was forced out of the club he coac...

Kangas forced me out: Pagan

4 minutes ago, Davos said:

He's probably a dead man walking, but are we comfortable that we're in a position to make the correct decision around a new head coach?

CEO hasn't started.

New President.

Richardson gone at the end of the season.

Wouldn't be shocked if he's still coaching next year.

It is currently a shambles - club wide, across the board.

16 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Let's be realistic. Are you planning to move on Petracca, Oliver, Salem, etc in one off season? Is that even feasible?

Trade out Oliver & Salem yes.

4 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Think this might be it. Dennis Pagan claims he was pushed out by North in 2002.

Fox Sports
No image preview

Denis Pagan reveals he was forced out of the club he coac...

Kangas forced me out: Pagan

he left tho, rather than was sacked

alan joyce sacked 2 years after the 1991 premiership

11 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

What are you on about? Goodwin publicly stated he'd be in the box this year. He chose to go back down to the bench during our 0-5 start to the year.

Who on earth has the power to 'relegate' the head coach to the bench? What nonsense.

He was told to be on the bench after the 2020 season. And certain responsibilities were given to Yze as a consequence

You might want to keep up with things

And lose your imbecilic obsession with Goodwin

Just now, Macca said:

He was told to be on the bench after the 2020 season. And certain responsibilities were given to Yze as a consequence

You might want to keep up with things, bud

And lose your imbecilic obsession with Goidwin as it makes you look like a complete fool

Along with your bogan mates on this thread

Source?

Keep up youself.

Good to see you continuing to revert to childish insults whenever you get called out on your bs. Have a good one.

simpson - 6 years post 18

clarkson - 6 years post 15

joyce - 2 years post 91

matthews - 5 years post 95

walls - 18 months post 87

jewell - 1 year after 80

mick malthouse is in a category all on his lonesome where he was sacked BEFORE he won in 2010

1 minute ago, Macca said:

You might want to keep up with things, bud

And lose your imbecilic obsession with Goidwin as it makes you look like a complete fool

Along with your bogan mates on this thread

1 minute ago, KozzyCan said:

Source?

Keep up youself.

Good to see you continuing to revert to childish insults whenever you get called out on your bs. Have a good one.

It's not BS

He was put on the bench for the 2021 season ... I never referenced this season

Learn how to read posts properly and stop wasting everyone's time

I am guessing Goody will be presenting some of this year's learnings to the Board tonight...

Just now, Macca said:

It's not BS

He was put on the bench for the 2021 season ... I never referenced this season

Learn how to read posts properly and stop wasting everyone's time

Who instructed him to be on the bench? Seriously, who actually told the senior coach to get our of the box? Surely you have a source for this? Happy to wait.

If you're not talking about this year than what relevance does it even have to our current issues?

@KozzyCan

I noticed that you continually slag off at any number of players on OTHER threads but not on this thread

Why is that? Don't want to spoil your own blinkered narrative

As for the insults... you started that stuff

Still arguing with yourself in the shower?