17 hours ago, DubDee said:

Yze was there in 22 and 23 during our straight set losses and where we bombed it long constantly.

He seems a good coach but his worth seems overstated on here

So Yze is not as good because he followed the coach's gameplan and actually played finals with it?

Instant success the moment he got here with the players he had.

2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Yes well if we all had the benefit of hindsight we end up with Curnow over Weideman and we probably have 3 flags in the last 5 years.

Can you please point me to the "wayback machine"

I wonder if the phones will continue to get a workout among the Board Members 🤔

Tbh.. I'm not expecting an iota of change. Lots of words... but no action.

1 minute ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Some mumbling and murmers in the media already about Goody going.

It's starting.

Tbh... might that just be the rabid 5th estate ??

54 minutes ago, lorn said:

Most likely they'll be big changes to the football department and probably assistant coaches with Goodwin surviving.

Which WONT address the CORE problem!

7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Yes well if we all had the benefit of hindsight we end up with Curnow over Weideman and we probably have 3 flags in the last 5 years.

Back To The Future GIF

12 hours ago, Redbeard said:

BB spent his last year in the reserves because the gameplan was changed to a style that didn't suit his strengths. Instead of kicking to leads it turned into bombing to packs.

I often wonder if Petts or JVR would be more successful if it was put out in front of them instead of bombed in where the loose defender can pick it off or 5 blokes smash into each other

I saw Roo and Petty on the weekend both give good hard leads that were ignored. You have to go out the lead (unless kicking to a better option) you can't ignore them and then bomb it to a pack. Petty's was in the last quarter and granted he probably would've fumbled or missed the goal anyway but at least he was offering an option.

11 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Why do we have to overhaul the list? We have some good youngsters coming through and a core of seniors that could still reach their peak. We desperately need a key forward though. The reasons we are where we are are Goodwin too defensive especially when the game is close. Too soft on Oliver. Oliver is the other reason, hasn't been any good since we won the flag. Plays poor football week in week out and never gets dropped. Solve those 2 problems and we will be back up there again.

We don't desperately need a key forward. We desperately need classy ball users with high footy IQ.

3 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Who would you go out of your way to trade out?

Not much we can do but the 2021 core should be looked at.

Salem

Oliver

Petracca

Lever?

May - nothing to do here, just one more year

Max - heart and soul

Viney - same as above

Fritsch ? - finding some good form

TMac - Playing very good footy, not sure if he would like to go again next year

Spargo - not much market value

Melksham - keep him for one more year and then make him our new kicking coach!

Petty - he should go back to be May's replacement, if he is committed to the club

Kozzy - our shining light

Rivers - should become full time mid field

Bowey - our most improved player

Sparrow - not sure what to do with him

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

We don't desperately need a key forward. We desperately need classy ball users with high footy IQ.

This.

Once we can actually connect well with our forwards, it will make things easier for our young guns like JVR and Jeffo. Then you can start dreaming about luring a KPF.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

That whole Shand review was obviously a sham.

Im guessing that whole process didn't come cheap either..

17 hours ago, Macca said:

BS ... you are the one making stuff up. As per usual

Forget 2025, that was not the year I was talking about.

In 2021 Goodwin was relegated to the bench and more power was given to Yze upstairs as a consequence. The rest of it was spin so as to not embarrass Goodwin further

Don't forget that he was close to being sacked back then? How is your memory?

And I am right

You can prove otherwise so like your little sidekick, stop wasting everyone's time

Can you please stop arguing and show a source where they said this?

There was no mention in that review that Goodwin relegated to the bench.

35 minutes ago, rufus said:

History says Goodwin is the biggest winner at the club. He won as a player and he found a way to win as a coach. I think that when everything settles, and people on this board see the unmitigated disaster that is going to unfold under the next coach, Goodwin will be looked back on as a genius for devising a style of play that:

1. Took opposition coaches about 18 months to work out how to combat.

2. Made a team that is incredibly one paced look like they could move at speed (at times) through the way they released to ball out the front.

3. Got a group of players to buy in and apply pressure, when history says they generally just don't want to do that for extended periods.

4. Helped a group of players who are historically bad from a skill and execution under pressure perspective to execute well enough to get to the ultimate prize.

Maybe we do have to acknowledge that 2021 may have been one of the biggest examples of great luck and great timing in sports history (who cares, they can't take it off us), but either way we cannot deny that he guided what surely looks to be an extremely weak group of players to a flag...

Stop living in the past mate. 2021 has absolutely zero relevance to anything that's going on right now.

I'm sure it would have looked pretty [censored] stupid if West Coast supporters were using the 2018 flag in 2022 as evidence that Simpson should stay.

21 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I saw Roo and Petty on the weekend both give good hard leads that were ignored. You have to go out the lead (unless kicking to a better option) you can't ignore them and then bomb it to a pack. Petty's was in the last quarter and granted he probably would've fumbled or missed the goal anyway but at least he was offering an option.

The ONLY option he should offer is in the backline, but Duffus coach can't or wont see it!

30 minutes ago, Bowserpower said:

So Yze is not as good because he followed the coach's gameplan and actually played finals with it?

Instant success the moment he got here with the players he had.

you don’t remember all the complaining about the midfield when he was midfield coach in 22 and 23?

As I said, I’m a fan of Yze but you can’t say he was responsible for our success and then when we failed say it was because he followed Goodys gameplay

2 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Stop living in the past mate. 2021 has absolutely zero relevance to anything that's going on right now.

I'm sure it would have looked pretty [censored] stupid if West Coast supporters were using the 2018 flag in 2022 as evidence that Simpson should stay.

I don't think I said he should stay. I think I might have said his position is probably untenable.

What I did effectively say is, I don't think he's the root of the problem. As a club and a supporter base we have made some of the most creative and bizarre excuses for straight up uncompetitive, soft and incompetent efforts from the playing group for way too long. If we think changing the coach is going to fix our problems then I reckon we're going to learn some really hard lessons (again) over the coming years.

11 minutes ago, Bowserpower said:

Can you please stop arguing and show a source where they said this?

There was no mention in that review that Goodwin relegated to the bench.

I don't need to show a source as there isn't one. Not a visible one anyway

In 2020 Goodwin coached from upstairs

In 2021 Goodwin coached from the bench whilst the newly appointed Yze was calling the shots from upstairs

This is a fact. Irrefutable

So I see that as demotion or at least having certain powers taken away from the coach

That's what I said here originally and I stand by what I said. Mine was an opinion of how I believed Goodwin's role had changed (and it did change)

I never quoted any sources

If you want to believe that Goodwin's role didn't change from 2020 to 2021 you'll be ignoring the truth

So trot off and go and bother someone else

By the way, you owe me an apology as I correctly forecast that we'd end up with 2 first round picks in the 2024 draft which included snagging Essendon's first round pick

You went off your head and accused me of making stuff up. You got it wrong (as per usual)

So show some character and apologise

44 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Who would you go out of your way to trade out?

Any player of any value except a number of youngsters including Langford, Lindsay & Windsor etc

Obviously not Gawn, Kozzie and probably May but anyone else? If the right offer came along for most of the others, the club should look at it

And there's at least a dozen NQR's clogging up the list. Many are contracted but some clubs might want them

There's a merry-go-round of fringe players that end up at other clubs and that won't change. We've got a number of candidates

19 minutes ago, Ugottobekidding said:

Lamb no 1

I know it's an unpopular opinion but I don't understand the hate for Lamb on here. The established players he has brought in since 2021 haven't been much chop - but with the gamestyle we had in 2022-2023 and the off-field issues that plagued our club since 2021, I don't think that's his fault. Players didn't / don't want to come to Melbourne.

He seems pretty shrewd when it comes to trading for picks etc.

3 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

I know it's an unpopular opinion but I don't understand the hate for Lamb on here. The established players he has brought in since 2021 haven't been much chop - but with the gamestyle we had in 2022-2023 and the off-field issues that plagued our club since 2021, I don't think that's his fault. Players didn't / don't want to come to Melbourne.

He seems pretty shrewd when it comes to trading for picks etc.

How come he couldn't bring a KPF after the flag? We knew it was the last piece of the puzzle, McKay was gettable. Yet not much fuzz or noise about it throughout the 2022 season.

While I'm normally a defender of Goody, after the weekend I find myself wondering if it's time to part ways. At the same time, if I'm being honest I think I'm just wanting to see better performances and after what we've lived through since 2021 it seems moving the coach on will make all the bad go away and things will immediately turn around... but will it really?

I've been pretty critical of Goody's coaching style / game plan since 2021... but I actually think the changes this year make the team more attacking and watchable... we just don't quite have the cattle to do it consistently (yet).

If Goodwin were sacked and we do make major changes to the list, is that really going to make us better - or will it actually resign us to the doledrums for 5 years (in a time when the AFL is pumping resources and draft picks into the new club).