Posted
12 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Does anybody have any vision of that incident?  I know that Bomber fans are ropable about it.

I initially thought that Turner stumbled over a prone Draper and made accidental contact with his head and expected an Essendon free kick, but I think Draper may have then raised his hand and grabbed Disco by the foot/ankle and was penalised for a trip.

You are correct it was an accidental contact with Draper but a solid kick to the head it was. About half through the 2nd Q. it was called a free under the ‘sliding in’ rule or whatever it is called. As Drsper made contact with Turner while on the ground.

Turner 100% assumed it was a Draper free

Posted
2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

You are correct it was an accidental contact with Draper but a solid kick to the head it was. About half through the 2nd Q. it was called a free under the ‘sliding in’ rule or whatever it is called. As Drsper made contact with Turner while on the ground.

Swings and roundabouts, we got done the same way a week ago, trying to remember those involved in the incident.

Posted
10 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I can’t remember a more satisfying win

Maaaaate really?

Try last round in 2021 at Kardinia Park. Trailing by 44 pts with 8m to go in the 3rd qtr.

Maxy wins it with a kick after the siren for the Dees to finish top of the ladder......

Posted
12 minutes ago, kev martin said:

Can the Cheer squad get a giant head of the "haircut" with that title and a sign of love #22, or, is that a bit overboard and could be seen as sarcasm, cynicism and opportunistic. 

Doesn't a win over the bombs make for a good week!

@WalkingCivilWar

Just had one of those great Thai massages, woo hoo.

We’d have to draw straws for which poor sucker has to hold it up, Kev. But on the bright side, he’d be so distracted staring at his giant head that we wouldn’t cop so many dodgy frees against.

And a big fat HELL YEAH to beating the great pretenders and basking in it for the week 🥳👊🏼❤️💙

Enjoy the rest of your time in Thailand but when you return to Aus you need to relieve me of track watching duties since methinks the novelty is starting to wane and folks would love to have you back. 💖

Posted
2 minutes ago, DEE fence said:

Swings and roundabouts, we got done the same way a week ago, trying to remember those involved in the incident.

i remember Viney getting done for it in a big final maybe 2018

It’s the rule I hate. Deters a player attacking the ball just because one bloke got injured? typical reactive nonsense from the AFL

Posted
6 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I just watched it and you’re right. That shouldn’t have been a free to Disco. You can hear the umpire say “contact below the knees” as if Draper had tripped Disco, which he hadn’t. Maybe old mate Drapes should’ve planked, it worked for him in the past. 😝

Posted
13 minutes ago, DubDee said:

That was a shocking call that went our way. 
I swear umpires have zero feel for the game. 

Posted
Just now, Jaded No More said:

That was a shocking call that went our way. 
I swear umpires have zero feel for the game. 

It was an odd call without doubt.... i mean, a dubious free going our way.  That said it still falls way short of compensation. The amount of times Milky was shoved or was blocked....  

I'll take the odd ones when they come along.

Posted
1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

It was an odd call without doubt.... i mean, a dubious free going our way.  That said it still falls way short of compensation. The amount of times Milky was shoved or was blocked....  

I'll take the odd ones when they come along.

I loved the free against Salem for a push in the back (no issues it was a free), but then Stringer was allowed to shove Judd in the back 10 times for no free. 
Just be consistent for god’s sake!

Posted
30 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Draper head-butted Turner’s foot. That’s the way I saw it. 

Report the [censored]! 

Posted

Watching and getting frustrated by Ben Mackay mark everything behind the ball gave me a solid understanding of how all oppo fans must feel watching Gawny week after week.

Posted

Liking what Jobe Watson’s saying about us in commentary and get to thinking I shouldn’t judge him so harshly and that maybe he’s not that dumb. Next thing, he’s referring to how Xavier Duursma is improving and he says, “His skills are now coming to the foray…” 🤦‍♀️

Posted
1 minute ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Liking what Jobe Watson’s saying about us in commentary and get to thinking I shouldn’t judge him so harshly and that maybe he’s not that dumb. Next thing, he’s referring to how Xavier Duursma is improving and he says, “His skills are now coming to the foray…” 🤦‍♀️

Loved how he flip flopped between Essendon controlling the game through possession to over possessing the ball, with them playing exactly the same footy

Posted

The 5 goals in 12 minutes in the last was 2021 like. 

take out the 60 seconds inbetween each goal and that is 5 goals in 7 minutes in the wet

Brilliant

Posted

McVee is only 185cm

how he competes and wins 1-1 against talls is unbelievable 

second coming of Corey Enright

Posted

Completely in keeping with the bombers soft mentality is when the game was over at 41 points they started kicking straight

I loved our aggression. Especially May, Viney and Koz. got in their face and they wilted 

Posted
1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Maaaaate really?

Try last round in 2021 at Kardinia Park. Trailing by 44 pts with 8m to go in the 3rd qtr.

Maxy wins it with a kick after the siren for the Dees to finish top of the ladder......

Agree I was over stating - just love beating Essendrug and bursting that smug SOB Scott’s balloon.

Posted
27 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Agree I was over stating - just love beating Essendrug and bursting that smug SOB Scott’s balloon.

Yeah me too. My most hated team

Posted
2 hours ago, DubDee said:

Its a great example of how our rules get bastardised over time. The front on rule has suffered the same fate. 

The sliding rule was brought in primarily because of Adam Goodes, who would slide in knees first to either a) a player already on the ground (the knees intended to damage the player) or b) a front on slide that was dangerous to an incoming  player's legs

Now, it is adjudicated as the Draper one was. Draper was on the ground and made a legitimate lunge to punch the ball to a team mate. Disco went to jump over him to get the ball but tangled his legs up (ironically how he got the name Disco) and in the process kneed Draper in the head. 

ANB often intentionally sees a player on the ground and feigns a trip over them to elicit a free,

It's not good.

Posted
2 hours ago, DubDee said:

That free kick to Turner when he kicked Drapers head is one of the worst calls i’ve ever seen

Please scrap the sliding rule AFL! Brought in off a single injury. horrible rule

That wasn't the only decision in our favour. TMac cannoned into Langford's back in the third but no free was paid. Ridiculous non-decision, was clearly in the back, probably high too.

Just awful umpiring last night.

Posted (edited)
20 hours ago, DeeZee said:

If Max doesn’t play , they will go with the same set up.

Van Rooyen as the main ruck with  Petty and Turner relieving him.

Blind Freddie can see that the Roo has come of age in the last few games. 
you can rely on him now to give you a contest every time.

After just watching the replay to me me he was amidst the most important player as he quelled the influence of their supposed ruck advantage.

Don't say that too loudly or the ruck police will have your nurries.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges
Posted
31 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Its a great example of how our rules get bastardised over time. The front on rule has suffered the same fate. 

The sliding rule was brought in primarily because of Adam Goodes, who would slide in knees first to either a) a player already on the ground (the knees intended to damage the player) or b) a front on slide that was dangerous to an incoming  player's legs

Now, it is adjudicated as the Draper one was. Draper was on the ground and made a legitimate lunge to punch the ball to a team mate. Disco went to jump over him to get the ball but tangled his legs up (ironically how he got the name Disco) and in the process kneed Draper in the head. 

ANB often intentionally sees a player on the ground and feigns a trip over them to elicit a free,

It's not good.

I think it was actually Lindsay Thomas who broke Gary Rohan’s leg, which brought in the rule

Posted
On 13/07/2024 at 22:44, Ethan Tremblay said:

It happened with North too. I’d like to think it’s not intentional from the umpires. Maybe when the momentum shifts the umpires just get sucked in. 

When the momentum shifts, the other team is getting to the ball first, which means we are more likely to infringe.

Posted
15 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

Yeah, he looks like a gun.

Wasn’t he a rookie draft ? Seriously the guy is a jet off half back, but is more damaging as a 3rd tall.