Posted
23 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

He was near stationary.
Both feet planted.
In this new world he might get a couple weeks cause the bloke was KO'd but the Karens calling for his head need to get a grip.
Play on I say.

The year 1978 just called, wants you to come back asap

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

The year 1978 just called, wants you to come back asap

I'm on my way.
2024 and the outbreak of squealing Karens is forked .

Edited by Fork 'em

Posted

It always seemed to me that, where the transgressed player misses games due to the injury caused, the transgressor's penalty should be at least as long.

Also, one game should be served when next playing that team.

Posted
28 minutes ago, Bystander said:

It always seemed to me that, where the transgressed player misses games due to the injury caused, the transgressor's penalty should be at least as long.

Also, one game should be served when next playing that team.

Which would mean that Angus’ assailant would never play again which would nearly be justice 

Posted

The AFL are almost as gutless as the act itself.

Posted (edited)

0 weeks, perfectly fair hip and shoulder shepherd easily below shoulder height, slowed up and didn’t even hit him hard.

Feel bad for the big chippy but you can’t keep allowing blokes to run around at (semi-)professional level with the awareness of a deer in the headlights.

Edited by DeeSpencer
Posted
2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

0 weeks, perfectly fair hip and shoulder shepherd easily below shoulder height, slowed up and didn’t even hit him hard.

Feel bad for the big chippy but you can’t keep allowing blokes to run around at (semi-)professional level with the awareness of a deer in the headlights.

In the good old days that would be true 'Dee'', but now if you choose to bump and cause damage you're done.

...by the way, not sure if you are being serious or taking the ....

Posted
4 minutes ago, rjay said:

In the good old days that would be true 'Dee'', but now if you choose to bump and cause damage you're done.

...by the way, not sure if you are being serious or taking the ....

I’m serious. The choose to bump thing is nonsense. I mean, I get it if you go high in any way with your shoulder, but there’s always going to be collisions, it’s a collisions sport. Parker didn’t pick him off from behind or the blind side, he was in full vision.

We’ve dumbed it down to such an extent that players have no awareness of a simple shepherd. It’s a great part of our game and you just can’t do it any more? Ok, one less contact here but there will be a heap more collisions in the rest of the game.

If Smith braces half a second earlier he rides the shepherd no worries at all. Instead his head flops around and the head clash leaves him injured. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

The choose to bump thing is nonsense.

It may or may not be but that's the way it's adjudicated.

12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

We’ve dumbed it down to such an extent that players have no awareness of a simple shepherd.

In this particular case where was the shepherd??? Smith's teammate had possession of the ball, not Parker's, there was no shepherd.

Posted
5 minutes ago, rjay said:

In this particular case where was the shepherd??? Smith's teammate had possession of the ball, not Parker's, there was no shepherd.

Parker isn’t aware of how far the ball rolls from the kick off the ground or the defender coming up inside 50 but it’s a 1 on 1 with the ball on the deck and 2 other swans running after it. Blocking a Frankston player gives Sydney a numerical advantage of players running inside 50. It’s a smart and fair play. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

It’s a smart and fair play. 

I wonder if that will comfort him for the next month or so as he spends his match days running sets of 400m by himself. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Parker isn’t aware of how far the ball rolls from the kick off the ground

So one player needs to show awareness but the other not???

Posted
35 minutes ago, rjay said:

So one player needs to show awareness but the other not???

You can’t predict the bounce of the ball or know where everyone on the ground is, but when you’re around the ball and someone is clearly coming in to shepherd you it’s basic stuff to see them and react. 

I’d be worried about Smith’s ability to walk down a busy street yet alone play a high level of footy. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

You can’t predict the bounce of the ball or know where everyone on the ground is, but when you’re around the ball and someone is clearly coming in to shepherd you it’s basic stuff to see them and react. 

I’d be worried about Smith’s ability to walk down a busy street yet alone play a high level of footy. 

The ball has left the area. Parker has eyes only for the man

Posted
16 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Using your analogy, if a person is walking down the road then a car driver should aim at them because it isn't their fault if kill a pedestrian when there are cars around. In that scenario, that driver would rightly go to jail. It is upon those people to take reasonable actions to avoid inflicting serious harm on the other person.

Streets are dangerous places where over 1000 people die each year. We try to manage roads so that people don't pay with their lives, in the same way that we manage the laws of the game so that people don't get picked off away from the play and spend the next 2 months being fed through a straw. 

Posted
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

When you run past the ball and hit a taller player in the head I think you might have a problem.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Bystander said:

When you run past the ball and hit a taller player in the head I think you might have a problem.

He didn’t run passed the ball, his team mate who got their first kicked it away from him. There’s a significant and important difference.

Running passed the ball to make contact with someone is often a cheap shot as they expect you to contest the footy and you don’t, as well as a bad play. 

He also didn’t hit a tall player in the head. Not from the angle I can see. Looks like the contact is well below the top of the shoulder but the big fella is completely unaware and his head flops around and they clash heads. 

I’d love a player like Parker on our list, and I’d be alarmed if any of our afl players couldn’t see or ride a straightforward bump. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

He didn’t run passed the ball, his team mate who got their first kicked it away from him. There’s a significant and important difference.

No it isn't. He elected to bump instead of contesting the ball, and the result of that bump was a broken jaw to a player that actually was trying to contest the ball. That's a very open and shut case.

I know you take pride in trying to be a contrarian but arguing in favour of more head injuries (especially a really obvious incident like this) is an odd hill to die on.

Posted
43 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Running passed the ball to make contact with someone is often a cheap shot as they expect you to contest the footy and you don’t, as well as a bad play. 

He also didn’t hit a tall player in the head. Not from the angle I can see. Looks like the contact is well below the top of the shoulder but the big fella is completely unaware and his head flops around and they clash heads. 

I’d love a player like Parker on our list, and I’d be alarmed if any of our afl players couldn’t see or ride a straightforward bump. 

So having read that, I looked at the vision again.

Parker clearly ran past the ball.

I am pretty sure that Smith, the big fella, being completely unaware, did not then decide to head butt Parker and manage to pull it off.

Posted
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

That is Absolute BS

Parker ran straight at the Player and broke his jaw….

Posted

If an opposition player did that to one of our young guys at Casey, everyone would be RIGHTLY screaming for a lengthy ban.

A totally unnecessary and dangerous cheap shot from an experienced AFL player who knows very well where his duty of care is.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I'm quite enjoying this banter between 1975 and 2024. 

Having played, not well, in the Yarra valley mountain league in the 70's, I regarded myself more 1975 than 2024.

I think the Maynard disgrace propelled me into 2023 and this is in the same category.