2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I certainly didn’t tear up during Tracs speech 

had something in my eye 

what a beautiful man

"When the moon hits your eye
Like a big pizza pie, that's amore"

• Author

Rivers I thought was a sneaky chance for top 5. Love May, I hope they put his speech up on the website un-edited. Oliver I thought may have snuck in for top 10 but missed too much footy. Will be interested to see the whole votes.

Did I mention I love May?

10 hours ago, DubDee said:

Came 11th.  It was close though

consistent year just not sure he'll get in the votes that often

Nibla 6th.

31 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Goody just mozzed the girls!

No worries. You can't mozz a goat.

Miyamoto Mushashi < Demons AFLW 2023.

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

He did, he won the coaches award. 

Oh that's some recognition then.  Nice

3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Not really. He missed 10 games. Except Gawn, the rest of the top 10 barley missed a game. 
Because every player gets a vote for every game, missing many games makes it impossible to do well. 

do they give votes for finals? if so that explains it. of his 15 games he was easily clear on disposals

not sure if the award should reward durability that much. but anyway well done all 

Just now, DubDee said:

do they give votes for finals? if so that explains it. of his 15 games he was easily clear on disposals

not sure if the award should reward durability that much. but anyway well done all 

Yes they do 

2 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Rivers I thought was a sneaky chance for top 5. Love May, I hope they put his speech up on the website un-edited. Oliver I thought may have snuck in for top 10 but missed too much footy. Will be interested to see the whole votes.

Did I mention I love May?

Don’t worry Tom Morris is already preparing the headline 

“Cocky Demons Think Pies Are No Good. May last seen at Entrecôte punching Maynard”. 

final.jpg

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Always has.  Which is the sole reason Robbie Flower only won one B&F.

Instead of about 10.

1 minute ago, Go the Biff said:

Instead of about 10.

strange format. i reckon it’s better to reward the best player not the least injured

If Kozzi didn’t get suspended he could have easily finished 3rd!

May was superb. 

9 minutes ago, binman said:

Nibla 6th.

easy to critique Binman. how did you go with your predictions?

Not going to lie. I wanted Jack to win. Loved how McVee finished top 10. 

Kozzie bit surprised with his position.

Not sure if it was a pointed message about culture but I think everyone in the room should have got the message.

Steven may. Ha ha. Wait until the pies fans find out what he said. Sadly they're having the last laugh 

9 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I think May came fifth because of his two amazing finals performances.

Goody made a note to say he played the best finals game he’s ever seen. Obviously in relation to his game against Carlton which was flawless. 
High praise from a coach who has seen Trac in a grand final. 

9 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Instead of about 10.

if Flower only won one i reckon the format might need to change the format. Is N Jones 3 times a better player?

Maysie speaking his heart and mind. 😍

Judd McVee top 10 BnF - what a 🌟

Trent Rivers calling the backline the "mens department"  🫣

A clear winner in Trac

A clear second in Vines

then 30 points separating 3rd and 10th

and where is Hunter?!

I do love how BnFs value defenders though. 

7 minutes ago, DubDee said:

If Kozzi didn’t get suspended he could have easily finished 3rd!

You’re kidding aren’t you? I’m genuinely amazed he finished top 10.

12 minutes ago, DubDee said:

strange format. i reckon it’s better to reward the best player not the least injured

But is someone really the best player for the season when they miss almost half the year? Where should the line be drawn? Get 60 possessions and kick 10 in round 1 then miss the rest of the season with injury? Maybe a team's best player on paper, but not the best player for the team over that season I'd suggest.

That said, regarding the Flower winning only 1 matter I'd agree there's scope maybe to tweak the scoring system. 

Edited by gs77
Typos etc

16 minutes ago, smiFFy said:

final.jpg

At 40 votes per game maximum (4 coaches each give a rating for each player out of 10), there was only one game between 3rd and 10th this year. Unbelievably even season.

1 minute ago, Beetle said:

That’s because you genuinely don’t know what role he’s being asked to play every week. 
Half this site thinks ANB is a liability but he came 6th. Go figure. 

The one set of awards you can’t complain about is the B&F. Our coaches give very specific votes for very nuanced things that we have no idea about. 

3 minutes ago, Beetle said:

not kidding. just being factual. he was 12 points off 3rd

I think Pickett's high rating from the coaches should be a good indication that he is under instructions to fly for marks in the forward line.

It's a defensive tactic designed to bring the ball to ground and prevent an intercept mark, and he does it consistently well, rarely giving away a free kick.