NON-MFC: Rd 21 2023

Just now, YearOfTheDees said:

But if you win you don't learn it just reinforces bad habits. 

Here’s hoping….

Just now, binman said:

Memo to the fox peanuts -

29 points at half time in perfect conditions IS an example of a team with connection and efficiency issues. 

Also memo to every AFL commentator: the Pies have deficiencies like everyone else. They are not, as we’ve been led to believe, holding the cup with one hand. 

Dear Garry Lyon. As a Dees man, I love what you have done for our club, and you were a gun when you played for us. Just a note though - there are 2 teams playing in the Hawks v Pies game and THE PIES ARE ACTUALLY BEHIND. The Hawks are playing better, and thwarting the "rampaging" Collingwood. Any chance you could mention some of the tactical nouse that the Hawks are using to thwart the Pies? Or even their great in-close pressure? Or their team defence. As much as I hate the Hawks, their play deserves respect.

2 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Dear Garry Lyon. As a Dees man, I love what you have done for our club, and you were a gun when you played for us. Just a note though - there are 2 teams playing in the Hawks v Pies game and THE PIES ARE ACTUALLY BEHIND. The Hawks are playing better, and thwarting the "rampaging" Collingwood. Any chance you could mention some of the tactical nouse that the Hawks are using to thwart the Pies? Or even their great in-close pressure? Or their team defence. As much as I hate the Hawks, their play deserves respect.

Garry Lyon is smart. Continue talking them up. Get them to listen to the noise and get complacent. All part of the plan I reckon 😂

5 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Also memo to every AFL commentator: the Pies have deficiencies like everyone else. They are not, as we’ve been led to believe, holding the cup with one hand. 

Shhhh.😀

1 minute ago, old55 said:

The great Nicky D - 3 possessions to half-time.  Been Maginnessed?

Best player in the country according to Dal Santo. Please. 

37 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

It's been nearly 2 seasons of playing at a high intensity it's  hard to keep up . I wont write them off but their game style must take a toll

The other thing is because they are the benchmark, even teams out of finsls contention wantto use them to do an audit of where their game is at.

And of course want to beat them. 

So they get no easy games.

It was def a factor for us last year.

The other  issue they face is a team like the hawks who ate not playing finals dont have dont have to worry about keeping their tactical cards to their chest. Dacois 3 kicks (including a free and a kick out) is evidence of what I mean.

The contenders get the benefit of seeing what works against them without having to show their hand.

3 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

I'm advised one of the three was a kick-in following a Hawthorn behind.  So really 2 in a half ...

8 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Coz according to the pie fan boys, you only need to play a season and a half of elite home and away games to be considered a great team or the best player.

By the by, on bont, he must be a shot at winning the Brownlow.

Daicos has had a brilliant year, but others will take votes off him.

And the bont has been the best player by a mile in at least 6-7 games I've seen - and he kicks goals.

He is also impossible to miss when he gets it - and can't be confused for his brother!

13 minutes ago, Megatron said:

Garry Lyon is smart. Continue talking them up. Get them to listen to the noise and get complacent. All part of the plan I reckon 😂

Yes, let’s encourage the over-rating media Collingwood “noise” to continue & keep our Dee’s quietly under the radar … we don’t want pre October adulation as it just creates a source of bath water 💧 … leave that for the pies [censored] to drink 👍

Edited by PerthDee

21 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Lyons 'what we all love about the way the pies play' (ie fast transition linking by hands) is one of their vulnerabilities. It looks great. But creates too many turnover opportunities in tbe heat of super high pressure games.

And when tbey do turn it over they get exposed on the counter too often because their defence pushes up so high and with no sweeper.

2 minutes ago, Chook said:

Why are free kicks given after a goal happens taken from the goal square? It feels like they should be from the centre square, as that's where the ball would be at the start of the play.

That's a really good point. Maybe it's because it's where the apparent infraction took place.

22 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Bontempelli is somewhere crying “what more do I have to do” 😂

the Bont is clearly the best most complete player in the league. 

Apologies to Clarry and Trac. Diacos is a gun but not top 3 yet