Posted

A slight tangent to the current discussion. But we play a total of 8 interstate trips compared to Geelong 6, Collingwood 6, Carlton 6. 

The difference boils down to :

1. Sold game to NT - against GWS

2. Norf game in Hobart. 

I dont mind the game in the NT, we get  some cash; its not too hot and humid either. But the fact that the others only have 6 trips is total BS - im convinced this has been lobbied and forms part of the fixture criteria, which again makes the whole fixture biased for certain teams. 

Posted
8 hours ago, FearTheBeard said:

It’s a given now that it’s a Sunday 3:20 for channel 7 isn’t it. Means back to back 6 day breaks afterwards you’d think so that st kilda is a Saturday night and brisbane is a Friday night.

Also can they release the fixture already. So many good sales on at the moment for Hobart. 

The week after Alice:

Don't rule out St Kilda V Melbourne being a Sunday afternoon 3:20pm game as channel 7 love a big game leading into the news.

Marvel host 3 games that weekend with Dogs V Pies probably being on the Friday night and they could have Essendon V Adelaide on the Saturday night if both club are flying.

So we may have 7 day break after Alice, and then Melbourne V Brisbane could be Saturday night or Sunday 3:20pm.

Posted
50 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The week after Alice:

Don't rule out St Kilda V Melbourne being a Sunday afternoon 3:20pm game as channel 7 love a big game leading into the news.

Marvel host 3 games that weekend with Dogs V Pies probably being on the Friday night and they could have Essendon V Adelaide on the Saturday night if both club are flying.

So we may have 7 day break after Alice, and then Melbourne V Brisbane could be Saturday night or Sunday 3:20pm.

Yes that is a chance but think it’s nearly a lock to get the saints on a Saturday night at marvel. Remember that st kilda have always been gifted good time slots. Personally think Essendon game will be Sunday 3:20.

Posted
10 hours ago, Gawndy the Great said:

A slight tangent to the current discussion. But we play a total of 8 interstate trips compared to Geelong 6, Collingwood 6, Carlton 6. 

The difference boils down to :

1. Sold game to NT - against GWS

2. Norf game in Hobart. 

I dont mind the game in the NT, we get  some cash; its not too hot and humid either. But the fact that the others only have 6 trips is total BS - im convinced this has been lobbied and forms part of the fixture criteria, which again makes the whole fixture biased for certain teams. 

Ignoring Gather Round for all clubs except Carlton/the Dogs:

1. Collingwood actually only have 5 away games
  2. Essendon also only has 5 away games but does have to go to Geelong.
  3. Geelong has 5 away games
  4. Carlton has 6 away games.
  5. Richmond has 6 away games.
  6. St Kilda has 6 away games.
  7. Bulldogs have 6 away games (one of which is Hawthorn in Tassie) plus Geelong
  8. Hawthorn has 9 away games but 4 of them are their own home games in Tasmania.
  9. North has 9 away games but 4 of them are their own home games in Tasmania and one is Hawthorn in Tassie, plus Geelong
  10. We have 7 away games but 1 of them is our own sold home game to the NT, and one is North in Tassie, plus Geelong

So ignoring a club's sold home games it's either 5 or 6 away games for everyone. At least for us, one of those six is North Melbourne (closer to "neutral"). 

Posted
12 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Right? If they want to encourage fans to attend interstate matches the floating fixture’s not helping.

Also, we don’t really get a bye per se. Three consecutive 10-day breaks is great; we should be fresh when facing some formidable opposition, but it’s not what it’s supposed to be. We had the same situation last year as well… we played Collingwood on Monday June 13, had a “bye” then played Brisbane at the ‘G on June 23, ie. a 10 day break. Collingwood didn’t play their next match ‘til the Sunday, giving them a 14-day break, which is a proper bye. 

Honestly I don't think the AFL could give a bag about encouraging fans to attend interstate games.

Posted

St Kilda will be returning from an Eagles game in Perth when we return from Alice.

Unless St Kilda play that game on a Thursday or a Friday night and we play in Alice on the Sunday the Saints/Demons game should be relatively even from a travel impact.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

St Kilda will be returning from an Eagles game in Perth when we return from Alice.

Unless St Kilda play that game on a Thursday or a Friday night and we play in Alice on the Sunday the Saints/Demons game should be relatively even from a travel impact.

Good pick up with the St Kilda travel.

One of the Thursday/Friday night slots will surely go to the GF rematch and the AFL would be reluctant to put a likely wooden spooner in the other marquee slot. Therefore I’m confident St Kilda would be on the Saturday or Sunday.

Whatever the outcome, our preparation needs to be cheery ripe against a hard running St Kilda in a key match. We ran out of gas last year at Marvel against the Dogs on a 7 day break after Alice.

Posted
36 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

8584BEA6-1DD9-4594-84BE-A063561F6B8F.thumb.jpeg.67dbc069787447b754f084c2141ddb67.jpeg

You'd imagine the Dees V Brisbane game will be Friday night unless we play the Sunday the week before. That game clearly looks the most enticing of round 18.

The Carlton V Dees game in round 22 will be overshadowed by the Pies V Cats game, the latter taking the Friday night slot you would imagine.

The Adelaide, Richmond and Hawthorn MCG games could well be afternoon games which would please a number of fans. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The Adelaide, Richmond and Hawthorn MCG games could well be afternoon games which would please a number of fans. 

The Round 23 vs the Hawks match is the Pink Lady match. They’ve  requested a night game for such but that probably won’t happen. If our Round 24 match vs Sydney in Sydney is on a Friday night as ppl are guessing it might be then the match vs Hawks likely wouldn’t be on the Sunday since that’d mean a five-day break between Rounds 23 and 24.

Oh for the days of the fixture being released all at once. 😭

Posted
2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

The Round 23 vs the Hawks match is the Pink Lady match. They’ve  requested a night game for such but that probably won’t happen. If our Round 24 match vs Sydney in Sydney is on a Friday night as ppl are guessing it might be then the match vs Hawks likely wouldn’t be on the Sunday since that’d mean a five-day break between Rounds 23 and 24.

Oh for the days of the fixture being released all at once. 😭

Richmond has to be Friday night or Sunday because of the Bledisloe game at the MCG on the Saturday night. Carlton Collingwood is the other MCG game and they love putting that one at Sunday 3:20. Hawthorn should be Saturday 2:10pm imo as our last home game which will bring the greatest crowd.

Posted
On 4/21/2023 at 3:59 PM, WalkingCivilWar said:

This might just be click bait, but if true it might affect anyone who’s already booked flights and/or accommodation…

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/doubts-over-afl-match-in-alice-springs-amid-council-dispute-20230421-p5d2ah.html

that'a a 2 week old article. and since really nothing since then it's probably not so grim.....but stay tuned anyway 

Posted

Strange with the natural reluctance to schedule games on Mother's Day that there is not a Thursday night game.

NRL has one tonight in Melbourne and it's a big one.. Storm v Broncos

Posted
21 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Strange with the natural reluctance to schedule games on Mother's Day that there is not a Thursday night game.

NRL has one tonight in Melbourne and it's a big one.. Storm v Broncos

Not really strange considering the AFL told us there would be Thursday night games from round 1-6 and during the Byes. They aren't going to change their fixture format because everybody wants them to, if they operated like that Van Rooyen would be free to play already. We will have to wait till next year for Thursday nights every week.

Posted
1 hour ago, FearTheBeard said:

Round 20 game against Richmond all but confirmed to be Sunday 3:20 with Carlton Collingwood getting the Friday night and Bledisloe on Saturday.

Any speculation on what time slots were getting for the St Kilda and Brisbane games?

Hopefully Adelaide and Hawthorn are Saturday games, for those that love the traditional timeslot.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Any speculation on what time slots were getting for the St Kilda and Brisbane games?

Hopefully Adelaide and Hawthorn are Saturday games, for those that love the traditional timeslot.

The GWS game in Alice Springs is going to be on the Sunday, I'm pretty sure.

Week after is St Kilda, the week after that is Brisbane.

You'd expect the AFL will want our Brisbane game on the Friday night which means the St Kilda game should be on the Saturday, for back-to-back six-day breaks.

I reckon the Adelaide game will be a Sunday, Richmond and North Melbourne Saturdays, then Carlton a Friday night or Saturday night.

Posted
1 minute ago, titan_uranus said:

The GWS game in Alice Springs is going to be on the Sunday, I'm pretty sure.

Week after is St Kilda, the week after that is Brisbane.

You'd expect the AFL will want our Brisbane game on the Friday night which means the St Kilda game should be on the Saturday, for back-to-back six-day breaks.

I reckon the Adelaide game will be a Sunday, Richmond and North Melbourne Saturdays, then Carlton a Friday night or Saturday night.

As explained above, Richmond will be a Sunday because the Bledisloe game is on the Saturday night at the MCG and Carlton Collingwood are rumoured to have been given the Friday night in round 20.

Carlton will be a Saturday night because apparently, they have only been given 1 Friday night game after round 16.

I think Brisbane and Adelaide might both end up as Friday night games given the whispers Channel 7 have been talking about. Otherwise, Crows game is a lock for Saturday 2:10.

Posted
45 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said:

I think Brisbane and Adelaide might both end up as Friday night games given the whispers Channel 7 have been talking about. Otherwise, Crows game is a lock for Saturday 2:10.

If our Brisbane game is Friday night, then the St Kilda game will be on a Saturday night due to us already having had a 5 day break this year.

The competition for Friday night games for round 18 are:

Melbourne V Brisbane (MCG)

Carlton V Port (Marvel)

Collingwood V Freo (MCG) (just because it's Collingwood)

Sydney V Bulldogs -(SCG)

Geelong V Essendon - GMHBA

If the AFL go for one of the other 4 options for Friday night, we could be Saturday night or Sunday 3:20 Vs' Brisbane. That would give the AFL flexibility to schedule us for a Sunday or Saturday night against St Kilda the week before.

Posted
On 5/5/2023 at 2:39 PM, WalkingCivilWar said:

If our Round 24 match vs Sydney in Sydney is on a Friday night as ppl are guessing it might be then the match vs Hawks likely wouldn’t be on the Sunday since that’d mean a five-day break between Rounds 23 and 24.

If Sydney are out of finals contention by late July/early August then I don't think it's a fait accompli that we'll be playing Sydney on a Friday night in round 24.

Essendon V Collingwood and Brisbane V St Kilda could be Friday night contenders for round 24.

Posted
24 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

If our Brisbane game is Friday night, then the St Kilda game will be on a Saturday night due to us already having had a 5 day break this year.

The competition for Friday night games for round 18 are:

Melbourne V Brisbane (MCG)

Carlton V Port (Marvel)

Collingwood V Freo (MCG) (just because it's Collingwood)

Sydney V Bulldogs -(SCG)

Geelong V Essendon - GMHBA

If the AFL go for one of the other 4 options for Friday night, we could be Saturday night or Sunday 3:20 Vs' Brisbane. That would give the AFL flexibility to schedule us for a Sunday or Saturday night against St Kilda the week before.

Everything I said is based on the 7afl post about the fixture which is that:

Carlton won't get more than 1 Friday night (which is the round 20 game), Melbourne/Collingwood/Adelaide/Brisbane to be major beneficiaries.

So on your point, Carlton v Port wont be, Collingwood game won't be clearly, Sydney aren't going to get good fixturing at 3-5, so it will be us or the Cats.

Posted (edited)

This sucks, I miss getting the little fixture card that doesn't have TBC or 'subject to everything' written all over it. 

Edited by layzie
Posted (edited)

A bit of solid speculation tonight on SEN of the following MFC fixtures:

@ St Kilda - Saturday day or night, Marvel

v Brisbane - Friday night, MCG

@ Carlton - Saturday night, MCG

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted
On 4/29/2023 at 7:03 AM, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Good pick up with the St Kilda travel.

One of the Thursday/Friday night slots will surely go to the GF rematch and the AFL would be reluctant to put a likely wooden spooner in the other marquee slot. Therefore I’m confident St Kilda would be on the Saturday or Sunday.

Whatever the outcome, our preparation needs to be cheery ripe against a hard running St Kilda in a key match. We ran out of gas last year at Marvel against the Dogs on a 7 day break after Alice.

We were running out of gas each week in the last half so nothing different with that result.

Difference this year is that our last quarters so far have been all winning ones in the whole 9 games. Looks like a keeper for This year outscoring in the last quarter!

Should be plenty of good footy down to the wire hopefully.