AFLW: Rd 07 vs Western Bulldogs

WERRIDEE

14 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

And I thought I was in trouble!

I've added some photos to my previous post for illustration, unfortunately I don't have one of Uncle.

35 minutes ago, dworship said:

Head North out of Sunbury and go back a 100 years

Romsey 4 DSC_4676.JPG

Romsey 3 DSC_4676.JPG

Romsey 2 DSC_4676.JPG

Romsey 1 DSC_4676.JPG

I see what you mean.  Another world.

Nice landscapes.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

3 hours ago, Chook said:

Is Harris the best ruck in the comp? I think so - some of the things she does in the ruck remind me a lot of Luke Jackson's follow up work. And she'd probably beat him in a one-on-one in the forward line. What a string to add to her bow.

I think she's just the best player in the comp now.

No-one seems to pack mark better, hit players harder, kick longer and now she's one of the best rucks in the comp.

She's a dead set weapon. Her game has just come on leaps and bounds in the last 2 years.

Defenders must be scared (censored) when they know she's flying into a pack. She's just fearless.

Is there another player in the AFLW that can consistently kick 50 metres?

She allows Bannon to get free and play the second forward role really well (like BB should in the men's team if we had a good key forward).

Great result today. The team is just humming. After so many years of being really competitive, we deserve to snag a flag.

Great to watch.

1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I was being considerate of those subordinate on the social structure Luci!

I didn't want to make the social and moral superiority of we genteel folk from Romsey too obvious.

I’m right here, you know. 

56 minutes ago, dworship said:

I've added some photos to my previous post for illustration, unfortunately I don't have one of Uncle.

You got one of those wide lens cameras there, dwor? Panorama function type o’ thing? Coz that 9XL red n blue kaftan is most impressive but only when displayed in full. And I mean FULL. 

7 minutes ago, Brownie said:

I think she's just the best player in the comp now.

8 minutes ago, Brownie said:

She allows Bannon to get free and play the second forward role really well (like BB should in the men's team if we had a good key forward).

I've regularly thought Taylor would potentially be best suited out of all the women, to play in a mens side.

I know it won't happen and chances are she'd get flattened, though I feel she would beat some of the men if playing in a male under 21's team.

4 hours ago, george_on_the_outer said:

Love Mackin. For someone playing her first season, she can kic,k mark, bounce the ball and like Goldrick just straightlines everything!

That little tap that was missed by the commentators in the first Q. She opened out the space for Paxy to get the handball across to Tay for the goal.

When her teammates get more faith to use her she will really take a game apart.

3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Hate to tell you this but Cranbourne is close to the worst suburb on the east/south/south east of Melbourne.

Where on earth do you live that Cranbourne looks 'good'?  I know it is 'west' but...

I live in St Albans. You know those really hip, gentrified inner city suburbs of the n/w with the multimillion dollar properties? Yeah well St Albans isn’t one of them. It’s a [censored]-hole. But it’s got THE best fruit ‘n’ veg market in the world, so there’s that. 😃

5 hours ago, kev martin said:

You can see the "stables", the Manor, I am only able to guess. 

Are you running sheep Bitter?

No Kev, genteel retirement for me.

In fact, I'm currently in Bangkok and am in the privileged position of being guided around by the mayor himself - none other than@Sir Why You Little !!

8 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I live in St Albans. You know those really hip, gentrified inner city suburbs of the n/w with the multimillion dollar properties? Yeah well St Albans isn’t one of them. It’s a [censored]-hole. But it’s got THE best fruit ‘n’ veg market in the world, so there’s that. 😃

FM WCW. Didn't know Liberal voters live in St Albans. 

55 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

FM WCW. Didn't know Liberal voters live in St Albans. 

And a Dees supporter, too!

#fishOuttaWater

PS: Liberal voter? Yeah nah, Greens all the way.

Edited by WalkingCivilWar
Tree-hugger n proud of it!

15 hours ago, kev martin said:

WCW was on the telly in one of the spectator shots.

In ONE of the spectator shots??!! My phone was pinging off it’s nut, friends were texting me the entire match.

I was there with Pauline, the Frittata matriarch, and her friend’s 15yo daughter who has disabilities. Attention follows this beautiful girl everywhere since she’s forever ebullient and affectionate. Therefore, a ch. 7 cameraman pretty much set up camp five feet away from us, and because she was sitting in between Pauline and me, we were unavoidably in his sights, literally. 
370E8363-A4F9-48B9-B5A2-042A16714FA3.thumb.jpeg.521304f79159f8f16678317991fe62fa.jpeg

❤️💙💕❤️💙

20 minutes ago, mauriesy said:

Came on here to read about our AFLW Demons and what I get is two pages about dubious neighbourhoods and manors in Romsey.

Doing a disservice to our wonderful women's team filling a thread with this rubbish.

This is doing our wonderful women’s team a disservice exactly HOW?

Have you posted similar in each and every thread about the men’s game that veers off course? (And they are legion.) 🤔 Thought not.

Aside from our Rnd 1 win against the Crows in Adelaide that was our most complete performance of the year. The Bulldogs are still a half decent side but we comprehensively beat them all over the ground.
We had 66 more disposals, a whopping 28 more inside 50’s (40-12), 19 marks inside 50 to 3 and 107 to 82 contested possessions. We did lose clearances 20-26 and somehow the free kick count 12-15. 

Olivia Purcell - Topped the disposal count for us (25) and also the tackle count (9). In one of the podcasts it was said she gets a case of white line fever when she walks on the ground and it shows. She is a ferocious competitor. Is seemingly getting better each and every game and looks like a bargain after picking her up for pick 15 and 47 from Geelong.

Midfield. Purcell/West/Hanks. Bloody hell they were fantastic today. They are achieving a real synergy together particularly getting the ball from inside to out into clear air. They did this time and time again. My only concern is, at an average height of 160cm (5’ 2”)  we lack size and the brute strength of someone like the Adelaide mids.

Harris. You get the feeling the former Brisbane and Carlton player was pretty unsettled until she got to Melbourne. The video suggests she is now at home and enjoying her footy. At 1.26 she describes her forward line colleagues as ‘the best’ and I think she is talking about them as human beings. Talking about bargain pick ups, I stand to be corrected, but to secure her we effectively parted with pick 32

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/1235465/aflw-rd-7-tayla-harris-post-match?videoId=1235465&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1665299649001

Paxman. Earlier this year (S6) some posters here were saying Karen was done. Well she is back baby. Playing more of an outside and link roll suits her skills beautifully. Huge head clash yesterday. Is she done for the day? Nope, just chuck a few stitches in their and she’ll run out and put her head over the ball. Inspiring. Whilst fellow team stalwart and original Daisy Pearce is hanging up the boots this year Paxy still looks to have a good couple of years in her yet. 

And to finish up - Goldrick. Earlier someone wrote that you have to love Goldy. You do. Yes she coughs the ball up a bit but that tackle on Ellie Blackburn was brilliant. The joyful response from our team and the subsequent Bannon goal was my favourite play for the day. 

Go Dees.

1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

This is doing our wonderful women’s team a disservice exactly HOW?

Have you posted similar in each and every thread about the men’s game that veers off course? (And they are legion.) 🤔 Thought not

1. The current women's thread becomes an in-joke among a few members. They should realise that not everyone thinks their contribution is witty or clever. 
  2. I have posted before on the infiltration of any threads with such rubbish. Obviously you didn't think very hard.
  3. I thought as a female you'd want an AFLW thread to be relevant and stick to the point.
  4. Just because other threads get infiltrated doesn't mean this one has to. "He or she did it too!" is not a reasonable response.
  5. I'm sure Demonland loves having their server space filled with maids and manors from Romsey over the years.
  6. Think also of what viewers from outside Demonland see in the thread.

24 minutes ago, mauriesy said:
  1. The current women's thread becomes an in-joke among a few members. They should realise that not everyone thinks their contribution is witty or clever. 
  2. I have posted before on the infiltration of any threads with such rubbish. Obviously you didn't think very hard.
  3. I thought as a female you'd want an AFLW thread to be relevant and stick to the point.
  4. Just because other threads get infiltrated doesn't mean this one has to. "He or she did it too!" is not a reasonable response.
  5. I'm sure Demonland loves having their server space filled with maids and manors from Romsey over the years.
  6. Think also of what viewers from outside Demonland see in the thread.

Not sure why you're getting in such a lather. The discussion in the AFLW threads is far more respectful than on the mens board. and we have @WalkingCivilWar to keep us in line.

You come across as a bore. Stick to the mens board. You'll have plenty to complain about over there.

28 minutes ago, mauriesy said:
I thought as a female you'd want an AFLW thread to be relevant and stick to the point.

You lost me at this. ⬆️ 

You should know why, but there’s clearly a strong likelihood of you not knowing the reason, so I ask you: why would I regard this thread any differently to every other thread on this forum?

Gender has zero to do with this. I’m offended by your comment.

2 minutes ago, mauriesy said:

So you're offended by the idea that the AFLW thread should be about AFLW, and not pictures of sheds at Romsey? Wow.

I’m offended that I’m being expected to regard a particular thread in a particular way PURELY based on my gender.

Lemme tell you something: yesterday, despite journey planner telling me it’d take 2hrs, 50 mins to PT it to Casey, it actually took close to four hours. Four hours just to get there! I arrived totally stressed since I didn’t wanna miss banner raising, especially because I had asked that I take a disabled girl out to lead the banner crew onto the field. Posting on DL is what kept me calm during the cancelled train announcements, etc. Thought I’d be forgiven for such.

The match finished at 5pm or whatever. I didn’t get home until 10pm. So to read your pedantry this morning was infuriating. I would’ve torn you a new one, only I promised myself to pause before replying to anything hurtful. That can only last so long. Maybe it’s you who needs to pause before posting.