Dunstan, Tomlinson and Bedford are too good for this level. Beautiful pass by Van Rooyen also. Lots of great stuff going on here. Woewodins ability to give a chop out kick across half back is also brilliant.

7 minutes ago, KC from Casey said:

And North’s best players are Hore and Tyson!!!

Who’s keeping Tyson out of North’s side? You’d think with their form an experienced in and under mid would go alright? 
I was sad to see Hore go, he’s got so many good elements to his game, crueller by injury and our plethora of gun defenders. 
Jake Bell looks pretty good in the ruck, any chance of a sneaky mid-season pick?

Dunstan is putting on a clinic!

Edited by deejammin'

• Author

That’s half time - 

Casey Demons 11.12.78 lead North Melbourne VFL 5.3.33

Goals Dunstan Van Rooyen Weideman 3 Buntine Turner 

Disposals Dunstan 22 Tomlinson 17 Munro 13 Van Rooyen White 12

2 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Who’s keeping Tyson out of North’s side? You’d think with their form an experienced in and under mid would go alright? 
I was sad to see Hore go, he’s got so many good elements to his game, crueller by injury and our plethora of gun defenders. 
Jake Bell looks pretty good in the ruck, any chance of a sneaky mid-season pick?

Jake Bell would be a perfect player to have on our list as a developing ruckman. His skills are really good.

It’s almost embarrassing to have players like Dunstan, Tomlinson, Weed, Bedford etc at Casey. They are too good for this level.

5 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Tyson isn't on North Melbourne's list...

5 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Tyson isn't on North Melbourne senior list anymore. Just playing in their VFL squad.

6 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

I don’t think Dom is on the AFL list

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Tyson isn't on North Melbourne's list...

1 minute ago, Nascent said:

Tyson isn't on North Melbourne senior list anymore. Just playing in their VFL squad.

Just now, chook fowler said:

I don’t think Dom is on the AFL list

Whoops! Sorry guys!

1 hour ago, mo64 said:

Majak Daw dominating the ruck against Monkhurst. 

It's laughable how easy it is for Majak today. I reckon he'd be No. 1 Ruck at about 6 AFL sides.

Edited by Sydney_Demon
Typo

Bedford does everything at pace and looks a cut above, just his finishing skills letting him down a little today which isn't normally an issue.

JVR looks super impressive a lot of potential in this bloke and hopefully gets a game sometime this year.

Daw dominating in the ruck but don't think his opponent is offering much of a challenge.

Tomlinson a rock down back and ready made key position depth.

Hope to see Laurie and Rosman more involved in the next half.

Edited by Nascent

8 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Apart from the fact that he’s no longer a listed North player, Father Time’s also keeping him out. 😀

I really like this broadcast.  Camera at a good height. Most of the time a reasonably wide angle vew but not so wide that players look like ants. And thankfully NO closeups of the player who has taken a mark or got a free.  Though I am at a loss as to whether the players have shaved this morning - something the Fox/7 broadcasts always keep me informed on.

Edited by sue

There is a genuine risk we could lose players like Bedford, Tomlinson, Daw, Laurie etc... if we are not careful. They all look easily AFL standard each week and should be playing somewhere, maybe in a team that is developing or rebuilding. Dunstan and Weideman are curious to me - why they both chose to come/stay at the Dees when they are genuine starters in other teams. 

33 minutes ago, Sydney_Demon said:

Van Rooyen kick's h

This boy's going to be a player. Don't want to talk him up too much but he reminds me of a young David Schwarz.

He also reminds me of a young Jack Darling, although he’s a few centimetres taller already, back before Jack put on heaps of bulk and had a few injuries making him a little less mobile he and Van Rooyen moved almost the same way. He’s a real talent, great to be able to give him time to develop and then bring him into a champion team when he’s ready. 

44 minutes ago, Sydney_Demon said:

Van Rooyen kick's h

This boy's going to be a player. Don't want to talk him up too much but he reminds me of a young David Schwarz.

Agree on the "he is going to be a player bit".

He is really developing beautifully.

That mark earlier was great and he is a good kick and can hurt the opposition when he attacks the ball.

Another pre season and he could be best 22.

Only 5 North listed players playing compared to 13 Dees listed. Casey should romp it in.

Some observations based on how their game translates to AFL level:

Dunstan - A class above. 

JVR - Super impressive in the air. Always in the right position when flying for marks. Set up 2 goals at ground level also. Was beaten twice by Marty Hore at ground level in a one-on-one contest.

Daw - If Max gets injured, Majak is ready to to go. He's getting around the ground fine.

Weid - Is playing well, but has been out-positioned in marking contests on occasions. He doesn't have the presence of T Mac, or JVR for that matter.

Bedford - Nice to see him starting in the midfield. Getting excellent service from Daw and Bell. Has been good, but not a standout.

Tomlinson - Of the senior players, he's been the most disappointing. Playing loose man in the backline, he's racking up huge possessions, but defensively he's been poor. I've seen him caught out of position 4 times, two of which resulted in North goals. Then got caught holding the ball resulting in another goal.

Baker - VFL level only.

Of the kids, Turner has impressed. Woey and McVee look ok. Laurie, Rosman and Smith have been quiet.

Shoutout to the commentators. Best VFL callers this year.