2 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

It’s even better to the song from the Titanic: 

I will never forget those two finals as they are the last games of footy I ever saw live with my Dad who sadly passed away long before his time of a heart attack in January 2019.

Your video made my laugh and cry at the same time Ethan with the music a real kicker!

Thanks ?

The Jones goal was a bigger moment for me - for a bloke who'd been through some of the worst times, and was in a position to taste finals success for the first time in twelve years, to in essence seal the game was pretty special. Still get chills thinking about it. Oh to be there again. Surely a good omen - two years ago today?

2 hours ago, In Harmes Way said:

Me and my boy were on level 1 at the 50, about 10 rows back.

My son (14) yesterday rated this moment his #1 highlight with his dad in his life so far.

Great to have some awesome father son memories like these.

53 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Great to have some awesome father son memories like these.

Completely agree! I also rate the Jack Watts sealer in the QB game, I had the whole southern stand behind us erupt. 

But 60K+ dees fans at a final all giving it heaps is hard to beat.

4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Others may differ but I liked this finals win better than the Hawthorn one.

Unfortunately it was two years ago. We have been a train wreck since !

3 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

What a night that was !! I was even able to tolerate @Moonshadow as company 

IIRC we squeezed past two young women to get to our seats and you mentioned to them "tonight's your lucky night, ladies!"

Live I saw Jimmy run over the mark right in front of me in the ‘87 prelim, Jakovich kick 11 against North in 91, The Ox’s comeback game after 3 knee reco’s, The wizard kick 9 goals in a half in 2000 and remember the run into the 2000 GF fondly.

But that Hannan goal was everything. As supporters we had been through 15 years of garbage to get there, and then to do it the way we did with hard work and determination was amazing. I let out a roar that was only deafened by the other 70,000 Melbourne supporters letting out the same primal scream of joy.

In my opinion what’s happened since has been heartbreaking for supporters. We aren’t playing anywhere near our potential.

Edited by The heart beats true

26 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

Completely agree! I also rate the Jack Watts sealer in the QB game, I had the whole southern stand behind us erupt. 

But 60K+ dees fans at a final all giving it heaps is hard to beat.

Yep that was a ripper but unfortunately I didnt get to that one. Was there for his first which as you know was the qb as well. No happy memories from that one.

That game for me was on a par with the '87 Whitten oval game to make the finals for Robbie. I was a young fella then, but it is etched forever in my mind

2 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

IIRC we squeezed past two young women to get to our seats and you mentioned to them "tonight's your lucky night, ladies!"

True !! But your drunken and lecherous behaviour cruelled my chance !

And ITS OOOOVVVVEEEERRR!

so sweet. 

geez I miss going to the footy

14 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

True !! But your drunken and lecherous behaviour cruelled my chance !

Er, I don't think so. We were both reasonably sober. I was probably old enough to be their father, you their (great) grandfather 

21 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Er, I don't think so. We were both reasonably sober. I was probably old enough to be their father, you their (great) grandfather 

We started at The Duke........................ one of us was [censored].

Gee wiz, there were young guys in that team who showed so much promise. Harmes, Hannah, ANB, VDB to name a few. Some of our list have really gone backwards. Its a disappointing career to only have a couple of finals and then progressively fall off the scene

Edited by Moonshadow

Was sitting front row on the fence on the opposite 50 (you can see me giving Hawkins crap about his hair just before Selwood gave away that free) and I enjoyed watching the entire stadium rise to its feet around him.

feels like a lifetime ago

6 hours ago, demonique said:

There was an elderly woman in tears after this goal who was obviously a long suffering Demon fan and it put a tear in my eye and a lump in my throat . To me ,it the Best footy moment for many many years 

Was that the Hawthorn game after Gus kicked the goal?

Remember that clearly. Very iconic moment. Her tears summed up all how we were feeling.

• Author

From a final at the MCG with 90k fans to losing up in Cairns at an oval with plastic garden chairs. How a lot has changed in 2 years...

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

From a final at the MCG with 90k fans to losing up in Cairns at an oval with plastic garden chairs. How a lot has changed in 2 years...

Yep, thanks Goodwin