Demonland 74,457 Posted December 15, 2019 Posted December 15, 2019 ? BAGHDAD BOB'S TRAINING REPORT ? DEESPICABLE'S TRAINING REPORT ? DON CORDNER4'S TRAINING REPORT ? DWORSHIP'S TRAINING REPORT If any Demonlanders are heading down to training today we'd love to hear a report. I'll post links at the top of this page to any reports we receive. Upcoming AFL training sessions Date: Monday 16 December Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock Date: Wednesday 18 December Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock Date: Thursday 19 December - last session of 2019 Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock *Please note: Training times and locations are subject to change at late notice. Please check this page on the morning of each session to confirm the time and date. Players may be available to sign any items at the conclusion of their training session. Signing will be dependent on individual training schedules and not all players may be available. Getting to Gosch's Paddock Gosch's Paddock is located a short walk from Richmond train station. Jolimont station is also located a 10 minute walk away. Tram route 70 also stops near the ground at AAMI Park (stop 7D). Tram route 48 and 75 are also located in the vicinity near Jolimont Station. Bus 246 (Latrobe Uni - Elsternwick Station) travels down Punt Road, stops at the corner of Olympic Blvd. From here patrons can walk to Gosch's Paddock. Read more about public transport here. Parking info Non-event car parking is available opposite AAMI Park at the National Tennis Centre. See more info here. Quote
? BAGHDAD BOB'S TRAINING REPORT ? DEESPICABLE'S TRAINING REPORT ? DON CORDNER4'S TRAINING REPORT ? DWORSHIP'S TRAINING REPORT If any Demonlanders are heading down to training today we'd love to hear a report. I'll post links at the top of this page to any reports we receive. Upcoming AFL training sessions Date: Monday 16 December Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock Date: Wednesday 18 December Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock Date: Thursday 19 December - last session of 2019 Start time: 9.45am Location: Gosch's Paddock *Please note: Training times and locations are subject to change at late notice. Please check this page on the morning of each session to confirm the time and date. Players may be available to sign any items at the conclusion of their training session. Signing will be dependent on individual training schedules and not all players may be available. Getting to Gosch's Paddock Gosch's Paddock is located a short walk from Richmond train station. Jolimont station is also located a 10 minute walk away. Tram route 70 also stops near the ground at AAMI Park (stop 7D). Tram route 48 and 75 are also located in the vicinity near Jolimont Station. Bus 246 (Latrobe Uni - Elsternwick Station) travels down Punt Road, stops at the corner of Olympic Blvd. From here patrons can walk to Gosch's Paddock. Read more about public transport here. Parking info Non-event car parking is available opposite AAMI Park at the National Tennis Centre. See more info here.
640MD 3,570 Posted December 15, 2019 Posted December 15, 2019 Thanks from tassie and rural Victoria for the coming reports. The last few sessions and the varying reports have given those that cannot get there a great insight into the abilities of recruits and how our senior players are travelling. You now have a high ceiling to aspire to and I for one think it’s great. I think if you see a potato, I might see a tomato. All in the eye and position of view of the observer. Keep cool and thanks in advance. Go Dees bring on 2020 !! 3 1 1 Quote
Go Dees!! 109 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 All is quiet on the Eastern Front.....I hope the news is good! 1 Quote
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Give us a chance to get organised??? One comment, as a taster, AVB was outstanding in match sim today 17 1 4 Quote
Go Dees!! 109 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 No probs, mate.......appreciate all the work you guys do......just really interested to see the boys go to the Christmas break in fine fettle. Hoping for a big week on the track before they take the break! 1 Quote
640MD 3,570 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 4 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said: ??? One comment, as a taster, AVB was outstanding in match sim today I do like the taste of AVB being outstanding, almost as much as my anticipation of Pickett and Bennell causing havoc to opposition defenders Go Dees 1 Quote
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 12 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said: Give us a chance to get organised??? One comment, as a taster, AVB was outstanding in match sim today Delicious 1 Quote
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 (edited) 14 minutes ago, 640MD said: I do like the taste of AVB being outstanding, almost as much as my anticipation of Pickett and Bennell causing havoc to opposition defenders Go Dees You need to temper your expectations on Pickett, he didn't take part in full match sim, in previous half field drill he had Salem on him and didn't get near it In other drills you can see the natural talent though Another highlight was Petracca taking on May in a one on one in match sim, May buried him, to Trac's 'annoyance' and May's delight. May also buried Bedford Although Petty didn't take part in full match sim, took a couple of strong grabs in half field, including one where he knocked May of the line of the ball, much to May's annoyance this time Edited December 16, 2019 by Satyriconhome 20 1 1 Quote
Vagg 2,449 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 25 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said: Give us a chance to get organised??? One comment, as a taster, AVB was outstanding in match sim today Simply not good enough, Saty. In this age of instant everything, we expect a full, blow by blow account of everything that happens on the training track AS IT HAPPENS. In fact, a full, live video feed would be nice! So, kindly lift your game, old boy! The bar is being lifted, and you need to keep up! 2 Quote
Slartibartfast 18,124 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Vanders and Petty were first out doing a gentle walk around the boundary and some stretches, Baker and Hannan not far behind. So over to rehab to start my day (yes @Vagg I'm on the improve!) where Baker, Hannan, Tomlinson and later Jones did their stuff. Baker and Tomlinson are still on gentle runs, Hannan about 75% now and Jones running pretty much flat out. Oscar complained about the cold and Mitch said he was looking forward to stepping it up. The rest of the group had arrived and I was pleased to see TMac with them. He did all the warm up drills before wandering over to rehab where he did a few run throughs. Meanwhile a group in front of me lined up in single file dancing on the spot. The coach would then tell them to break and move 5 yards to the left or right and off they'd go. Poor old Lockhart, who was at the front of the line suddenly found himself 10 yards from the others having moved the wrong way. Laughs all around! They'd broken up into about 4 groups at this stage and spent about 5 minutes in each and rotated through them but then thankfully we went to match sims which concentrated in starting the ball in different areas of the ground, setting up and then "play". It's so much more interesting watching this than the other stuff! Meanwhile there were a few missing. No Neita, no KK and no Preuss. Bennell had made a late appearance and was doing the gentlest of jogs along the boundary. The match sim started and Mitch Brown copped a knock to the head and was taken straight off and was not seen again. Pickett, Jackson and Rivers were involved early but sat out some later ones. Jackson is learning that it's hard work against men. Gawn and Oscar weren't letting him near it much but he was still involved. Pickett is doing his best to get involved but isn't much and Rivers looks the best of the new lads to me. I comment to a friend that whilst we'd love to see the new blokes really do well it's probably good they aren't beating our best 22 players!! Fritsch looked all class and was just clunking the ball in greasy conditions. Harmes was in everything, Oliver finding it with ease, TMac was back on the ground (I was confused at this stage) and taking mark after mark up forward and Langdon doing what Langdon does. May was rock solid down back and Vanders and Dunkley had a good battle on their wing. The standard was a bit lower today because of the conditions and it was difficult for the big blokes to mark. Having said that Petty was very good I thought playing up forward and TMac as well. Running finished the session off with different people doing different things and the session ended at about 11.30. 31 9 Quote
640MD 3,570 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 10 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said: you can see the natural talent though Happy to see the natural talent of both Bennell and Pickett take 6 months to come through and cause mayhem in the last half of 2020 2 Quote
Deespicable 2,886 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Saw most of the session, but best part was the match simulation. VDB played on a wing, mainly against Sparrow, and was BOG by some way in the first game and pretty handy in the next. If his feet hold up he is in. A couple of Dusty don't argue were highlights. He was around the play when Mitch Brown copped a knock to the head and went off, but I cannot say it was anything to do with Vanders. The other player on fire today who has spent most of pre-season with rehab group was 'Tom" Petty. He played as a mobile forward and his marking was impressive and with T-Mac in form as well, it's an impressive looking forward line on paper with versatility that Fritter and Melky and ANB bring. Petty only did half the match sim because they are being careful with him, but like Vanders, he's pretty much in if he's fit. I said last week that the 3, 2, 1 of pre-season work was Fritter, ANB and Lockhart, but the other nice thing happening at the moment is that Trac is in everything playing as a loose midfielder. Tried to take on May though and got sat on his backside, but kept going and made a few nice tackles himself. Jackson played the entire scratch match and with Preuss not there today, he spent plenty of time tracking big Maxy. Jacko is an amazing athlete but he will take time, but I wouldn't rule him out of Rd 1 just yet. He just adds such variety and pace, that they may want to play him early. Kossie played in the first scratch game and he did a couple of things that were very much like Aaron Davey. He doesn't get it much, but neither did Cyril so let's wait and see. I did like seeing Harmes down back - he is such a great professional and combined with Lever and May, we have a talking backline that is taller and quicker than last year. Smith is the third tall back there and Hibbo and Jetta the lockdowns and Salem the smarts. Langdon on a wing is a goer, an ever-ready battery, although his disposal will be crucial. Of the back-ups, Bedford is starting to show signs with his speed and evasiveness, but his disposal needs working on. JJ is a very handy accumulator and will make his debut at some stage this year. Jonesy, Tomlinson, Baker and Hannan were in rehab and I think Bennell made an appearance later in day. 27 9 Quote
Vagg 2,449 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 6 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said: So over to rehab to start my day (yes @Vagg I'm on the improve!) Thanks, BB. Nice report. I'm especially excited to hear that you are on the improve! When will you be back to full training? (Right arm glass lifts, I presume?) 1 1 1 Quote
JakovichScissorKick 771 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Time for everyone to revise their best 22's if Vanders really is up and running again. A gun when fit! 5 2 Quote
Go Dees!! 109 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Thanks for the reports, guys. It would be great to see AVB keep going in that direction. Love the sound of Petty looking good up forward - he could really help to take the pressure off TMac & Weid......or be a target for us if the opposition concentrate more on the other 2 blokes. I'd also love to see J. Smith catch a break and have an injury free season - he could be great value! 4 Quote
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 3 minutes ago, JakovichScissorKick said: Time for everyone to revise their best 22's if Vanders really is up and running again. A gun when fit! Up and running and bashing and barging had a word with him just wants to tick each box but feeling good 9 1 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Vanders fit and firing makes me warm. 4 2 Quote
poita 3,945 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Thanks to all concerned for the training reports. I cannot comprehend why Kolodjashnij is still on the list if he is not even doing basic training at this point of the pre season. The chances of him recovering to play a meaningful role this year seem incredibly low. St Kilda came to an arrangement with McCartin who is a much better prospect, not sure why we can't do the same with KK. Surely it would be in his best interests as well to get his health sorted for his long term well being, without worrying about meeting the expectations of a professional football club. (That's not to say that we still shouldn't give him all the support he needs.) 3 1 Quote
The Chazz 4,077 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 7 minutes ago, poita said: Thanks to all concerned for the training reports. I cannot comprehend why Kolodjashnij is still on the list if he is not even doing basic training at this point of the pre season. The chances of him recovering to play a meaningful role this year seem incredibly low. St Kilda came to an arrangement with McCartin who is a much better prospect, not sure why we can't do the same with KK. Surely it would be in his best interests as well to get his health sorted for his long term well being, without worrying about meeting the expectations of a professional football club. (That's not to say that we still shouldn't give him all the support he needs.) Ever thought that being around a footy club at the moment might be in his best interest instead of sitting at home on the couch in isolation? 6 1 Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Great reports from all, really appreciate them. The key to most good sides fwd lines is the mix.. and it feels like we might have it, Tom and Weid / Petty, Fritta, Melk, Trac. Cant wait 2020! 2 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 No one has mentioned the Weid. Was he training today? From the lack of comment it would appear he is having his usual impact. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,556 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 Be interesting to see how Petty goes up forward as the number 3 key fwd behind T mac and Weid/M Brown. Remember the games he played up forward he only had Preuss, Smith or O Mac as support - none of which are (were) any good as forwards. 1 Quote
Deespicable 2,886 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 5 minutes ago, old dee said: No one has mentioned the Weid. Was he training today? From the lack of comment it would appear he is having his usual impact. Yes he was. He mixed playing up forward with occasional spells in ruck against Gawn, switching with Jackson. He got involved a bit, but T.Mac and Petty were the two pins that presented and marked everything. 2 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted December 16, 2019 Posted December 16, 2019 14 minutes ago, Deespicable said: Yes he was. He mixed playing up forward with occasional spells in ruck against Gawn, switching with Jackson. He got involved a bit, but T.Mac and Petty were the two pins that presented and marked everything. So how would you rate his performance today? Quote