Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Welcome to Demonland: Tom Sparrow

1 minute ago, 640MD said:

Think you would get far better offer than that!, especially if the Dee’s keep having a little bit of success .

He has played in a number of finals games and two teams bidding .

Your pulling our leg, let go….

You are dreaming if you think you'll get more for Sparrow than a second round pick.

High draft picks prior to Tasmania entering will command a premium price, and that is around the price received for the likes of Neal-Bullen and McVee in recent years.

Adelaide might kick the tyres on him, but he is hardly a key need for them. I'm not sure that any bidding war will amount to much.

• Demonland changed the title to Welcome to Demonland: Tom Sparrow

25 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

We'll know his intentions by the mid-season bye, IMO.

If he hasn't re-signed by then, history dictates we'll be up against it to keep him and he'll very likely be gone.

Maybe a bit later? According to the report (yeah, I know...) he '...will not entertain contract talks until the bye rounds...'.

19 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Think you would get far better offer than that!, especially if the Dee’s keep having a little bit of success .

He’s an unrestricted free agent…

1 minute ago, Greg Schneider said:

He’s an unrestricted free agent…

To be fair, I presumed the reference was regarding potential compensation, though that would depend largely on the new contract combined with his age.

The club needs to be built around our 23-27 year olds and we dont have many of them.

Not let them go unless the deal is to good to refuse i.e 2 1st rounders.

Chin, Spaz, Kozzie, Roo, Moose, Disco, Culls, Bowser, AMW, Petty etc.

This is our sweet spot, our core.

You build around it, not destroy it.

50 minutes ago, 640MD said:

UFA

I think the compo is based on contract size and length? i don’t think he’d be in our top 5

could get an end of first rounder

17 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

The club needs to be built around our 23-27 year olds and we dont have many of them.

That’s all well and good but it’s Tom’s call, if he wants to go he’ll go and all we can do is accept the free agency compensation

19 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I reckon we’ll be very busy in the trade period to fill this gap

although the temptation to hit the draft is high with Tassie coming in

We are the fun club. Hawks of 2 years ago. Everyone will want to come to us

Would be sorry to see him go now that he looks like he has found his spot in the team. I know he’s unrestricted but could he be a bargaining chip for butters?

A month ago most DLers would have been happy to get FA comp for him

long time in footy apparently

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

UFA

I think the compo is based on contract size and length? i don’t think he’d be in our top 5

could get an end of first rounder

Roughly (noting it's a 'secret herb and spices' arrangement), it's claimed to be centered around age x new contracted salary x new contracted term / departing club's free agency net loss.

Edited by BLWNBA

1 minute ago, BLWNBA said:

Roughly (noting it's a 'secret herb and spices' arrangement), it's claimed to be centered around age x new contracted salary x new contracted term / departing clubs free agency net loss.

cheers

so if he has a ripper year we could get an end of first rounder. Port have cap for days

2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

He’s having a career best season I think. Hes a must sign.

Leadership and age demographic wise too, he should be a priority signing.

Having already lost ANB and Gus in the last 3 years, we can ill afford to lose another emerging, disciplined leader, who is in the 25-27 age bracket that we basically don't have on our list.

There's a few people on here still not getting it. He's an UNRESTRICTED FREE AGENT!!!!!!!

There is absolutely no trading or bargaining. He can walk to wherever he wants and we are stuck with whatever herbs and spices the AFL mixes up to decide the compo pick. Based on a nebulous, fluid mixture of age, contract given by the new club, whether a top 23 player, clubs ladder position and my opinion only not fact, how the AFL feels the club losing the player is going. If we are struggling the band will be higher. If we'r firing by the end of the season and prospects look good it will be worse. There's no definitive formula you can use.

how does his role change when viney is back? or does viney play at HF more so than spaz

For those with Code Sports subscription

Code Sports

Melbourne premiership onballer Tom Sparrow is set to leave a decision on his future until later in the year as he is monitored by both South Australian clubs.

Sparrow is an unrestricted free agent and understood to be firmly on the radar of Port Adelaide as the club looks to expand its midfield depth against the backdrop of Zak Butters’ possible departure.

Despite the clubs circling, it is understood Sparrow is happy living in Melbourne but will not entertain contract talks until the bye rounds as he tries to build on a strong start to his eighth season.

Port Adelaide has emerged as a potential suitor for Melbourne onballer Tom Sparrow. Interest is growing in the unrestricted free agent following his strong early season form in a more prominent midfield role without Petracca/Oliver/Viney

The 25-year-old has pounced on an opportunity to rejoin the Demons’ preferred centre-bounce mix, ranking second at the club for tackles (36 in six games, with no free kicks against) while averaging a career-high 17.2 disposals and 3.3 clearances.

He said he was enjoying a more consistent role and greater licence to “play on instinct” under new coach Steven King

But the 183cm midfielder would not be drawn over his future or whether he felt a pull from home as he focused on the Demons’ promising campaign.

“I’m not really (thinking about next season). My goal is just to play good footy,” Sparrow told CODE Sports

“I’m probably not going to comment on (interest from South Australia). I think it’s still too early. I know I’m out of contract, but I love it at Melbourne, and I love the way we’re playing,” Sparrow said.

“All I’m trying to do is help us win, and if we can keep getting performances like today, that’s all I’m focused on.”

Sparrow is not in the top 25 per cent of earners at Melbourne this season, giving him unrestricted status as a free agent.

Internally, he is regarded as an important voice in the club’s unofficial group of leaders who meet with captain Max Gawn and his deputy Jack Viney.

“All I’m trying to do week in, week out is just help this team win, and help my teammates get better. I think that (contract) stuff will just take care of itself if I do those things,” Sparrow said.

“I’ll back myself in, and help the guys around me by being a good leader … everything else will just take care of itself.”

On 23/11/2018 at 13:15, spirit of norm smith said:

Sparrow is a yes. Tough. Hard working. Runner. Loves the contest. 

Tom is a keeper

25yo. 123 games now.

Premiership player 🏆

Very popular around the footy club and great young man.