Posted
3 hours ago, daisycutter said:

try devon smith their b&f

Or adam 'double as many bounces as the nearest player in 2018' saad. Handy wingman to keep the jetta/ryan/rioli space zoned off a fortnight ago

Posted
2 hours ago, DV8 said:

Cavemen can be nice you know,,, they did have clans with family & freinds.  They were not roaming independently alone in the wild.

No. No. No. Neanderthals all barrack for Collingwood. You can not re-write history or science my friend.

Posted

we've all read Titus O'reilly's take on footy....well here's his cousin Midas O'Rourke's clear and easy to understand explanation of trade week.

Over to you Midas.....

Well thankyou Bub and might say its not everyday I get introduced by the devil begorah !!

T'is marvelouslyy simple thing trade week and here's me being wonderfully enthralled as it plays out.

First of all ...you start where you are. I know , I know...thats incredibly bold in its simplicity but on the soul of the blessed Mary it be true or may I rot in hell for all eternity.....ummm maybe disregard that last little  bit ok Bub !!

Now we start at the begining with our cart full of hopes and dreams, our shopping list and all of our  'out of use by'....ummm.... you know...ummm...."them!!"

Now , all we be trying to do is get to that supermarket and do some shopping for....."others" :) , them being on others' list , if you know what i mean .

Now the very thing is....there's a number of ways to the supermarket.  You can walk, or get the 99 Green bus or you can drive your lil 's self or even be takings the train. You can walk to the bus, catch the train and have y'self a rumbly ride in  a Jo Maxi. It really doesn't matter a pig's whistle as long as you arrive in deadly shape. Now to be sure, and I'm not dossing with ya good self here, it really doesn't matter how you get from your front door and back again . Whether your flutthered or fuming at the feckin fanny farts of fools trying to fleece ya just keep ya wits aside ya and you'll be suckin' diesel my fine friend. So by now you'd be all Delira and Excira about the coming weeks. It'll be a real craic , a real gas.

Well....thanks Midas....i think.......

Posted

If Freo are to off us a player as well as a pick then that player must be walk up start best 22 or at least a young up and comer who will be beating down the door. 

I do trust that the FD will get this right, they know how massive a talent Jesse is, he’s a future AA for sure. If he gets a clean run at it he will win Coleman medals as well. 

We’re not going to give him up for chump change. 

Posted (edited)

I like Pearce, who @Patches O’houlihan mentioned earlier in the thread. 

Put him alongside May and Lever and we've got real versatility to play on talls or smalls. Not to mention it releases Hibberd to play rebound and Jetta to play lock down, while relegating Omac and Frost to depth. Win, Win, Win for mine.

Posted
5 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

So who do Freo have that we might want? Bradshaw?

Brayshaw or Cerra.

I'm not a huge Ed Langdon fan but you get the suspicion that they would rather add him to the deal than either of those two players.

Posted
Just now, A F said:

I like Pearce who @Patches O’houlihan mentioned earlier in the thread. 

Put him alongside May and Lever and we've got real versatility to play on talls or smalls. Not to mention it releases Hibberd to play rebound and Jetta to play lock down, while relegating Omac and Frost to depth. Win, Win, Win for mine.

Would we really go for Pearce as well as May?  We've just re-signed O Mac, Frost is still contracted, we have Petty waiting in the wings and it sounds like there is a chance Keilty might be upgraded come draft time as well.  Seems like a bit of overkill in the 'tall backs' department to me.

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Would we really go for Pearce as well as May?  We've just re-signed O Mac, Frost is still contracted, we have Petty waiting in the wings and it sounds like there is a chance Keilty might be upgraded come draft time as well.  Seems like a bit of overkill in the 'tall backs' department to me.

For mine, it's clear we've identified the defence as our weak point. First getting Hibberd in there, then Lever and now we're going after May. I hope we're looking to entirely transform our defence in the space of two or so off seasons. If so, that would be simply superb list management.

At the same time, we address our other outside need with KK and this year or next we go hard again for a Kelly, Whitfield type to further strengthen the list.

Posted (edited)
18 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

So who do Freo have that we might want? Bradshaw?

If the deal was pick 5 and Brad Hill I would need some serious thinking music to mull it over.

Some poster from Perth reckons Hill is “damaged goods”. Bulltish. The guy is still only 25 with 3 flags and the 2017 Doig Medal in his trophy cabinet. Plays the perfect outside mid game to complement our inside bulls. Classy, quick, lace out delivery of the pill.

Bring May and B.Hill in we win the 2019 flag. Doubtful they’d leg him go, though. That said rumours flew during the season he wants out of ‘Ross Lyon footy’. 

A deal I’d consider would be:

Pick 5, Hill and Freo 2019 first round pick 

for

Hogan and our 2019 first round pick 

Edited by EnterTheDragon
Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, A F said:

I like Pearce, who @Patches O’houlihan mentioned earlier in the thread. 

Taberner is better insurance as a forward for an injury to tmac or weid. He and preuss could fight over the 3rd tall/relief ruck spot. Although i think an outside runner in brad hill or mid in brayshaw is a far superior choice

Edited by johndemonic
Posted
4 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

If the deal was pick 5 and Brad Hill I would need some serious thinking music to mull it over.

Some poster from Perth reckons Hill is “damaged goods”. Bulltish. The guy is still only 25 with 3 flags and the 2017 Doig Medal in his trophy cabinet. Plays the perfect outside mid game to complement our inside bulls. Classy, quick, lace out delivery of the pill.

Bring May and B.Hill in we win the 2019 flag. Doubtful they’d leg him go, though. That said rumours flew during the season he wants out of ‘Ross Lyon footy’. 

Brad Hill left Hawthorn 2 seasons ago for pick 23. Freo would want to throw in more than that to get the deal over the line.

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

Brad Hill left Hawthorn 2 seasons ago for pick 23. Freo would want to throw in more than that to get the deal over the line.

I think most peoples trade scenario's will also have pick swapping to reach  two top 10 pick point value, if they dont involve an actual top 10 player like Brayshaw 

Edited by johndemonic
Posted
28 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

Read my post again and see the trade deal I mooted.

Hogan & MFC 2019 1st rounder 

for

Pick 5, Hill & Freo 2019 1st rounder 

Hill is still worth around pick 20-25. Plus we would jump about 10 places in next year’s first round. 

We would get our fullback (May), classy outside mid (Hill) for 2019 plus a crack at a kid in the top 8 of next year’s draft.

Freo get Hogan and stay in the first round of next year’s draft, albeit with a later pick. 

Win-Win for both clubs with the deal still slanted to favour MFC.

Posted
2 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

Read my post again and see the trade deal I mooted.

Hogan & MFC 2019 1st rounder 

for

Pick 5, Hill & Freo 2019 1st rounder 

Hill is still worth around pick 20-25. Plus we would jump about 10 places in next year’s first round. 

We would get our fullback (May), classy outside mid (Hill) for 2019 plus a crack at a kid in the top 8 of next year’s draft.

Freo get Hogan and stay in the first round of next year’s draft, albeit with a later pick. 

Win-Win for both clubs with the deal still slanted to favour MFC.

How is that slanted towards the MFC? In that scenario we are giving up a first rounder for Hill who is a second round pick based on a trade 2 years ago. They'd want to offer up a higher quality player than Hill if they want our first round next year.

The price for Hogan should be 2 high first rounders alone. There's no reason to give a first rounder to them for a player like Hill. If they want to throw in Hill offer them a second round pick and exchange of later picks in their favour or don't do the deal. In any case I doubt Hill would be involved in the deal. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Wiseblood said:

Keilty has been a rookie now for two years and apparently has been gifted a third without ever playing a senior game. Can we please stop talking about him like he has a future, he is clearly not up to it and should be disregarded.

Posted
Just now, Tram 74 said:

Keilty has been a rookie now for two years and apparently has been gifted a third without ever playing a senior game. Can we please stop talking about him like he has a future, he is clearly not up to it and should be disregarded.

Where did I say any of that?

All I said was that there was some chance he could be upgraded, which means we would have plenty of cover down back, and thus we would probably not pursue two key defenders in the trade period.

There's no need to put words in my mouth to back up your opinion on a player.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

Where did I say any of that?

All I said was that there was some chance he could be upgraded, which means we would have plenty of cover down back, and thus we would probably not pursue two key defenders in the trade period.

There's no need to put words in my mouth to back up your opinion on a player.

Him being upgraded does not help us and your statement clearly suggests that the possibility of the Keilty upgrade should be considered in our persuit of May. You are delusional.

Posted
50 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

How is that slanted towards the MFC? 

I’ll simplify it for you.

Out: Full forward, late first round pick 

In: Full back, wingman, early first round pick 

How is that not coming out ahead for the MFC or at bare minimum a fair trade for both parties? 

Fair dinkum you’d think Jesse Hogan was Buddy Franklin the way many on here go on about him.

He ‘aint that good. Which is why I’ll give you the whisper ... our FD is not bending over backwards to keep him.

Posted

Let's not entertain the idea of getting Brad Hill somehow. He is a downhill skier of the highest order. If he has the ball and a metre or a metre and a half on an opponent, he'll probably burn them off. If anyone gets closer and puts the acid on him, he'll cough it up

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

That is why I am not worried and have faith in the FD to get it done.

First time post. I agree have faith in the Football department. I attended an event late in the season with Simon Goodwin and Josh Mahoney as guest speakers. Simon Goodwin had said so many players from other clubs want to play for the Melbourne Football Club. We are a destination club. I'm completely calm and relaxed that Football department will ensure we will get two first rounds picks if Jesse Hogan goes to Fremantle.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Storm Boy said:

First time post. I agree have faith in the Football department. I attended an event late in the season with Simon Goodwin and Josh Mahoney as guest speakers. Simon Goodwin had said so many players from other clubs want to play for the Melbourne Football Club. We are a destination club. I'm completely calm and relaxed that Football department will ensure we will get two first rounds picks if Jesse Hogan goes to Fremantle.

Welcome to hell... :) 

Posted
27 minutes ago, Tram 74 said:

Him being upgraded does not help us and your statement clearly suggests that the possibility of the Keilty upgrade should be considered in our persuit of May. You are delusional.

Read my post.  I said we should consider it in terms of any interest in another backman, like Alex Pearce, which is what AF suggested.  It has nothing to do with adding May to our list.  We will go for him regardless.  In my opinion we have no need to add a further key backman to our list outside of May.

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, Storm Boy said:

Ay storm boy, can you tell us which Swan we're getting for Vandenberg? Is it Melican?

storm-boy_704_2.jpg?itok=Q3z_q2CL&mtime=

Edited by johndemonic