Leadership Group 2017

1 hour ago, Abe said:

Hogan, Bradshaw, stretch, hunt should all be emerging leaders this year. 

I agree with with most that jack Viney is our next captain, but I reckon billy stretch is a good enough character or leader to do the job and be a long term member of our leadership groups when you look at his training habits, desire to learn and willingness to play to his role and the game plan over individual glory. A coaches dream 

Daniel?  He might be good for a few goals this year.

2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Daniel?  He might be good for a few goals this year.

Typo, always a risk when posting from the phone, need to double check 

17 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

How do you know this? I know many in the footy world where shocked when Bernie's best mate Tex Walker was named Crow's skipper ahead of Dangerfield and Sloane. Inside the Adelaide club it was a matter of when and not if Tex got the job. My point is, how would any of us really know who is regarded as a leader by the players at MFC???

I'm basing this purely on what I see on the field and he's not a leader. He might be a great bloke behind the scenes like Moloney and co were, but he doesn't impact or lead on the field like a leader of a top team should.

On 24/01/2017 at 11:16 AM, Devil is in the Detail said:

When's the leadership group announced?

Pretty sure the Qld camp is a key input into who makes up the group. I'd expect an announcement as early as a week or two following the camp, but it's just a guess.

I'd go Jones Lewis Viney McDonald Gawn and Watts.

i just Reckon Watts is ready and it would be good to have one of the leaders up forward 

I'm expecting something today to align with our major open training. Also expecting a major shake up!

1 hour ago, Karl Stefanovic said:

I'm expecting something today to align with our major open training. Also expecting a major shake up!

Well youre gonna be in for a treat ;)

11 minutes ago, Drunkn167 said:

Well youre gonna be in for a treat ;)

I think I may be....?

2 minutes ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Jones and Viney it is

Fantastic result. 

2 hours ago, Karl Stefanovic said:

SNAP

1 minute ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Jones and Viney it is

Well, that is interesting. Big step for a still young Viney. But having a the old and the new could be good

1 minute ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Jones and Viney it is

Massive achievement for young Jack.

I wouldn't be surprised if he becomes our longest serving Captain.

The other change is Garland to be replaced by Lewis, so a lot of continuity there! I like it.

2 minutes ago, Grimes Times said:

Viney capt at 22, everyone says great

Grimes capt at 22, everyone says too young

Just sayin

Viney has Jones who is 28 to learn from.

Grimes and Trenners were too young but under completely different circumstances.

As much as its been obvious Viney will one day captain our club I still feel as though Jones should do it solo until the end of his career..
or at least when he says I just want to play and not be captain then hand it over but I don't like both

2 minutes ago, Grimes Times said:

Viney capt at 22, everyone says great

Grimes capt at 22, everyone says too young

Just sayin

in their defence Viney is alongside jones. Grimes didnt have that luxury. However i think vice captain would have been enough but i suposse thats just a name and the role likely isnt much different.

3 minutes ago, iv'a worn smith said:

I would be interested in your reasoning Pro

I don't like co-captains because it symbolises weakness in the people chosen. In other words, having gone from sole captain to one of two co-captains, the club has, in effect, said Nathan Jones isn't good enough to be a captain on his own. I'm sure others will disagree, but if Nathan Jones was indisputably a quality captain, would we have even contemplated having Viney (or anyone else) join him in the role?