Posted
21 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I was really trying to equate it to life and didn't word it well. It clearly happens in areas like politics quite a bit.

In footy I guess Norm Smith was rejected as coach of Melbourne and went to Fitzroy before returning to melbourne as a highly successful coach. Not quite the same but has some bearing.

You're right though. Very few coaches get a second chance. Malcolm Blight might be one of them that was successful a second time around..

Agree with your sentiment in general but unfortunately it doesn't seem to apply to junior first time AFL coaches. 

Posted
3 hours ago, It's Time said:

Agree with your sentiment in general but unfortunately it doesn't seem to apply to junior first time AFL coaches. 

So I guess the question is should  they get another chance? It just makes so much sense that they would be have learned a huge amount and would do things differently. IN the intereviews I have seen Sanderson has clearly done a lot of self reflection. I think he would be a good get.

Posted
3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

So I guess the question is should  they get another chance? It just makes so much sense that they would be have learned a huge amount and would do things differently. IN the intereviews I have seen Sanderson has clearly done a lot of self reflection. I think he would be a good get.

Agree

Posted

I also think he would be a good addition to our coaching list. I have mates who play at Adelaide they didn't rate him very highly as a coach, hence why he probably got the sack in the end. However I saw him interviewed not long after the sacking and he openly admitted that he had " a lot of areas that he needed to improve on" in terms of his coaching. After that interview I thought he would definitely coach again! Hopefully he's improved some areas and can help our young list. If he gets the job! 

Posted

Would be a good get. Very experienced and well respected assistant coach. We do need someone to replace Simon Goodwin as an assistant coach so hopefully he's in the mix. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Tony Tea said:

Do we know why Sanderson would be a great addition? 

Highly rated assistant coach at Geelong during a period when they won multiple premierships.
Competent coach at Adelaide, but he apparently got noses out of joint by making unpopular calls on ageing favourites & by simply not being Phil Walsh.

Don't see why he wouldn't be a good choice.
It's not about finding THE exact right person - it's about finding good people for the roles you need to fill and giving them resources.
I think Sanderson is a good person for the vacancy, but we could easily fill it with someone else just as capable.

Posted

It will be interesting if Buckley gets cut next year. Does Sando stand by his mate or take the senior gig if it's offered?

Posted

The worst thing about the Pies is when you compare them to Melbournes footy department it's like Amateur vs Pro's

they grab any well know assistant regardless of needs and strengths, ironically a similar sort of plan to our old draft high picks and it'll just happen theory

Bucks, Sando, Harvey, Burns, Rocca, it's not a great mix. 

Goodwin senior coach

Macca head of development

Jennings Stratergy and opposition 

Rawlings highly rated backling coach

Mathews highly rated midfield coach

we recruit people to fill a role, they recruit the big name people and bend the role around them. and i strongly suspect this is a big part of why they've consistently gone down hill under Bucks.

Posted
Just now, Mach5 said:

Apparently Rawlings is on the short list for the Brisbane top job.

Correct, i think having being involved in the succession plan here may have won him some points. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Abe said:

Correct, i think having being involved in the succession plan here may have won him some points. 

Also having completed the Level 4 coaching course.
Not sure he'll win enough points to get a senior gig anytime soon though.
I reckon he's not a popular choice, and his best chance of getting in the hot seat is doing what Roosy did in an interim capacity.

Posted
4 hours ago, wackojacko1 said:

Sando is at the pies purely for the senior gig. Bucks will go mid season 

Oh please. They are best mates. Sando is there because he needed a job back at the elite level and Bucks needs well credentialed people to help the team win and/or help justify his spot if they lose. 

Gubby Allan has been parachuted in by Eddie to either sack Buckley if it doesn't pan our or more likely give him cover for another year or so if it doesn't pan out. Sando isn't on that level.

Posted
9 hours ago, Mach5 said:

Also having completed the Level 4 coaching course.
Not sure he'll win enough points to get a senior gig anytime soon though.
I reckon he's not a popular choice, and his best chance of getting in the hot seat is doing what Roosy did in an interim capacity.

I agree, and i think given the success we've had with the succession plan he's the sort of person clubs might look at if they try and implement something similar perhaps the Lions are considering something like that with Fagan-Rawlings 

Posted
1 hour ago, Abe said:

I agree, and i think given the success we've had with the succession plan he's the sort of person clubs might look at if they try and implement something similar perhaps the Lions are considering something like that with Fagan-Rawlings 

Now 'Abe', I think it might be bit early to say we've had success with the succession plan. We've had success with part one, a clean passing of the baton.

If the lions are thinking of doing something similar then Fagan would not be the man, it would have to be someone like Mathews.

Posted
11 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Oh please. They are best mates. Sando is there because he needed a job back at the elite level and Bucks needs well credentialed people to help the team win and/or help justify his spot if they lose. 

Gubby Allan has been parachuted in by Eddie to either sack Buckley if it doesn't pan our or more likely give him cover for another year or so if it doesn't pan out. Sando isn't on that level.

Which doesn't alway bode well in a work environment.  Could be a recipe for disaster.  Fingers crossed.