Posted

Just a little something I picked up on how much the win meant to them.

When Gawn is being interviewed they panned back to the Melbourne players walking slowly to the boundary  - you could see the joy. Angus Brayshaw is talking with Harmes. The club song starts blaring again on the loudspeakers and you can see Harmes singing the club song !!!

Posted

2 things:

1: If you watch the highlights package it is basically a Cyril highlights until near the end when they must have felt they needed to put some of us in to show we won. [censored] off Hawthorn, I hope the club goes under!

2: It has been said here a lot that our game plan is wrong and in particular that we can't beat 'Clarkson sides' (as in teams coached by ex Hawthorn assistants. I wonder if we will hear that gain now that we have beaten the Clarkson side!?

Posted
14 minutes ago, Chris said:

2 things:

1: If you watch the highlights package it is basically a Cyril highlights until near the end when they must have felt they needed to put some of us in to show we won. [censored] off Hawthorn, I hope the club goes under!

2: It has been said here a lot that our game plan is wrong and in particular that we can't beat 'Clarkson sides' (as in teams coached by ex Hawthorn assistants. I wonder if we will hear that gain now that we have beaten the Clarkson side!?

Reposting this from the 'structure' thread:

The teams that have done well against Hawks are those that run, denying them the ability to set up their defensive structures.  That was also our game plan and our team delivered on the 'get ball and run and run' tactic perfectly.  Clarkson said in his press conf that our rebound goals (from deep in their fwd line) was at 50% - he had never heard of anything that good!   

The Hawks expected us to play 'crowd the contest' at stoppages (our usual game) where they stand off then tackle the player who gets the clearance spilling the ball out or getting a free.  Instead we opened up space at ball ups for Max and whoever was at his feet (usually Viney) who got the ball and stepped into the 'uncrowded' space (Hawks found flat footed) and our player got the ball to another player running past.  The overlap continues and bingo we are off to the racesl! 

The Hawks didn't wake up to what was happening, thinking they could pull a rabbit out of the hat, again!

In his press conf. Roos said we focused on getting the ball to within 20-30 mtrs of goal where we can dominate.  When it goes to the 40-50 mtr area the Hawks dominate.  It worked.

We have also modified our so called 'Diamond Defence' denying Hawks the easy goals (I think they had 2).

My conclusion:  Clarkson was comprehensively out coached!!  :roos:

This season's attacking game plan has not changed but has been significantly refined as our players have become educated enough (Roos favourite word for our young team) to play different game plans for different opponents.

Our game plan is fine.  Our team is at a level of maturity where the it can be modified week to week for the opposition so to answer your last question:  I doubt we will here it complained about again!

Posted
5 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Reposting this from the 'structure' thread:

The teams that have done well against Hawks are those that run, denying them the ability to set up their defensive structures.  That was also our game plan and our team delivered on the 'get ball and run and run' tactic perfectly.  Clarkson said in his press conf that our rebound goals (from deep in their fwd line) was at 50% - he had never heard of anything that good!   

The Hawks expected us to play 'crowd the contest' at stoppages (our usual game) where they stand off then tackle the player who gets the clearance spilling the ball out or getting a free.  Instead we opened up space at ball ups for Max and whoever was at his feet (usually Viney) who got the ball and stepped into the 'uncrowded' space (Hawks found flat footed) and our player got the ball to another player running past.  The overlap continues and bingo we are off to the racesl! 

The Hawks didn't wake up to what was happening, thinking they could pull a rabbit out of the hat, again!

In his press conf. Roos said we focused on getting the ball to within 20-30 mtrs of goal where we can dominate.  When it goes to the 40-50 mtr area the Hawks dominate.  It worked.

We have also modified our so called 'Diamond Defence' denying Hawks the easy goals (I think they had 2).

My conclusion:  Clarkson was comprehensively out coached!!  :roos:

This season's attacking game plan has not changed but has been significantly refined as our players have become educated enough (Roos favourite word for our young team) to play different game plans for different opponents.

Our game plan is fine.  Our team is at a level of maturity where the it can be modified week to week for the opposition so to answer your last question:  I doubt we will here it complained about again!

Let's hope so because I never agreed with it at all anyway. 

Posted

Random thoughts number 6

It has been said by many here already. Jack Watts has been really terrific all season and again was a really key factor in our win. Three first half goals were important of course as where his many score involvements (watch the all the goals clip to see how often he i was involved in scoring chains - as a side note the weed was involved in his fair share too).

But i thought his competitiveness, will to win and one per centers were equally important. And who would have thought that would have been the case thee years ago. 

Another critical element - and one that could easily be missed is is chop out of Gawn in the ruck. That hsa been an inspired move by Roos. in the last quarter Gawn was able to go off and get a rest for almost 8 minutes or so i reckon. In that time we kicked two goals. Then a rested Gawn could come back on to finish the job.

I also wonder if pro dee has pulled a swifty on me. I had jack for my avatar for a while and he must of recognised jack was about to come of age and now he has one of our our most important player as his avatar. well played sir

Posted (edited)

Just watched a replay and this is what stood out to me:

Dom Tyson does a huge amount of work that goes unnoticed.

Rioli is a protected species - so much so it was sickening

The Weeds hands are exceptional - can't possibly be dropped next week, he's obviously got a good football brain

How Bernie could have his nose broken and not get a free is a joke

Stretch has elite disposal.

i almost get as much pleasure watching Watts as I did Robbie Flower

Kent is really important to the structure of our forward line.

The 50 metre penalty rules need to be changed

Edited by chook fowler

Posted
5 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

The Weeds hands are exceptional - can't possibly be dropped next week, he's obviously got a good football brain

i almost get as much please watching Watts as I did Robbie Flower

Third last para is the biggest call I think...

Posted

It's been 3 days since the win and I still can't wipe the smile off my face.  Watched the replay twice and our highlight package 5 times and I'm still not sick of either.  

Posted
53 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

It's been 3 days since the win and I still can't wipe the smile off my face.  Watched the replay twice and our highlight package 5 times and I'm still not sick of either.  

Me too, mate. It's glorious.

Posted

Much as I don't like to celebrate injuries, Stratton out for remainder of the home and away season adds another rod to Hawthorns back... :) 

This win keeps on giving. 

Posted

I've watched the replay twice now as well: still get goose bumps and tingles. The bottom line is that they ALL put in, they ALL took the game right up to the umpire-pampered Hawks, they were relentless and strong. There have been whispers about Garlett's recent form on this site: he was fantastic on Saturday, did the not-noticed one per centers, especially in the first and last quarters. I thought he was great, ditto Vanderberg and Bugg. I've also noticed a subtle lift in Osca Mc's self confidence.

And Wiedemann will be a player. It's the German genes, witness Neitz and Schwartz...

Posted
12 minutes ago, dieter said:

I've watched the replay twice now as well: still get goose bumps and tingles. The bottom line is that they ALL put in, they ALL took the game right up to the umpire-pampered Hawks, they were relentless and strong. There have been whispers about Garlett's recent form on this site: he was fantastic on Saturday, did the not-noticed one per centers, especially in the first and last quarters. I thought he was great, ditto Vanderberg and Bugg. I've also noticed a subtle lift in Osca Mc's self confidence.

And Wiedemann will be a player. It's the German genes, witness Neitz and Schwartz...

All we need is a Schulz and a Klink

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

And the Vandenberg concerto

But I like it...The boy can play.

Edited by dieter
Posted

Can I just say that the Bont's 19 touches getting him the same seat on the interchange bench as Viney's dominant 39 possession game against the top team is a down right disgrace. 

The Bont is a good young player, but hideously overrated. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Only 5 times? Step up your game Wiseblood. I think i achieved on the first night :P

Posted

have watched the replay 6 times, best win since Jeff White kicked the late winner against the Dogs, the wheel is starting to turn, exciting times ahead

Posted
3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

i almost get as much pleasure watching Watts as I did Robbie Flower

I've been saying that for a while, he does a lot of the heavy lifting in the packs and if he can't get it to one of ours he makes sure it doesn't get out.

Agree with the rest of your post and the fawning over Rioli, by the commentators, is sickening.