View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

BYRON PICKETT

Ahh..2006. The last time we were any good. Pickett was fun, but wasn't the game changer we had hoped he would be.

Imo James McDonald was a harder player, different kind of tough.

• Author

Ahh 2016 Sheeit wouldn't Byron & Junior just love to be part of this Renniasance??

lol sniper, gutless... Turn it up. 

The bloke used his body as a cannonball, threw it in to all sorts of situations. 

The Crummell hit was the one bad one, Byron knows it and is sorry about it. If he was a sniper there'd be more than one hit that was universally condemned. 

He was on 360 a few weeks ago and I had to chuckle when he said "I wouldn't want my sons playing against someone that hits like I used to hit." haha no [censored]! Who would. 

1 hour ago, poita said:

There was nothing tough or hard about Pickett. He was a sniper at best, and gutless at worst.

Ridiculous comment. Simple as that.

1 minute ago, stuie said:

Ridiculous comment. Simple as that.

How could you not love him

2 hours ago, poita said:

There was nothing tough or hard about Pickett. He was a sniper at best, and gutless at worst.

We paid massively over the odds for him and he did nothing in return. He was the biggest waste of space ever to grace the MFC with his presence in my 32 years as a member. Viewed the club as his superannuation only. Rarely got out of 3rd gear on or off the field, and resembled a keg on legs by the end of his time. Probably fast tracked the departure of Neale Daniher.

That's [censored] poita. He was not gutless and did test the resolve of a few opponents.  He gave us one good year but fell away after that and retired.

• Author
2 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Hey picket, I'm guessing Pickett is your cuz. Can you confirm that?

PS. I reckon he's from the sane side of the family.

I have relatives that can be traced back to direct descendants of one of the suspects of being "Jack The Ripper"!!

Is that sane enough for ya!??

4 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Hey Stuie, what happened to all your posts?

Most of my posts get deleted whether they're footy related or not. Let's just call it "selective moderating".

(Meaning this one will disappear soon too I'm sure)

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

I have relatives that can be traced back to direct descendants of one of the suspects of being "Jack The Ripper"!!

Is that sane enough for ya!??

Walter Sickert?

• Author
8 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

Walter Sickert?

No!

He was a revelation for most of his first season with us because he protected his teammates and often made opposition players tread warily. However, in his second season, he was unfit and didn't seem to have the thirst for the contest any more which was disappointing because it impacted on the team performance as a whole. 

I think Pickett's career was caught between an era where shirt fronts and crude tackles were OK and the beginning of cleaning up the game (read sanitising). Beyond his hard side, Pickett was a really good footballer when fit.

40 minutes ago, stuie said:

Most of my posts get deleted whether they're footy related or not. Let's just call it "selective moderating".

I thought it was all good banter....

9 hours ago, jumbo returns said:

A footy thug that had to go.

The illegal bump is done and dusted.

If you want tough, look at our hard years under Northey....those guys were ball hunters.

Pffttt.. Nothing wrong with the way Byron played the game!

Article in today's Hun (no I don't get links). MIchael O'Loughlin's "Indigenous team of the AFL era" has Byron at half back. Jeff Farmer is on the bench and Aaron Davies does not get a gig.

On ‎5‎/‎24‎/‎2016 at 9:37 PM, stuie said:

I just can't understand that Stu.

Bwahaha!!!! Bwahaha!!!!

Paid massive overs for Picket, in fact, I seem to recall one of the Picks we gave away for him was eventually used to recruit the current Kangaroos Captain, Andrew Swallow.  A very short sighted trade. 

4 hours ago, goodwindees said:

Paid massive overs for Picket, in fact, I seem to recall one of the Picks we gave away for him was eventually used to recruit the current Kangaroos Captain, Andrew Swallow.  A very short sighted trade. 

Port Adelaide exchanges Byron Pickett and its Round Four selection (number 54, on traded) and its Round Four selection (number 62) to Melbourne for its Round Two selection (number 28), Round Three selection (number 44) and Round Four selection (number 60).

Demons in top up mode trying for a premiership, looking for those intangible pieces to get there. Basically gave up pick 28 as those later pick downgrades probably make no difference to the player that was drafted. Maybe the 10 pick downgrade from 44 to 54 could've resulted in a "miss". Seems a pretty sensible trade to me.

6 hours ago, goodwindees said:

I'm not sure that we would have taken Swallow anyway because the knock on him at the time was that his kicking was poor. Ironically, I think it was the first time that he played against us, he kicked the goal that sealed a close game against us from 50m out.

Call it hindsight or test of time, but let's all understand that this Pickett deal despite its few cheap thrills, was just one of many very poor trades/selections that contributed to the post Daniher horror years. 

At least I'm consistent, hated him as an opposition player and never saw the sense of recruiting an over the hill, superannuation top up. 

byron had a few nice cameo moments i enjoyed, but from a top-up trade perspective it was a failure. he looked overweight and frequently unfit. his last season at port was pretty average and pick 28 was probably overs