MATCH PREVIEW AND TEAM SELECTION - Round 9

We really have to bring in Dunn or O Mac and play them fwd/2nd ruck

any other option?  hogan and T Mac can help out around the ground in the ruck but not centre bounces

1 hour ago, Choko said:

I suspect we will play O Mac and not Garland.

To me, Garland is either low on confidence or the game has gone past him.  Every time he gets near it it looks like he is trying to wrestle a bar of soap.

I am a Dunn fan, but I personally love the fact he isn't getting a game.  There are too many things the coaches have been frustrated about with him, and for too long we have had to accept that because there were no better alternatives.  For mine, the fact he hasn't remedied those areas and now will not get a game without doing so will lift standards across the board.

I maybe wrong, but I'm under the impression that when they name the side, if your named on the ground it means your in unless your a late withdrawal to injury/illness.

The final bench is what gets cut down to 4.

8 minutes ago, rjay said:

Maybe Tommy Mc goes forward and takes the 2nd ruck...he's the only one with some ruck experience. 

I support this, TMac has been very underwhelming down back this year. Aside from his kicking I believe the forward/2nd ruck role is what TMac should be playing, has the clean marking (mostly), endurance and strength. It also where he was playing when he got drafted.

5 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

I am a bit surprised Spencer didn't come in given Gawn's game last week.

Why? He has one off game and we hit the panic button? 

1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

Why? He has one off game and we hit the panic button? 

Gawn just looks a bit tired and with Pedersen out there is a question on who will be second ruck.

1 minute ago, boydie said:

I support this, TMac has been very underwhelming down back this year. Aside from his kicking I believe the forward/2nd ruck role is what TMac should be playing, has the clean marking (mostly), endurance and strength. It also where he was playing when he got drafted.

T Mac played as our second key forward last year against Brisbane and kicked 2 or 3. Can see him starting there on Sunday.

Perhaps OMac takes Schache,  Garland takes Freeman or Hipwood (whoever makes the 18) and Dunn takes Trent West (ex Cat) 

Rohan Bewick has been withdrawn from the Lions side, replaced by some bloke called Robertson.

1 hour ago, GoldMember said:

Newton Grimes Harmes ANB

Give Kent another week off or maybe they think Harmes is due for a rest...

Judging by Roos' presser, Kent will play along with ANB.

Very happy for Dunny. Hopefully he plays well.

They really don't give a rats these days about position placements when naming a team - it means nothing .

I get that but at least make some sort of effort - Lions have named Lewis Taylor as their Centre Half Forward.  He stands a whooping 173 cm tall.  I always saw Lewie as the logical replacement for Jonno Brown at centre half forward. 

40 minutes ago, P-man said:

Judging by Roos' presser, Kent will play along with ANB.

Very happy for Dunny. Hopefully he plays well.

Happy for Dunny why?

Yeah Dunn has rucked before, cant be any worse than Pedo or Frost.

Do we have a big issue against their second ruck?

11 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

Yeah Dunn has rucked before, cant be any worse than Pedo or Frost.

Do we have a big issue against their second ruck?

Now I'm no Pedo fan, that's known, but he has done a fantastic job as backup ruck this year, been really impressed.

Just now, stuie said:

Now I'm no Pedo fan, that's known, but he has done a fantastic job as backup ruck this year, been really impressed.

He has served his purpose and so has Frost, as back up ruck men, thats why i ask the question, is Brisbane's back up ruck man any good?

And if his rucking this year impresses you, you need to get out more.

21 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

He has served his purpose and so has Frost, as back up ruck men, thats why i ask the question, is Brisbane's back up ruck man any good?

I don't know why people keep persisting that Frost is a backup ruck he has had 3 hit outs in 5 games. Pederson for contrast has had 30 in 7 games.  Could just be opertunity but shows were the club sees him in this regard 

I'm pretty confident about this one, unlike our game against Essendon.

Minimum 10 goal win, won't be surprised if it's closer to 20.

I won't be back until next Feb if we lose.

Just now, Garbo said:

I don't know why people keep persisting that Frost is a backup ruck he has had 3 hit outs in 5 games. Pederson for contrast has had 30 in 7 games.  Could just be opertunity but shows were the club sees him in this regard 

Mainly because he is, he may not have had may hit outs but he still went in there to do the rucking.  Maybe the back up back up.

Just now, S_T said:

I'm pretty confident about this one, unlike our game against Essendon.

Minimum 10 goal win, won't be surprised if it's closer to 20.

I won't be back until next Feb if we lose.

Yeah i feel the same, if we lose this one that's it for the year.

Lasts a week.

3 hours ago, old dee said:

I will be there tomorrow however is there a worse time for a weekend game?

A day is a totally lost for a two hour game of football.

Similar timming to the saints game I sincerely hope I feel a lot better  at 4pm than I did on that day.

If you go Sunday you could watch two games.

Get there early and support Daisy and the girls.

31 minutes ago, AzzKikA said:

Impressed compared to what I expected.

But if you can't see he's done a good job as backup ruck you need to watch footy more...

Brisbane have just dropped half their side and brought in three debutants and a whole other group of inexperienced players. Signs like these are typically those of an upcoming apocalypse (such as the Giants in late 2014, Carlton in late 2015, Essendon this year). Saying that, I feel far more confident in this team than I've felt in a long time. There seems to be some genuine belief in the squad at the moment as opposed to when we were rolled by the Bombers in round 2.

Looking forward to seeing ANB have a run!

I like Pederson, but he got smashed by VICKERY!!!!!  That is one hell of a black mark against his name for mine.

Maybe Watts will ruck.  It's happened before.

On 5/20/2016 at 3:48 PM, S_T said:

I like Pederson, but he got smashed by VICKERY!!!!!  That is one hell of a black mark against his name for mine.

Maybe Watts will ruck.  It's happened before.

Outside the box thinking, but TMAC? the lions don't have a gun key forward and he's got the running and marking power to be really dangerous around the ground.

Just now, stuie said:

Impressed compared to what I expected.

But if you can't see he's done a good job as backup ruck you need to watch footy more...

I just think my perception of whats impressive is vastly different to yours.

His done better that i expected too.