AFL footy mate micro figures. Minus the demons

Posted

15 talking figurines

http://aflfootymate.com/

2 by hawks, pies and tigers. Bogans will love these, so no shame there.

No dogs, no team North of the Murray and no demons.

Jones? Vince? Max Gawn? Hogan? No.

Oh but there's a Heppell one. Good to see he can make some profit whilst out of the game. Is that legal?

Very poor from the AFL and Coles and poor from Melbourne as well. 

Takes a lot to win a kid back when he goes to the supermarket and can't find his colours anywhere. 

Seriously poor for the AFL to green light this. Some may see it as minor but things like this really do make a difference. The Dogs arguably have the right to be even filthier given they are a team that played finals last year.

• Author
4 minutes ago, P-man said:

Seriously poor for the AFL to green light this. Some may see it as minor but things like this really do make a difference. The Dogs arguably have the right to be even filthier given they are a team that played finals last year.

Plus Stringer and Bontempelli are incredibly marketable and you'd mainly stock them in Western Suburbs supermarkets. Saves on the distribution costs. 

Same with the Melbourne ones. I'm not saying they mass produce thousands of them, but at least sign a player up and have them available in a few Coles stores in the heartland area. 

Just now, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

They talk? And they have Dustin Martin? Wow, who needs Marcel Proust and "In Search of Lost Days".

The Martin figurine is actually marketing genius.

Checkout staff have been instructed to ask "would you like chopsticks with that?" when customers purchase.

1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Very poor from the AFL and Coles and poor from Melbourne as well. 

Why is it poor from Melbourne?

Licensees want figurines that will sell, those teams will sell.

1 minute ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Seems reasonable to me CB I am not sure why all the angst.

• Author
2 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Whinge, beg or supplement the costs if we have to. Convince a player to do it for half the rate the others are charging. Do whatever we can to make sure we aren't left behind.

3 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Whinge, beg or supplement the costs if we have to. Convince a player to do it for half the rate the others are charging. Do whatever we can to make sure we aren't left behind.

It's not up to the club, licensing seldom works that way.

I see the Mitchell one is lifesize....

Often these marketing and licensing decisions are made months in advance. If you were going to include an Essendone player, why not include one that would be sure to play in 2016 regardless of whether or not the WADA appeal was successful?  Zaharakis comes to mind.

Gotta wonder if the Cotchin figurine is the first to go missing.

3 minutes ago, Django said:

Jamie Elliott, WTF?

not really, i'd imagine they are marketed at young impressionable girls. i mean they are just dolls

12 minutes ago, Django said:

Jamie Elliott, WTF?

Collingwood sells...unfortunately.

Can you get a Las Vegas playset for Dane Swan and Dustin Martin?

7 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

not really, i'd imagine they are marketed at young impressionable girls. i mean they are just dolls

Isn't the term 'action figure'?

Who gives a [censored]. They are rubbish.

I clicked on the Chad Wingard one and he said 'Hey mate, while you are up, can you get me a cup of tea'

There was a Jones one last year. They most likely asked him to do a voice over for this year and he told them to [censored] off because its a [censored] idea.

21 minutes ago, Maple Demon said:

Isn't the term 'action figure'?

you say tom-ay-ter i say tom-ar-to

9 minutes ago, Night Crawler said:

Who gives a [censored]. They are rubbish.

I clicked on the Chad Wingard one and he said 'Hey mate, while you are up, can you get me a cup of tea'

There was a Jones one last year. They most likely asked him to do a voice over for this year and he told them to [censored] off because its a [censored] idea.

But apparently you were interested enough to see what one said.